Indoor Fungus Farming

31 112
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

I may have mentioned before that despite being surrounded by agriculture and cattle ranches, we lived in a food desert.

The city outside of which we live is only 2000 people. The entire county is only 3000.

This puts our grocery store at the bottom of the list for food deliveries. The quality of the food isn't great to begin with, and the variety of food is just horrible.

We could drive a 2 hour round trip to a bigger city to find higher quality groceries, but we don't really have the time, energy, or gas money to do so.

The crops grown around here are alfalfa, cotton, and peanuts. One family grows melons, pumpkins, and squash. The rest of the community either has their own garden, drives the 2 his round trip, or suffers the slim pickings of our local grocery store.

Keith eating a yummy chicken sandwich at the Blue Rooster restaurant in Oklahoma

I've been trying to eat fewer meat dishes and trying to get my husband to agree to eat fewer meat dishes. The hardest part of this is finding delicious substitutes.

The vegan community raves about mushrooms as a meat substitute. They are nutritious and delicious. I, for one, have loved mushrooms all of my adult life.

According to Healthline.com, oyster mushrooms pack a huge nutritional punch.

According to Healthline.com this is the nutritional breakdown of oyster mushrooms - screengrab by author

Unfortunately, the only mushrooms available to us from the grocery store are those white button mushrooms. They pretty much taste like slimy dirt. Even I don't like those, thigh I will eat them if that's all that's available.

White mushrooms also called button mushrooms.

I quickly realized if I wanted gourmet mushrooms, I would have to grow them myself.

So, I bought some mushroom kits and have started growing them.

pink oyster pins

I bought: pink oyster, blue oyster, yellow oyster, lion's mane, shiitake, chestnut mushrooms, and reishi mushroom mycelium.

The way mushrooms propagate themselves is to release a fine dust called spores. These spores find a friendly growing medium, substrate, and begin to colonize it.

A brick of colonized substrate turns white. The white is called mycelium.

Once the mycelium is Marie, tiny pins form. These are the fruit.

Blue oyster mycelium

The conditions must be ideal for mushrooms to grow. Everything from temperature to humidity should be monitored. We live in a very dry area, so my husband and I made a humidity tent.

Humidity tent

Inside the tent are the spray and grow kits we bought to see if we even liked growing mushrooms and liked their taste.

Inside the humidity tent

We bought Yellow, Pink, and Blue oyster mushrooms as well as Lion's mane mushroom growing kits. I bought two others, Reishi and Shiitake, in mycelium bricks.

Shiitake mushroom mycelium brick in a bag

As I mentioned already, we weren't sure we would even like the taste of these mushrooms. I hoped we did because they were growing like crazy. When they grow, they drop spores. The spores are how the mushrooms reproduce.

Ours have dropped a LOT of spores.

White mushroom spores on a black trash bag

Apparently, most mushroom spores are black. The oyster mushroom spores may be the only mushroom to drop white spores.

We had put a trash bag over our table to protect it from moisture. When the mushrooms dropped their spores, that black trash bag turned nearly white.

So the mushrooms grew and matured. It was time to taste them.

The first mushrooms we tried were the pink oyster mushrooms.

Mature pink oyster mushrooms

I really didn't know what I was doing, so I decided to cook the mushrooms the same way I cook all my mushrooms. Sautee them in butter and garlic.

I diced the whole mushroom and cooked them.

Pink oyster mushrooms sauteed in butter and garlic

Again, I didn't really know what I was doing. I sauteed them the way I would a Portobello mushroom or any kind of button mushroom. I don't like my mushrooms slimy, so I just let them brown a bit.

You can see in the photo that there are some thicker chunks. Those were from the stems. They were impossible to chew and I won't be cooking the stems again.

The mushrooms had a good flavor and I added them to some white sauce and served them over pasta. It was good but for the chunky stems.

The next mushrooms to mature were the yellow oysters. This time I searched on YouTube to see if I could find a good way to cook them. All of the recipes were basically the same as I had already used. The only difference was I needed to cook them a bit longer so they would be crispy.

Mature yellow oyster mushrooms

According to the YouTube videos and articles I read, all of the yellow oyster mushroom, including the stem, is edible.

I harvested and cooked the yellows. This time, I sauteed them in butter alone and just added a dash of salt. I cooked them until they were crisp.

Gues what they tasted like. No, really. Guess. I'll wait.

I can't wait any longer!!

They tasted like BACON!!!!!

I couldn't stop eating them. My husband couldn't stop eating them. We stood there, in the kitchen, tasting the mushrooms over and over until they were gone. And then we were sad until the next harvest.

The pink oysters had a second fruiting just in time for the blue oysters to mature. I harvested both. This time I was careful to pull only the fleshy part of the pink oysters. No stem! The blue oysters were huge so I tore them into bite-sized pieces. Again, I sauteed them until they were crisp.

We kind of suspected they wouldn't taste like bacon. I have a cast-iron skillet in which I do most of my cooking. I just rinse it with hot water and give it a wipe with a towel to clean it. The last thing I had cooked in the skillet had been breakfast sausage. We thought probably the sausage had contributed to the bacon flavor.

This time, I gave the skillet a more thorough cleaning, using a soapy sponge to ensure no residual flavors. I don't like to use soap on the cast iron because I am convinced it takes away the non-stick aspect. It may all be in my head, though.

Blue and pink oysters in butter

Once the mushrooms were crisp we tasted them.

THEY STILL TASTED LIKE BACON!!!!!!

Oh. My. God. We had a healthy substitute for bacon. This batch of mushrooms disappeared as quickly as the other batch.

Next to mature was the Lion's Mane mushroom. Lion's mane has been touted as the next superfood.

According to Healthoine.com "Research has found that lion’s mane may protect against dementia, reduce mild symptoms of anxiety and depression and help repair nerve damage.

It also has strong anti-inflammatory, antioxidant and immune-boosting abilities and been shown to lower the risk of heart disease, cancer, ulcers and diabetes in animals."

Follow the link above to see 9 benefits of Lion's Mane.

Part of my harvested Lion's Mane

Lion's Mane is said to taste sweet, like crab. I decided to try a crab cake recipe using the mushroom instead of crab meat.

Shredded Lion's Mane mushroom

The mushroom shredded a lot like crab meat. I was very curious to find out how this would compare to an actual crab cake. I love seafood. Especially shellfish. Unfortunately, I'm allergic to anything that turns pink when cooked. This means, shrimp, lobster, crab, and crawdads (also called crayfish). If I could find a substitute that tastes similar I would be in hog heaven. Or crab heaven.

Lion's Mane "crab cake"

They tasted so much like a crab cake. My husband loved them. I even took some to a friend. She couldn't tell it was mushrooms.

I believe we have found some good substitutes for meat. If only they didn't take so long to grow! (The spray and grow kits only take about a week until the mushrooms reach full maturity)

I could happily eat mushrooms every day. Especially the ones that taste like bacon.

24
$ 7.63
$ 6.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @jasglaybam
+ 17
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

I would never have imagined a mushroom to taste like bacon, but you got my attention on that one. I applaud you for your patience in growing these. I would never have the patience for such a thing, but then trying to grow anything in a garden for me is a chore that usually bears little fruits. lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, this was amazing, I didn´t have any idea it was possible to harvest mushrooms at home that easily! And yep, they look so nice! Congrats because you found a good meat substitute!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was easy and fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can probably start a kit of one kind once a week so you can harvest every week and won't have to wait long before the next one grows. Hopefully, that should give you a steady supply of your meat substitutes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They grow pretty quickly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very interesting! I love mushrooms. My favorite species are Chantarelle.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mine, too! Unfortunately I can't find the spores. My husband says he can. Well wait until the weather gets warmer so we can put them in the garden.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

An interesting story about mushrooms. I enjoyed reading. I love them a lot and there are a lot of edible species available in my country. Some of them can really be a substitute for meat and are very healthy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's what I'm hoping.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so interesting :) my personal favorite is enoki mushrooms. These have a crunch even when slightly overcooked.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'll have to look those up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We get only the button mushroom here. We cook it the same way as meat adding spices. In India we add spices to most of the food

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mmmmm. Now I am wanting some lamb saag and naan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naan it's nice bread available here in lots

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I will learn to make it. Today, I think. After I'm done writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bang!! This is like hell of mushroom feast. One question

Why pink mushroom seems like so delicious?
It must be looking so horrible. Did you put any magic on that?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No magic in these mushrooms. Just nutrition. The pink mushrooms looked more orange than pink when they were mature. They tasted so good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! It's a long time since I read such an interesting article !!!!!! Once I also tried to grow mushrooms, but I did not keep them in the room-it is dangerous! The reason is the spores. I grew them in the cellar in hanging bags filled with straw, earth and wheat grains. But we have many forests and you can collect mushrooms as much as you want. I did it for the sake of experimentation, but mycelium is expensive.Mushrooms - a difficult food, do not get carried away! It is a delicacy.It contains urea similar to that of animals, but also grows like a plant.So there is a kingdom of plants, the kingdom of animals, and the kingdom of mushrooms.It was very interesting to me to know what they taste like!!!🍄

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. Breathing in the spores can be bad. The plastic helps. We are planning on getting straw and stuffing some bags. I will be excited to see how that works. We can also buy spores in a syringe and inject them into the bag at different spots.

Right now it is too cold outside to have the bags. It's also pretty cold in the house, but we have heaters.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In Romania we also pickle them in vinegar

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Interesting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I've never grown mushrooms. Now you are stimulating my desire. I know nothing at all about how the process is done.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's very interesting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have eaten mushrooms before severally, but I have not seen it fried before. It will be difficult to chew

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, no. It's crispy. Like a piece of bacon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow dear! That's so educative and informative for us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hay muchas especies de hongos que pueden ser cultivados en interiores además del aporte nutrimental que es un buen aporte para nosotros gracias por la información

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Welcome back and thanks for this amazing story big sis...I envy you, I have never eaten a mushroom that tasted like bacon lol..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's crazy good. We really couldn't stop eating them. Thanks for the welcome back. I'm still feeling kind of bleh, so I may only be back a short while.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why do you feel bleh? Hmm take your time...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had a cold. Or a coldvid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago