Healthy Living; Daily Walk

37 58
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Today on my daily walk I went a different direction. Instead of walking to the water tower or out to the pastures, I turned at the first street and walked through a more residential area.

I started my walk, as always, down my driveway. It's a short driveway for these parts at .1 of a mile.

I didn't take a photo of the driveway as I was leaving because it was pretty foggy. But I snapped a pic when I got back.

Here starts the walk.

One of the things I love most about walking are the tiny things I observe. Before I even got across the bridge the gorgeous blue flowers caught my eye.

And once I got across the bridge, I snapped a pic of the cell tower. You can see how foggy out is. I thought I might get rained on, but I didn't.

Head in the clouds

As I was walking through a residential area, I came across some beautiful flower beds. The colors of these flowers caught my eye.

These delicate flowers are lovely against the green background.

Since I live out in the country, even residential areas have dirt roads. I took this one.

The road I was walking on in the corner of the photo

I can across some critters. I had to walk across some grass and some knee high weeds. I was a little worried about snakes but didn't see any here. Yesterday I saw a snake coming down the driveway. I thought it would end up in the garage, but my little dog scared it away.

This llama looks enough like our llama to make me wonder if they are related.
This is our llama, Marilyn. making a silly face

The stranger llama was hanging out with goats. Around here, people use llamas to guard the herd. If a strange dog or coyote gets too close to the herd, the llama will use it's sharp hooves to trample the predator.

The goats heard me coming and ran away into the thicket.

By this time I was sweating a lot! Though the temperature is low, the humidity is high. And we've already established my shape (round) is not what it needs to be! I was walking briskly enough to keep my heart rate up. At least according to my Fitbit.

It's really quite beautiful where I live
It's very wild. The mesquite is heavy in this area.

Not only was I sweating and out of breath (sometimes exercise triggers my asthma, but I don't think this was that) I was getting hungry! I headed for home.

The long road home

I didn't get a photo, but there was a small dove in the middle of the road. I was going to see if it was injured but as I approached it crawled and hopped until it was able to fly away. I hope it lives.

Car! I usually cross the road when a car is coming.

The speed limit is pretty high here. Cars make me nervous. I have to be pretty observant when walking on the highway, especially when I'm listening to my book. Even at that distance, I cross to the other side (like a chicken).

lonely sunflower

I was still walking when I saw a flash of yellow. I thought it was a bird but it turned out to be a sunflower.

Cotton wood trees

These trees mean I'm almost home.

I was looking to my pasture to see if I could snap a pic of my animals but I got distracted by some flowers. I picked them to make a bouquet. I love wild flower bouquets.

I grabbed some long stalks of grass and some other weeds. I stopped and picked some of those blue flowers, too. When I got home, I made them into a bouquet and placed them in a bottle I decorated a few months ago.

Weeds make great bouquets
Bouquet in a bottle

Finally, I sat down to write up my walking accountability report.

I'll see you next time!

19
$ 5.44
$ 4.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 14
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

Aww, the llamas have caught my attention as well as your bouquet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, thanks for the free tour, I assumed I was there even just by looking through your photographs. But that cool buddy caught my attention more, it brought me good vibes! That was a long walk but still worth it. 😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Here hounds and dogs are used as guardian. Ilama is looking beautiful and active. Blue flowers also has yellow flower as well. You always prefer green sites for walk as green beauty make your vision strong.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Your neighborhood really is nice . And it's quite unlike in the city. Keep on doing your walks until you regain your spoons hehehe.

God Bless!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

ayye the llamas are pretty adorable when you see them close up

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I think your place is wonderfully calm and peaceful... Thanks for the tour! The first time I saw a Llama I thought they're really snobbish and feeling superior lol! Yours looked friendly.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That was quite a long walk and I enjoyed it though virtually, imagining I was the one walking :) Your place is awesome in many ways! And Marilyn supplied me with a huge morning chuckle :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I really do love it here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a good hike. I liked the Llama and how they use it to defend the herds. The blue flowers are also available here in my country. Made a very nice bouquet for your home.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

My husband saw it first thing. He said, "Oh, you picked weeds."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had a chuckle when I saw the picture of your llama making a silly face. Taking a walk through nature is always nice. Your article reminded me of the walks I used to take through Yosemite when I would go there growing up as a kid on vacations. I definitely want to go back one day and take a walk through nature again.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Speaking of Yosemite and bears. Not that you spoke of bears, that's just how my brain works, my brother in upstate New York has a black bear in his back yard.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Your walking down the street seems to be more lucrative because you were able to see various works of nature...the ilama really cut my attention and other flowers. Well-done keep the walking lifestyle in other to remain fitted

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Definitely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the flower because it's my favorite color 😊and also it's my first time to see in a picture an Ilama an she's so cute🥰💖 I like the way you write your article it makes my day calm because of the pictures and article that you write😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm glad to have a good influence on someone!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to have this sometimes...takes the mind off certain things and feeling...nice shot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a pleasant walk this must have been. The weather looks so cold and nice like my kind of weather but I don't understand why you were sweating lol. It doesn't even look hot out there.

That road is so lovely, what a nice landscape capture, and we really do hope that poor bird lives. Anyway, why are you so afraid of cars? That you even said you ran and cross over like a chicken. That was really funny you know? Lol

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It was close to 75°F or 24°C and about 65% humidity. So it was pretty sweaty. It just looks cold.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, my gee!. That's quite the humidity lol. Now I have to apologize for your sweating 🤭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🥵🥵🥵

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was enjoying the walk also, virtually. How long was the walk in total? It's so cute that you have an llama pet!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The llama is a working girl. She guards the sheep and the goats.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

About 45 minutes. Add I get in better shape (less round - lol) I'm go further, but I'll be walking faster.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks like a really nice walk! I try to get a daily walk in as well and I also look at all the flowers that grow besides the road. This is such a good time of the year to go walking!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's been very wet this year, so the flowers are exploding!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The drivers are going about 80mph (35kph) and don't slow down. So many of the drivers are either very old or very young. I watched 2 of my dogs get run over. These drivers really make me nervous.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wawo nice to see beautiful photos . Wawo nature is more attractive than anything. I wish i could have life style like that. Actually here in Asian countries population is more so feel like mob.
And that's good habbit you walk and thid id necessary. As medical i can understand the benefits of walk. Btw you Lucky leaving in a peaceful environment.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I know in Savannakhet, Laos it was very crowded. Even the temple (where I stayed for a week) grounds were very crowded with people and animals walking through it. But out in the country, where the rice paddies were, was very peaceful. We visited a family shrine out in the middle of the jungle. We went to ceremonies in temples that were high up on stilts. It has its own beauty.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well done, mama and I am so glad you made that walk. You have an amazing view there and nature is healing. Well done mama and I hope you have gotten something to eat now?

Any story behind why you run across the road from a distance when a car is approaching?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Like a walking journal, very cool. I love the wildflowers, I refuse to call then weeds. And the llamas , I have not seen black and white faces like that, it does make you wonder if the stranger is related to Marilyn.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

We live in such a small community. In more ways than one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can feel some fresh air and positivity in the photos you've taken, especially to those who has skies in it 😍 such a beautiful view.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is very beautiful here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also think so, where are you from? I wanna know if the place above is City or Province? It more looks like a province right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I live in Texas. I love just outside the city, which is very small. Only about 2000 people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago