Bye Bye Health Insurance - Hello Misery

32 81
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Well. It's happened. I suspected it would. But it is now official.

Beginning in November I will no longer have health insurance. I will not be able to easily or affordably replace it.

I live in Texas.

Photo license free from Unsplash

Texas opted out of the Affordable Care Act insurance discount, aka Obamacare. And health insurance in this country is horribly expensive!

Just like everything else.

My doctor here will work with me. There's a health fair at the college every year where I can get my blood work done and then she will see me 6 months after that so I'll only have to pay for blood work once. I'll have to pay for the office visit and all of my medication prescriptions.

I can get my psych meds free through the county as well as the ability to see my psychiatrist. My therapist charges $125 an hour which is considered dirt cheap (I sure wish is stick with getting my degree in psychology!!). But it's more than I can afford.

And all the medications I take. I keep thinking about those! Oof. That's going to get expensive quickly.

Morning meds

I won't die if I don't take the allergy meds, but I will be very uncomfortable! To the point of being unable to get out of bed due to migraines.

Most of my other conditions, diabetes, high cholesterol, and fatty liver are reversible or controllable with diet and exercise, but I'm back in the same boat with healthy food.

It's so expensive. And we live in a food desert. We're an hour away from any decent grocery store and even there we wouldn't necessarily be able to afford fancy food. Fancy is anything healthy, basically. I could gladly live on top ramen, but I wouldn't live very long!

Kale is the only vegetable that lasts through the winter.

We can and do grow food in the spring, summer, and autumn, but winter is out. My husband and I really want a green house, but building materials are so expensive. Especially now with supply chains broken all over the world.

I would like to go back to work despite the fact it is so hard on my health and it will be harder without the medications that give me a good quality of life. Though I'm trained and experienced in office work (legal assistant, office manager, receptionist etc) all of those jobs are taken here in town.

The jobs that are available here are fast food, convenience stores, gas stations, janitorial, motel maid, and caregiving.

I've been creative in the past and earned a few dollars dog walking. I'm an excellent caregiver and would love to have some private clients. The problem is, everybody in town is in the same boat financially, or already has help.

Monday I'll go around town and see if any of the food places are hiring. It's blue collar work and not even a little bit intellectually stimulating. Butt it's work.

I don't know if I'm too old, at 53, to get hired as a new worker. Even sleepy little teeny tiny towns are ageist.

The other hiccup is I need to work part time outside the home. I have all these animals to care for in the mornings. And I really want my book to get written.

Photo license free from Unsplash

I would much prefer to do some freelance writing/editing/proofreading jobs, that's where my passion is, but I'm a neophyte in the freelance arena as well.

We don't have internet here, relying on our phones' hotspots for internet service, so many work from home online jobs are out.

Sigh.

I need to go get my eyes checked before the end of the month to take advantage of the last of the health insurance and get new glasses.

Photo license free from Unsplash

I'm not sure what the end result will be as far as my presence here on-line in the writersphere. My brain shuts down when I'm stressed. I call it stress stupid.

I may end up writing more or I may end up shutting down altogether.

Send me your good vibes. Send me your well wishes. Heck, send me your prayers.

Send me your money while you're at it! (That's a joke.)(Mostly.)(Feel free to take it literally.)

Photo license free from Unsplash

Meanwhile, I'm going to be going through all of my photos and creating stickers and weirdly meaningful gifts which can be purchased from my RedBubble store. (Link)

I'm also going to figure out this whole damn NFT creation which everyone (everyone much younger than I am) says is super easy but I've had such a hard time grasping, and try to sell some of my art and photography.

I have a Ko-Fi page and a Patreon page I've let sit fallow for a couple of years. I'll be accepting donations and taking commissions when I get those revamped.

I'll also need to figure out a Substack newsletter subscription. I'm horrible at keeping up with newsletters and I never know what to offer as "value". I have a friend who does micro fiction. Maybe I'll do that.

At this point I'm even willing to do OnlyFans and OnlyCoins content. Probably not OnlyFans, though, because they jerked my good friend around (no pun intended).

I've been off of Facebook for the better part of 2 years, but I suppose I need to get back on there and start selling my cheese again. I make PLENTY of cheese. (If you are in the Continental U.S. and want some homemade goat cheese that is simply to die for, let me know in the comments - I'll get you hooked up!)

I have an Etsy store I need to remodel and revamp. I used to sell custom tie dye T-shirts. I guess I can get that going again. And the cheese and art works can be listed there as well.

All of these hustles are super intimidating to me. They involve a lot of self-promotion and selling at which I'm terrible! They take thought and creativity during times of desperation and stress and my brain just won't cooperate more than half the time. Stress stupid.

These "side hustles" all add up to a full-time job. I'm not sure how I'll manage all of it AND work. I'll have to find a way!

I do have a real ask: of you need anything proofread or copyedited, anything at all, a paper, article, blog post, short story, or manuscript please hire me at very affordable rates so I can include the work on my resumé and include your feedback in a review.

Photo license free from Unsplash

Also, if you have any concrete advice I'm all ears.

I admit, I'm feeling a bit desperate at the moment. Desperate and overwhelmed. And exhausted just thinking about all of this.

Thanks, United States health care system! Thanks, Texas. Thanks, teeny tiny town. Thanks allergies and diabetes and fatty liver and high cholesterol and hypothyroidism! Thanks, DNA.

Thanks, but no thanks.

Lead and first image license free from Unsplash

16
$ 9.72
$ 8.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Stea
$ 0.10 from @zolabundance2
+ 12
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

With so many skills and talents, something will be out there for you. Will be praying for that, and your health, as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jonica, keep as strong as you are! Good things are coming for you, lot of blessings, don´t let this bad situations take you down

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Doing my best not to. It's going to be harder for me at first, but things will get better. I know it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a hard working woman you are Ms. Jonica. Please take care of yourself. I believe you can do all of it I can sense your determination. We can find ways to do the things we wanted if we wanted to, and I could see that you will find a way. So, good luck. I am glad you put them into action because me I don't know where to start. I have lots of plans to but putting them in frame is the hardest especially that I lack the mind that is needed for the business. Though I am slowly learning through watching and reading articles. I hope I could be just like you who have such huge determination to do a lot of things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you all the success. Business is hard, no matter what business. I wish I had been wise enough to take business courses while I was in school. Now, I can't afford the classes. I'll get through this and you will figure out out on your end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you dear. Good luck to the both of us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wishing you can overcome all this:) fighting

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You know I'm a fighter!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes i know you are💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🏋️🏋️🦸🦹🦁🦁🦁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totally rooting for you. Health of course is so important, writing is great if you can find a source of income from it. Sites like Appen and Lionbridge might have work, but you apply and then might not here anything for months, it is hard getting online work. Upwork yes, you will be up against people working for a much lower wage. Hope it gets better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This whole situation makes me angry for you. Demeter is about to be in the same boat with health insurance. Where we live did opt in for Obamacare but it's still prohibitively expensive so she won't be able to afford it. She's subject to the income restrictions due to receiving other benefits (food) so most of her income is under the table because let's be honest, their requirements are ridiculous. With what little she does make from freelancing etc she still wouldn't be able to afford everything on her own. It's sad that our country cares so little.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm so sorry she will have to go through it, too. I'm also sorry you are unable to care for her at the moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you a quick recovery. Ok, since you said you love writing why not try Fiverr or Upwork. You may see some clients there who need writers.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks. If I get really desperate, I may give Fiverr and Upwork another go. It's hard to compete with people who will work for pennies and the clients, but for the very rare individual, for the most part have been very difficult for me to work with. Also, Fiverr never paid me. I'm on Bitworkerss, though. Check out that platform.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I notice a few of the photos I added aren't showing up. Are they showing up for y'all? I wrote and published this story on the road, so on my phone. Let me know if you can see the images or just the attribution with no image.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only the attribution is showing for quite a few.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I am unable to delete the attribution. Oh well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I won't rail on the U.S. healthcare system because it's expense is part of the reason it is the best in the world. BUT, I will admit, there ARE hiccups in it, and SOME people unfortunately do get a little bit left out in the process, which I don't like. But it is what it is.

I wish I had some advice to give, but in this situation I really don't, because you have already covered all the things I may have advised to do that you have said are not practical or convenient, and in some cases not possible to consider.

Do keep us posted, and do keep providing great content. I certainly enjoy it, and I think many others do as well. Hopefully any tips from staying here and providing it add up to time spent well and a little extra help to your situation.

Rooting for you over here on my side.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. Too many poor people fall through the cracks here, health-wise. I'm going to survive. Somehow. Whether hustling all the hustles or getting a job. I'll gladly work for Pizza Hut! I can bring home dinner!!! I simply need to not allow myself to shut down.

Thanks for rooting for me. I will definitely keep writing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Not sure what Pizza Hut pays in your area, but here they pay pretty well for the job. Probably around $12-$13 an hour. Hope you can get it figured out, as I am sure you will.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

$7.25 for a kitchen worker $2.70 for wait staff.

I'll still apply. Because minimum wage is better than no wage.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow. It amazes me that Texas, or at least your area, is way, way, way behind the curve right now with wages. That's astonishing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Best wishes for you dear. I know you are a health conscious person. Going throughout your article I understand about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. You have a lot of job there. At your age you can still manage them all. But health insurance is still necessary so you should have it too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, even though I know I could manage the jobs, I'm not sure employers will see it that way. And any job I get, won't come with health insurance benefits. But I would be better able to afford the high monthly costs of health insurance if I had steady income.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. I heard about the Obamacare situation even during Trump's regime. So sorry mama... I can imagine how expensive things might get without insurance now. I can only hope things get better and God helps you to be able to afford them because your health is important. I am sending lots of hugs and pecks to you, mama. Keep fighting and stay strong.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sure we'll get by. It will just be a lot harder than it was. On the upside, I am no longer restricted by income limits, so can also start hustling some investments.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love your optimism, mama.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sending virtual hugs sis and my prayers.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome. You will get through it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago