And We're Off

11 39
Avatar for JonicaBradley
1 year ago

This morning begins our week-long journey to upstate New York to look for a house and get the lay of the land as far as jobs are concerned. We also need to check out public transportation opportunities.

As you can see from the photo, gasoline prices, though pretty high for us, are a lot higher in the rest of the country. So we are flying.

Airfare is also more expensive than usual.

Partly to blame Covid and broken supply chains. Mostly to blame is Putin and the invasion into Ukraine. All the oil companies are freaking out and raising the prices.

I don't know if you remember, but we were going to travel to Romania (maybe go visit @PVMihalache and let him cook for us!). That trip is going to be delayed for quite a while. Not only are we buying a house and moving which is taking up our travel funds, but there's also a lot going on in that part of the world.

I'm not going to be using this article as a platform for a political rant, though, so enough about that.

Photo of the open road

We have to drive an hour to get to the airport. When we drive in these long, straight highways I always picture myself running down the middle of the road.

Travel today precludes me from running, but I did get my tiny ab workout in. When I started working out in the morning (it's really for only about 5 minutes) I couldn't do 1 single pushup from the ground. Not even with my legs today on the ground behind me. I had to do pushups standing up against the wall. I struggled to do 10 leg raises. And I was only able to do three bare minimum of crunches.

This morning I was able to knock out 10 floor panties and 10 leg raises as well as 90 crunches.

The trick is to roll out of bed and do these exercises before my brain is fully awake and starts arguing with me.

I did all my exercises AND managed to get a few dishes done so we didn't leave behind a dirty sink for Keith's mom to take care of. She'll feed the goats for me and collect the eggs.

I might not have told you this yet, but most of my chickens died. A fox or a coyote got them. Only one old chicken is left. She's the one that started crossing like a rooster and stopped laying eggs. At least where we could find them. She is all alone now and seems to like it like that. She's been laying an eggs every other day or so and had completely stopped crowing like a rooster! Silly chicken.

Whenever I travel the country at night, they're always sends to beat big rig truck in front of me.

Big rig

They are like friendly little beacons ushering me upon my way.

Well. We are pulling into the long term parking area so I will have to wrap this up. Please excuse any errors I've made. I've not edited before I hit publish.

All photos by Jonica Bradley

15
$ 7.54
$ 7.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 6
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
1 year ago

Comments

Traveling at night is fun, especially when there's a good weather. The light at night is beautiful.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I definitely prefer it when Keith drives at night.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

From the first image, wanna ask, is the gas price $3.79 per liter 😮 And besides I'm always scared of night traveling

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is per one gallon. Which is about 3.78 liters.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whaoo.. It more cheaper than ours.. But the price all over the world is too high

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have a safe journey and welcome to your new home. May you have great opportunities and new adventures. Just sad about the other chickens but the good thing is, that silly chicken no longer thinks she is a rooster.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you! And yes, I'm glad she isn't confused anymore.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May she be safe from foxes :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agreed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

With the war at the borders maybe is not that bad that the trip is delayed. You will have great fun when will happen

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Still looking forward to making it a reality.

$ 0.00
1 year ago