Adventure in the Arboretum and Beyond (a pictorial)

4 58
Avatar for JonicaBradley
1 year ago

Hello from upstate New York. The weather is becoming brisk. The trees are starting to change. It is apple picking season. It is pretty common around here for farmers to open their farms to the public for apple picking. I haven't yet gone, but Mom and I are planning it. Then, I can make apple pie and my all-time favorite, apple butter.

While the weather was still warm (it was actually quite hot), Keith and I thought we would check out the beach. We live just a few miles from Lake Ontario, the smallest of the great lakes, but still a massive body of water. It was the weekend, a Saturday, I think, and it was hot. Around 85 F (29.9 C). When we got to the beach, it was so crowded we could barely see the sand. So. Many. People. The beach is part of the Durand Eastman Park

We decided to go somewhere else. Marked on Google maps was another seemingly interesting place to visit called the Durand Eastman Park Arboretum. We arrived in New York too late to go on this year's spring tour, but I am hopeful we will be able to go next year. I do need a good, sturdy pair of hiking boots.

Keith and I made our way to the arboretum. Google maps kept telling me to turn the wrong way onto a one-way street. After a bit of frustration, we finally found the entrance to the arboretum. It was a bit confusing to us because the arboretums we've experienced have been very different. Check out the links to see how. There's the L.A. County Arboretum in Altadena California and the Botanical Gardens in Amarillo, Tx. Each of these places has official parking and an entrance where you buy tickets.

The Eastman Durand Arboretum is all trails. There are a few areas where you can park your car and get out to wander, but nobody is taking tickets and there is no official entrance.

parking area

We just parked and got out and wandered around. I'm very happy my husband knows how to keep track of where he is at all times or I would've been hopelessly lost. As a matter of fact, my mom and stepfather went hiking on the Eastman Durand trails and DID get lost. Keith and I opted to stay up at the top instead of taking any trails down because of my shoes. I was wearing a pair of my old running shoes. The bottoms of which are completely smooth. A lot of miles went on the soles of those shoes! Because they are so worn out, the bottoms are fairly slippery. I didn't want to risk sliding at the wrong moment.

just one of the many trails leading downward

It is a little difficult for me to impart how overwhelming all of the green trees are to me. Coming from the Texas Panhandle where most of the trees look stunted and sparse, where the grasses are all brown and dead looking (because they are dead from the extreme drought), to seeing these super duper green towering giants left me breathless! The majesty of these trees was incredibly difficult to capture. But, I tried.

We found some cool little things to oooohhhh and aaahhhh over. Like this teeny tiny mushroom.

An adorable toad I almost stepped on.

And this silent but watchful little guy.

There were many, many more photo opportunities and I took so many pictures. Coming across the mandala was pretty cool. I don't have Instagram, but if you do, go check out Michelle.

The arboretum trees were great, but please don't think that it is the only place to find ginormous trees around here. Keith and I took a walk around the neighborhood and found some oaks and maples just as big as those in the arboretum.

At the moment I'm enjoying all the greenery immensely. I hate to think what will happen come spring and pollen. Ugh. Allergies! I hope I am not as allergic to the things here as I am to the things in Texas.

In other news, I've found a little part-time job caring for my mom's neighbor. He is an older man, a veteran, who was exposed to horrible chemicals including napalm and agent orange when he flew helicopters in S.E. Asia during the Vietnam conflict. His nerves are completely dead. He is in a wheelchair. My job is to cook for him, help him to the bathroom, and entertain him while his wife gets other chores done.

As yet, I am only working Saturdays and Sundays unless the weekday caregiver doesn't show up. It is something, at least. I'm still looking for other, more lucrative employment but until then, at least there's a little bit coming in. Enough to buy some groceries, anyway.

This morning is gray and rainy looking. I miss my little birds and the squirrels. I put out some old cereal (Rice Crispies) to lure them in. I really do love watching them. I think the birds and squirrels are about as close as I'll get to having chickens and goats. Ah! There's the squirrel now.

On that note, I'll leave you for today.

See you later, Alligator!

All images original photos by Jonica Bradley

6
$ 1.73
$ 1.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
1 year ago

Comments

The greenery and the huge trees add more to the beauty of the place.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is very beautiful here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You’ve got some beautiful places there. Love the big trees 💙

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm really loving the big trees, too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago