A Semblance of Normality

21 57
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Sunday morning sunrise

It's been a week since my friend's boyfriend died. It's been a week since I've been able to take care of my own home, do my own dishes, cook my own food, care for my own animals, and do my own gardening.

I feel numb. If I feel numb I can only imagine what my friend feels.

Even though it feels too soon, even though it feels somehow disrespectful, I must get on with my life. And so I have started.

Saturday, the day started dark and cloudy. The sun came up so slowly.

I was impatient for the sun.

Eventually, It got bright enough to see and I went to milk the goats.

Still not light enough to do anything outside.

After milking, my husband and I spent a lot of time in the garden. He watering and weeding. Me harvesting.

Once harvested, the veggies need to be washed, inspected, and put up or cooked.

First, I harvested some more dill weed. I love how it makes my kitchen smell when it is drying. I'll leave it hanging for a few days and then move it to a paper bag to finish.

Dill Weed drying in the kitchen.

I also harvested some beets, but they were tiny and dry and I fed them to the goats.

I had these planted in pots. They didn't do very well at all, but the goats loved them.

Between all the rain, and some neglect, the garden looked like a jungle. My husband harvested a couple of zucchini and a few tomatoes. The zucchini are so huge! I'll be making some roasted vegetable pasta sauce this time. Last zucchini harvest I made zucchini fritters.

Fat zucchinis and a few Vine ripened tomatoes.
Zucchini fritters I made with the first few zucchini I harvested. I'll be making more!

Back out in the garden, it was hard to know where to start. I harvested a head of cabbage, but forgot to snap a pic. Sorry.

After the cabbage, I harvested all my carrots. Most were smallish, but there are some decent sized carrots in there. I'll plant more. Hopefully this time the rain won't push all the seeds to one side. I'll try to plant 3 rows.

That's a lot of carrots!

I just trimmed the carrots greens off, snipped off the hairy root ends, and have the carrots a very cursory rinse. I must remember to wash them better before eating them.

I made a lot of mud in the bottom of the sink. These carrots will make it worth it!

The goats got the carrot tops. They loved them.

The rinsed carrots are stored in water in the refrigerator until I have time to give them a thorough wash.

After the carrots, I harvested the black eyed peas. This is the first time I've grown them and I wasn't sure when to harvest. The bean pods looked good. They had little bumps in them. My husband was convinced it was time. So I picked the biggest bean pods.

Freshly harvested black eyed peas

It turns out it was a little early to harvest most of them. The ones that look more yellow are ready. The others were a little difficult to open. I didn't know that yet, though. I rinsed them and started shelling the bean pods.

The rinsed pods

I started collecting the "peas". I wasn't sure how many I would get. Some were big and some were tiny. Some barely had the black "eye".

Freshly shelled black eyed peas.

To shell the peas, I would snap off one end of the pod and pull a strip down the rounded part. Then I would peel open the pod and run my thumb along the inside, dislodging the little beans.

The goats got the empty pods. They loved those, too.

Cooked black eyed peas. They tasted so good I couldn't stop eating them yesterday.

As soon as I came back inside after giving the goats their treat, I put the black eyed peas in a pot. I added 2 Tbs butter, garlic salt, celery salt, and regular salt. Then I filled up the pot with water and set it over very low heat. I had more chores to do.

Back outside, I rummaged through the tomato plants to find any tomatoes that were still intact. The plants have gotten so big in the rain, they are falling over. The tomatoes that sat on the ground, in the rain water were rotten. We pulled them off and tossed them in a corner. They'll probably make volunteers next season.

Tomatoes that weren't rotted.

I brought in a very few green tomatoes. I went to get the box of newspaper wrapped tomatoes. Most of the wrapped tomatoes were bright red.

Box of newspaper wrapped tomatoes.

I unwrapped all of the red tomatoes to make room for the green tomatoes to ripen.

Ripe red tomato.

Only one tomato got yucky. I don't know why this happens. Maybe it still had a little moisture on it from being rinsed.

I could tell this tomato went bad.
Really moldy. Yuck!

I set aside the ripe tomatoes. I planned on using them and the too big zucchini to make pasta sauce on Sunday (today).

Newspaper ripened tomatoes.

This morning, before the sun rose, I heard the dogs out in the front yard. I went to investigate all the noise. I heard squeaking. The big dog, Angus, was headed over to a spot next to a planter. I turned on my flashlight and went there, too.

Imagine my surprise when I figured out what those dogs were up to. I looked down into a little hole and found a baby rabbit.

10 day old baby cottontail rabbit. His eyes are open but his ears are still laid back.

The dogs had done what dogs will do and this little guy was the only survivor. Fortunately I know what to feed it and how much and how often. I hope it will take the little drops of milk from the syringe.

I got all the nesting material and made it a little tiny home.

Usually, I would not disturb a baby rabbit. Even though they look abandoned, I know they are not. Mama leaves them alone during the day but comes back to feed them at night.

But had I left this little baby in the nest, the dogs would've eaten it, too. I just couldn't leave it.

Unfortunately, only 10% of rescued bunnies will survive. I hope this little one is one of the 10%

Baby rabbit nest

The sunrise was glorious this morning. I was happy to go out to milk the goats and get to my pasta sauce before it got too hot.

The glorious sunrise.

I started with the tomatoes. I cut the tops off and made an X on the bottom with the knife. This makes it easier to take off the skin. I put them in a pot with some salt water and boiled them.

Boiling tomatoes. The skin will come off easily.
Diced zucchini, seasoned and roasted.

I diced up the smaller zucchini, leaving the skin on. Drizzled itwith olive oil and seasoned it with garlic salt, oregano, and terragon. Put it in the oven at 300°F (148°C) for 10 minutes.

While that is baking I cut up a bunch of garlic. Garlic burns easily when roasting so I wanted the zucchini to get a head start.

I don't know how many cloves of garlic this was. About half a bulb.

I took the zucchini out, added the garlic, and put it back in the oven for another 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, I took the tomatoes out of the salty water to cool.

The cooled tomatoes were super easy to peel.

Once they cooled down enough to handle, I peeled them and put them in the blender. By this time, the zucchini and garlic was finished. I added it to the blender. I hit liquefy. I let it blend for 5 minutes. It got really thick so I added some water.

This pasta sauce won't be the bright red of commercial pasta sauce.
Tomato tops and zucchini peel. This will go out to the goats.

I had more tomatoes and another huge zucchini. I worried that the peel on this one would be too thick and woody, so I peeled it.

All of our food disposal goes to the goats or the chickens. We have very little waste.

After peeling it I sliced then diced up the big zucchini.

Zicchini slices
Diced zucchini

I repeated the process as before, but added black pepper and subtracted the garlic. I left them in the oven about 20 minutes before blending them with the second set of tomatoes.

I made a GIF! This soothes me for some reason.

Finally, I put the sauce in a pot over very low heat to thicken and absorb all the flavors.

The sauce will thicken throughout the day.

I'll leave it alone now, except for an occasional stir so it doesn't burn or stick to the bottom.

We'll be eating it tonight over spaghetti noodles. The leftover sauce will go in a jar in the refrigerator until we have pasta again.

Cooking is an activity that grounds me. I don't think about life crap when I'm cooking. It's like an art form. I feel centered and connected and a semblance of normality.

Till next time.

19
$ 15.58
$ 14.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 12
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

It feels good to be home. Sorry to read what your friend is going through. It really is unfair to her that the boyfriend selfishly did that to her. The baby bunny is so cute, I also hope she is one of the 10% who survives. It is good that you are back home now and thank you for sharing your day with us and some delicious recipes too. Rest well there @JonicaBradley and have a good weekend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am very sorry for the loss of a friend. Life goes on... nature proves that everything regenerates, grows in abundance, nourishes everyone and gives opportunity for life, as in the case of the little rabbit. Receive blessings from this corner of the world...! I love your vegetable garden. A hug

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have all what you need , planted in your yard ❤. I always wanted to plant veggies for my own convenience. However, the plants always die whenver I plant :(.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

there's so many veggies there, I'm sure you'll never go hungry unless you get lazy to prepare and i didn't know rabbits were that small as babies OnO

$ 0.05
2 years ago

They're are some veggies I've been lazy about. I'll have to get busy soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

those carrots are really yummy...it's good also to blend it...carrot shake is one of a kind!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I love carrot smoothies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same ..,me too and it's healthy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like eating fritters especially sweet potatoes and carrots 😊 .. You guys have lots of veggies there

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow.. That's a lot of harvests..😯 You're really a hardworking. Honestly, I couldn't imagine myself planting something like that, but seeing you, made me realized, I should try one of this days. Actually my mama and papa, really did well in planting and harvesting too.😊

As for cooking, I love cooking. My mama taught me how to do it.

Have a great day!☺️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I can see now that you love cooking. It's great having a farm like this where one can harvest different kinds of items. In my country here, there is no how you won't see vegetable leaves just because we cherished it a lot.

I have planted beans before and I was so happy the very first time I harvested. It was like a thing of joy.

There is something I don't know in this items you stated out. I do t think I have seen zucchini before. Hope after preparing, the taste is always yummy?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Definitely yummy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tomatoes needs to be watered on roots and not on the leafs or the fruit. This could be a problem because of the rains you have had. Also I asked my mother that grows tomatoes and she told me she also sprayed them when the tomatoes are still blossoms with a substance close to sulphur (although not sulphur exactly, it is something else). Sadly I didn't find the word in English.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I think they have something in a spray at the store. And yes, we have it set up to water the roots, but the rain...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are lucky in this regard. You ate your own grown vegetables. At the end, you made suace that is looking tasteful. Zucchini straps with tomato are favorite for goats. You should take care of beets feed for goats that have high kerotine level, may cause toxic effects.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It was only a very few beets. Thank you for the info.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No doubt they are few in number but becareful .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The soil must be fertile for you to plant this much on it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It has rained a lot. And we water. And sometimes we add fertilizer. We have PLENTY of natural fertilizer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are really hardworking with all you harvested from your garden, also I love your rabbit 🐇I Too have two grown ups female rabbit looking for how to cross them

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The eating after the hard work is the best part.

$ 0.00
2 years ago