Life of an Introvert: Welcome to my Life

12 33
Avatar for Jinifer
3 years ago

One of my childhood fantasies was to be able to travel the world and go wherever and whenever I pleased. However, as I get older, I'm starting to realize that I'd rather stay at home than go out with other people. I'd rather be alone and spend some time with myself if I ever wanted to go. I'm an introvert, I’ve always been this way, and I’m fine with it. I'm good at avoiding people, avoiding confrontation and conversations.  Being an introvert has its good and bad sides, and I guess so does being an extrovert

For the majority of my life, I believed that being an introvert was a negative trait. Being the quiet one in an outgoing and humorous family never seemed right. Why didn't I say something as soon as they did? What made me think I didn't want to be the center of attention? People around me appeared to be having a lot more fun. Why am I the quiet one? What is wrong with me?

https://images.app.goo.gl/uHCPDppL14wXk7Mk7

Here are some characteristics that explain what it means to be an introverted person :

  • Introverts prefer to be alone

I've always wanted to be alone, and when I'm alone, I find peace. It's exhausting to be around a lot of people all day. Going home to a house where there is always pandemonium due to the fact that we are a large family. When I was in boarding school and living in a boarding home, my friends and roommates would occasionally ask me if I was mad, unhappy, or doing anything I didn't like since I was unusually silent on occasion. I'm not angry, and I'm not sad either. All I require is some breathing room. Allowing myself ample quiet time to recharge has given me the energy I need to communicate effectively.

  • Small chat irritates introverts.

Small conversation, on the other hand, is difficult to avoid. But I always made an effort to strike up a conversation with someone. I find small talk with strangers unsettling, especially when I'm alone in a public area and happen to see someone I recognize. On the other hand, I appreciate getting to know individuals on a more personal level and engaging in meaningful talks. I enjoy peeling back the layers of a person's exterior to learn more about them and their "story." I realize that I won't be able to connect with everyone I meet on this level, so small chat, as much as I despise it, is something I'll have to learn to do.

  • Listening is a skill that introverts excel at over talking.

I'd rather listen to other people speak than speak to them, lol. I appreciate hearing their stories and listening to their difficulties, however I admit that I'm not very good at comforting, but I do enjoy listening to others speak and learning about who they are. I enjoy assisting others in any way I can, and I believe that being a listening ear is one of the most effective ways to do so. Even though I'm not excellent at soothing, I always try my hardest to be there for them whenever they need me, so they know someone is listening to them and that they aren't alone.

  • Introverts are aware of their surroundings and are sensitive to it.

I never went out without someone before; whenever I wanted to buy something, such as in a mall, I always had my cousin with me. But for the time being, I'm attempting to get used to going alone, using the bus and tricycle alone. Going out irritates me because there are so many people, so many crying babies, and so much general nastiness. To my delicate little soul, social situations with too many people, noises, and a lack of organization are too overpowering and leave me feeling anxious and emotionally drained.

  • Introverts are keen observers who pick up on minor nuances, allowing them to read people and situations quickly.

Despite my silence, I am aware of what is going on around me. People often assume that just because I don't have much to say means I'm clueless about what's going on. Lmao, I'm smarter than you think. I'm a natural observer, but I'm not a "chismosa" it's just that I'm good at observing someone secretly while minding my own business.

Clearly, being an introvert was a hassle.

However, over the past year, I’ve started to appreciate my introverted personality. 

Not leaving my room
Not leaving the house

My childhood punishments have become my adult hobbies lmao



Author's Note:

Oh, for how many years, now I finally publish a new article lol. I've been possessed by laziness these past few days.

Thank you for reading!

You can hit subscribe if you want to. 😉

Sabakaparaybs 🌻

8
$ 0.33
$ 0.23 from @Umaru_chan
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
Sponsors of Jinifer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jinifer
3 years ago

Comments

Well according to this I am an introvert. However I believe we adapt to whatever situation we are in. If I want to make small talk as I find the person interesting I will, if I can't be arsed then I won't!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mareee ito na yata yung pinaka accurate at relatable facts about introvert na nabasa ko 😆. May mga cons din on the other hand like, we tend to disregard moments with our loveone and friends tapos ireregret later. Napaka introverted kong tao kaya pag niyayaya ako ng mga kaibigan ko dati oara sa mga gala, lagi kong tinatanggihan. Tapos ngayong pandemic narealize ko na sobrang ikli lang pala ng buhay para di enjoyin. Ayun regrets ko hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sameeee, may time din na minsan nagsisisi ako kung bat ako hindi sumama sa gala, mga ganon. Tas pag nakikita ko pictures nila sa fb na masasaya, tinatanong ko sarili ko kung "bat nga ba ako hindi sumama?" Ang saya ko na siguro ngayon kung sumama ako. Parang tanga lang 🤧🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Relate na relate ako. Hahaha habang patanda na talaga ako ng patanda parang gusto ko nalang din talaga magisa. Kasi ikaw nakakaintindi sa sarili mo kesa kapag yung ibang tao kapag nakisama ka, ijujudge at ijujudge ka nila eh. 🙄 hays

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sa trueee 🤧 I am at peace kasi whenever I'm alone, tas hindi rin ako sanay mag open up sa ibang tao, sinasarili ko lang talaga 😌

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Truuuee young listener talaga mga introverts. Yung friend ko kasi introvert din tas sa kanya ako nag dadrama , as in di niya talaga ako dinidistract. Makikinig alg talaga through out my rants.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm more on listening than talking hhaha tas hindi rin kasi ako masyadong magaling mag comfort especially magsasabi ng mga comfort words. I'll just make sure na nandoon ako palagi if ever they need someone to hear their rants

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was an introvert person also. From elementary to high school, I was always awarded as being the most behaved student. But I was changed. I was being influenced by my friends when I was in college. I became talkative 😂. But there still times that I wanted to be alone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahhaha everything changed when we finally entered college life

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha..yes. Maybe because of the people around us. And when you are in college, you should be friendly para may karamay ka tuwing exams😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Being an introverted person is not bad at all like I can do many things just being alone too. I was a very introverted person before like yeah, I can't handle myself if I need to go to the market and I am too shy to ask for a receipt😖. But everything was changed when I go to college. I need to face the real deal haha so yeah I can call myself an ambivert now.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Yup, same here. Everything changed when I finally got to college. Need to deal with the reality 😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago