Calming Myself in a Stressful Situation and How to do it

10 24
Avatar for Jho22
Written by
3 years ago

Getting worry and upset is normal and it's part of our that there are things that will eventually tempt us to get angry and anxious. But, being able to calm down in the moment that your getting upset and worry is often easier said than done. When it happen that anxiety or anger takes over, and you can't calm down yourself? What will you do?

Here is the reason why I share this experience of mine last day. And I hope you enjoy reading this and learn from it.

I'm a kind of person that is easy to be upset for many things. I'm get easily angered person even in a small thing. I don't want also to give instructions unlimitedly or answering questions that is common sense, because it irritates me that much.

So, here's the story.

I'm a student leader in our Campus and I'm in a highest position, which is the President. Hm, in my character, I don't how does it happened. HAHA well, here's the scenario that day.

October 20(not the exact date). When it's already evening and I'm still busy doing my Academic Activities, when someone message me on my messenger and asking me "Is the President's of all lower Organization will still be signing in Clearance before you sign it?" I responded to her "No. I just need your Proof of payment coming from the listed Organization in which you belong and I'll sign" with a genuine smiley emoji. And she replied to me "Okay". After a few minutes, she message me again "Are you the President?"

It's a long day I'm tired. Grr!. I got shock, like, OMG! All this time after you ask me that kind of question you have no idea that I'm the President?! I got irritated because I expected that after she asked me that question, she already know that I'm the President. Because of course, who do think can understand and answer your question if you ask the Students that is not in position to answer it? Right? I'm just confused, how come that she come up from that question and ask me without a knowledge that I'm the President of the Mother Organization in our Campus. It's a very disappointing in my part, but somehow I need to keep come and relax.

So, how did I calm down in this day?

Here are some Strategies that I applied for me to be able to calm down in an anxious and anger feeling:

1.) Take a Deep Breathe and Smile.

When your anxious or angry you can take a deep breathe for you to calm down. Breathing is the number one and most effective technique for reducing anger and anxiety quickly. Because your muscles sends a message to your brain a positive feedback to choice between "fight-or flight" response. Practicing this technique will help you getting out of the danger cause by your anxious and anger.

2. Admit that you’re anxious or angry.

When things is not worthy to keep silent, break that silent and allow yourself to speak out that you're angry or anxious-like shouting it to a free and peaceful place like in a mountain or on rough top. When you already done expressing what you feel about something, your anxiety and anger now, will start to decrease.

3. Challenge your thoughts.

Having irrational thoughts is part of anxious and anger, and it always create a non-sense feeling.

If you had only the questions negative "What if" that appears in your thoughts, try to balance it using the positive "What if" questions too. And take a look in the advantages that may happen next.

4. Release the anxiety or anger and Change your Focus.

Engaging in some physical activity will help you calm down and feel better like walking or running out of the place that makes you upset or anxious.

Running or going out of the room in where you get upset, can make you forget the things that happen on it and makes you calm down and think positively.

But, avoid physical activity that includes the expression of anger, such as punching the wall or throwing an objects. It may result to increase feelings of anger and it can cause a trouble.

5. Visualize yourself calm.

This technique is next to the breathing technique, after taking a few deep breaths, close your eyes and imagine yourself working out the stressful and anxiety-causing moment by staying calm and focused.

Doing this imagination of yourself in which you stay calm in situation of anger, do it also when you feel anxious for you to stay calm too.

6. Think it through.

When we are anxious or angry, we become more focused on the cause why we get upset or anxious of something, and the rational thought will lead to us.

Do a mantras list that will guide and lead your mind to a positive response for you to get calm.

7. Listen to a music or watch a funny videos and Relax your Body.

The next time you feel your anxiety is being level up, get your headphones, lie down on the floor with your arms out by your side and listen to your favorite song or watch a funny videos. Listening to music can have a very calming effect on your body and mind. And watching funny videos will help your brain to forget the things that happen and turn back your good mood. Practicing progressive muscle relaxation can help you calm down and center yourself.

10. Write it down.

If you’re too angry or anxious grab your journal and talk to it. Writing helps you get negative thoughts out of your head.

11.) Get some fresh air.

A high temperature and air circulation in a room can increase your anxiety or anger. If you’re feeling tense and the space you’re in is hot and stuffy, this could trigger a panic attack. So go outside of it and get some cool, clean and fresh air to breathe on and it will help you to calm down.

Changing that scenery or going out of the place can sometimes interrupt your anxious or angry thought process.

12. Fuel your Body.

If you’re hungry or not properly hydrated, all of this techniques won't work. So go to your food storage and get some food to eat and water to drink to refuel yourself and apply those techniques.

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Jho22
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Great one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahha,naalala ko yung rantso nito, keep it up, its kinda nice that you know how to calm yourself😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great is very beneficial Article: 😊 Keep on Posting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed, not just calming one self but lots of different actions to make are easier said done done

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you😇🙏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, that's a really helpful article, keep posting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks much😇🙏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's the price for being the leader😂you should be still thankful to them for being your inspiration for this entry hahaha.. anyways thank you for sharing yoir tips.. i must try this sometimes ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Paminsan minsan magtagaBicol na tanganing daeng naunawaan ni RR 😂🤣😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HAHA You must try it all the time 😁🤣😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago