Absent for days, What happened?

11 46
Avatar for Jher0122
2 years ago

A pleasant evening to all of you again my fellow authors, I hope you're doing well these past days. Second week of January is about to end again and you may noticed that I don't have article these past days. Well there's a lot going through my life but still holding on to something that gives me the strength to keep fighting on no matter what.

Where I was and what happened? As you know planting season of rice is already ongoing here in our province and some of our fellow farmers had already planted their rice so I helped my father and lolo in preparing the rice field as usual. We don't want to be left behind because it seems that by this coming month of April the National Irrigation will cut off the water supply in order to clean those water irrigations. That's why we are going to make use of the waters before it's gone. Take note, water is the main ingredient in farming rice, without it your efforts will just go to waste.

During this planting season my father taught me how to operate the hand tractor, it is a machine use to cultivate the field in preparation for planting. Handling was not that hard because you just need to control it properly like a bicycle or motorcycle. You need to make a turn before those paddy embankment (a small portion of land seperating the field) to avoid destroying them because they are the one who will hold the water supply in each area of the field.

We did it for 2 days straight with just the three of us. My grandfather can't hold it any longer because of his age. It took that long because the area of the farm is 1 hectare. Take note: We don't own the farm, we are just caretaker of it but soon it will be ours. Owning a rice farm is one of my long term goal. Why?

Because even if the price of rice is not that high what I want to secure is food supply because nowadays vast rice farms in the country is already turning into a subdivisions and I bet those lands are bought for a cheap price. There's no telling when a food shortage will happen due to the increasing of population in our planet so it's better to be safe than sorry.

After the preparations and finishing, the field is now ready for planting. The next day, together with my grandmother we went to the field again in order to get those rice seedlings. Getting the seedlings is a bit tricky because when you are not careful enough, you can destroy it and it will be a waste. My lola taught me how to do agsikka(ilokano) for uprooting those seedling without damaging or tearing apart the roots. Once you get a hang of it, it will be easy. I tried this a lot of times already and it's just so nice that I learned it at early age, now I can help them with regards to it.

It's just the two of us in the field then later on my lolo came to tie the seedlings per bundle. Each bundle of it costs 5 pesos already. Back then it only costs 3 pesos and I find it just right because the work in getting those rice seedlings is not a joke. I have high respect for those old ones who are still doing something like this and I hope you also respect them, they deserve it.

With those workloads in four days, my body gave up and I fell sick. I had body pains and a fever that's why I can't formulate any topics for the past days. My hands were full plus I was sick and I was supposed to be resting but I'm bored laying down on my bed so I checked my telegram then found out that a new dex will be launching so I joined the fun and also enjoyed the high apr of the dex. Smartdex is what I'm talking about. I will not tackle this one here but in my next article so stay tuned friends.

Anyway with all those happenings in my life, thanks God that I'm okay now. Just a little bit of tiredness. hehe . Still I can't move my body well now especially my hands and legs haha but all in all I feel a lot better now than yesterday. So that's it for today and again friends, Thank you for reading this far and see yah in my next articles.

Goodnight and sweet dreams. Don't forget to pray.

Lead image: I made it in Canva same with the image above.

Thanks a lot to my sponsors and to you generous readers.😊💚

Sponsors of Jher0122
empty
empty
empty

12
$ 11.96
$ 11.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 8
Avatar for Jher0122
2 years ago

Comments

Galing nmn! Soon with BCH you can buy a farmland for yourself.. Just joined the new smartdex, apr is really good but I'm lost when are we going to get the locked rewards.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ohoyyy, masyado mo sinisipagan bata. Pero ayos na ayos ginagawa mo, apaka sipag naman talaga ee. Hapit ka din sa crypto world ee, that's cool.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Niceeee. Tama ka, di natin alam kong kailan mag kaka food shortage dito sa atin. Kaya mabuti na yung handa. Anyways, syu ko pa nalaman yung bagong dex. Hahaha mabisita nga yun ngayon. Thanks.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ayus yan lods, nasubukan ko din lahat yan nuon dun sa leyte, sa aunte ko, nag enjoy nama ako, di rin kasi mainit sa bukid kasi malamig yung hangin while nag tratrabaho sa palayan.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

What a good mindset about owning a rice plantation. The way you work hard today it will sure payoff when you already reach your goals.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It remind me of my college hehe. From plowing to planting. But I think your late pa nga eh nauna na sila dito, buhay na mga tanim na palay ditosa cagayan. Goodluck and praying for more harvest.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ay nag actual planting din po kayo noon? ..nice.Talagang late napo kami nagtanim..medyo malalaki napo yung tanim ng mga katabi namin dito .. Same here po sana maganda ang harvest ..at sana tumaas nadin presyo ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow naman napaka Sipag na bata. Ganyan dapat kaso ako, natatakot ako minsan mag tanim ng palay kasi baka di mabuhay tanim ko HAHAHA

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe ...habang bata pa kailangan sulitin para di magsisi..kasi pag matanda na di na makakagalaw ng maayos.. Nagtanim din ako pero mabagal palang ..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very beautifully described Though I couldn't get few words but I understood what they meant bcoz my family background is also farming and we plant rice and wheat in their respective seasons. It's fun and ofc tiring to plant those saplings in main fields. Legs dipped in water till middle of the legs and planting them, all the time body is bent over. No doubt it took a toll on ur body. Get well soon and all the best.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We may get tired for planting and preparing the land but at the same time we can enjoy and have fun along the way... Thanks friend I'm better now..

$ 0.00
2 years ago