I satisfied my cravings partially with this...

5 26
Avatar for JessicaOssom
2 years ago

Marlene Leppanen

I decided to write from my kitchen, to be honest, though, I am not in my kitchen right now hehe.

For 2 days now, I've been craving a particular food, white boiled yam, separately soft boiled beans, and palm-oil stew. However, I've not been able to satisfy the craving, I came up with an idea this morning that would help satisfy the craving partially.

I was able to sleep to my satisfaction this morning as there was no need to wake up so early to get my son prepared for school, he is already observing the midterm break, I saw that he also enjoyed the sleep because we didn't wake up until it was past 10 am. He woke up and the first thing he said to me was "Mummy I want to eat".

Still thinking about what I would prepare for breakfast and how I was going to satisfy my craving, I decided to peel the leftover yam I had in the house so I would boil it with some salt and have my white boiled yam ready.

I mentioned earlier that I can up with an idea that would satisfy my craving partially. I used the word partially because there were no beans in the house. All I had available were yam, fresh tomatoes, and pepper, sachet tomato paste, smoked fish red oil, onion, Maggie, salt. There were no beans so what I did was to prepare yam and palm-oil stew.

I brought out the yam

I peeled the skin of the yam and made sure it was thoroughly clean ready to be boiled. After peeling off the skin, I went ahead to cut the yam into smaller shapes so it would sit well in the pot.

In this picture, I had completely peeled off the yam skin and was fetching water into the pot that I would use in boiling the yam.

This right here is the fresh tomatoes and pepper. I had to blend this because it was the main ingredient for the stew I prepared.

This is what the fresh tomato and pepper look like after it has been blended. If you look closely, you'll see that I didn't blend it to be perfectly smooth, I just love this consistency for any stew I prepare.

The rest of the ingredients are tomato paste, palm oil, Maggie, salt, onion, smoked fish.

Some minutes after putting the yam on fire, it became ready. The next thing I did after putting down the pot of yam, I took another smaller pot, turned the heat of the cooker to the lowest. I poured the palm oil into the pot after heating it for 2mins. After that, I immediately put in the chopped onions and the blended fresh tomatoes and pepper. Still, on low heat, I let that cook for about 10-15 minutes while stirring occasionally.

One needs to be careful with the volume of the heat and the time spent on the process of cooking the blended with fresh tomatoes and pepper. If the volume of the heat is too much, the mixture will get burnt before it is week cooked, and if one spends more than the necessary time, it could also make the stew get burned and that's not what we want.

When 10-15 minutes was over, I put in the tomato paste, stirred, and left it for about 3-5 minutes.

When the time was up, I poured a little quantity of water, added the salt and Maggi to taste, then I washed the smoked fish, shared it into smaller pieces, and poured it all in the pot. I left it to boil out for another 5 minutes then I brought it down. Finally, it was ready, white yam and stew.

I satisfied the craving partially, I and my son has that for breakfast and It was delicious. The stew tastes so good too, I may just enjoy a nice boiled pasta with it tomorrow.

Thanks for reading.

This article is first published here, same with my previous articles and it would be shared on my blog on hive.

17-02-2022βœ…

Sponsors of JessicaOssom
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.01 from @The-Engineer
Sponsors of JessicaOssom
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JessicaOssom
2 years ago

Comments

You are already making me crave for this delicious meal. I don't have any yam left and my plan is to go to the market after my last paper on Wednesday so I can have time to do other things. I will definitely eat yam and fried stew next week.

I believe you enjoyed this meal?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I did, and you should make sure to satisfy your craving too😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure, I will. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats sp good i think it is very tasty I will try it someday What did your kid think about it ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He loved, yeah, go ahead and try it, you will love it too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago