Beauty and Hardness of Wax Begonias

3 24
Avatar for JesseZee
2 years ago

My love for flowers is a lot; there is an infinity of flowers that I know and don't know. Today I want to share not only my admiration for BEGONIAS, but I also want to tell you why they are so special to me.

These beauties not only transmit joy but also security, by the way, they are very well-known hybrids, for their great resistance, the unequaled shades, and above all for their tolerance to the sun in very hot seasons.

Instagram by @na.breda + unique tones of the Begonias

There are more than 1800 species of begonia but today I want to focus on Wax Begonias. In the gardens where I live (Central America) the climates are warm most of the year and of course, the wax begonias love this climate.

Even more amazing is that their flowering season lasts all summer - IMPRESSIVE - and of course you can see the gardens so colorful of these flowers, from red, white, yellow, or pink shades, even in shades of purple and they smell so sweet. Its brightly colored leaves are oval in shape. The plant as a whole is vibrant green, but occasionally its leaves turn reddish or brownish.

Instagram by @jagibkek + its leaves are oval

As you may know, begonias don’t tolerate freezing climates, but they can adapt if kept indoors in winter. Another interesting fact is that they are quite tolerant to pests, although mealybugs and whiteflies are the pests they do not tolerate.

Today I am not going to give you a guide on how to grow begonias, although it is an excellent idea for later. STRENGTH is the main quality of these flowers.

Instagram by @soiledplantiez + They are perfect for tropical climates.

Why my admiration for them?

If you got it right, my greatest admiration for them is their strength. In spite of the great difficulties, they can go through, they are so resilient, and they bloom as a sign of gratitude, well, that's how I see it.

Instagram by @chiguru_paradise + I see myself reflected in them.

When I look at them, I think that this is the message that these beauties transmit to us: To be strong in the midst of the problems or difficulties that we may be going through. To flourish above all, to smile at life, and to be grateful. Absurd to think about it because I know that nothing is easy but we need to be stronger, today more than ever.

Finally, I present myself to you,

1
$ 0.06
$ 0.03 from @MizLhaine
$ 0.03 from @ARTicLEE
Avatar for JesseZee
2 years ago

Comments

Hello there, Jesse and welcome to this platform. Now I know that these are begonias, I saw some of these in my aunt's garden. From now on, I will not forget that these are begonias.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you liked my post. Researching the name Begonia means "dominant place on the hill" it seems to me that it is the exact name for this beautiful flower.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We do have these growing wildly in our yard before. I'm not sure if some survived after the fire.

$ 0.01
2 years ago