Tomatoes on a carton box

3 24
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

I have to learn to live with the feeling of having a lump on my throat for months now. Resulting from the heart illness, hopefully soon I will be able to cope. Can’t wait for that time to come.

Surprisingly while the weather has been very chaotic, extreme hotness and coldness, and yet my tomatoes thrives! Despite being boxed on a carton box, they are alive and harvesting. Though easily rot but the soil is intact for a while before it withers away. A way of disposing them properly I guess, recycle, making use of them to the fullest. And yet, the tomatoes thrive… I am happy that they survived despite all the conditions being exposed to.

I didn’t harvest the fruits because I was thinking of making them ripe first. Though they may have enjoyed the heavy rains but the hotness was something they didn’t enjoy. I noticed those that were near ripening, they were most harmed and damaged by the heat. They almost skipped ripening and goes immediately to rotting. Which was not good, if I was slow, then I won't be able to harvest them or pick them just at the right moment and not enjoy their taste. They tasted exceptionally good despite the conditions.

I can’t believe they bear with my caprices. The soil, all sand with almost no fertilizer except when we do tuna, it’ll be watered with fish bones. Without fish… hmmm, oh! I forgot I was able to spread some amount of coffee grounds on it just this year, and I am not sure it was enough. Urine too would have been some good source of fertilizer but I don’t collect. Now, I am thinking of collecting this too to encourage the orchids to flower. They are good source of organic fertilizer that encourages flower to bloom. Well, this is something I have learned from my grandma and was able to pass it down. Another are those egg shells, a good source of calcium.

Well, here I am overthinking that they were not fertilized but then again. They are well nourished I should say. My manure will not be arriving anytime soon because the bearer has no concrete plan on when to bring them. So for now, I am enjoying the fruits and hopefully to enjoy more! Ah!!! The salad just tastes better.

Thank u for the read, God bless.

November 16, 2022
Image: Pinterest

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Wow that's nice to know you planted the tomatoes, I haven't plant tomatoes before and wish to know how the plant is like

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The same a how you plant chili peppers or squash or bitter gourd. Directly or indirectly, cover the seeds and make sure to water regularly so it grows.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad that it was nourished well my friend. I love tomatoes. My mom and I it's our favorite. We love tomatoes a lot then rice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago