Rice: the new formula

5 34
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

Months ago, I have complained about how rice spoils easily these days. The rice that we used to cook before lasts for a day or even more, making us enjoy fried rice for breakfast. Sure to it, it was truly economical.

However, as the years went by agriculture developed some GMOs (Genetically Modified Organism) to address the growing needs as time changes. Like, atmospheric and weather conditions, the so-called “climate change” has drastically affected agricultural products as well as its impact on the economy.

Currently, a storm just passed by our city and the massive rain it brought with it caused landslides in the central mountainous area of our province, where it affected several homes “that were completely destroyed and buried underneath the landslide debris”. Well, this is just part of the many stories told during the passage of the storm. Unfortunately, many cities did experience floods, though expected but, this is just the aftermath of the storm. All knowingly that the drainage system either failed or just doesn’t work.

And another storm or tropical depression is expected. May or may not effect us directly but we are already affected by prices of commodities amidst the storm. Due to lack of supply? Because travel was halted due to storm and many more reasons related. And there isn’t really much we can do but, seat and wait for it to weather.

Then I discovered about rice. The rice formula that we have been so used to using since old times has drastically changed too. This is one of the reasons why rice is easily spoilt. Even with rice cooker usage, it's not as it used to be. The secret actually lies in how much water you put on the rice. Little did I know that the measurement has actually changed until I tried it myself and continued to do so. Even instructed my kids that the measurement has changed. Now I no longer complained but am enjoying the fruits of such discovery. Enjoying rice more than a day without getting spoiled and can save on gas too!

Oh! I was truly happy that I could continue to enjoy cooking rice and not have them spoiled anymore after the day ended. And this is where I came to appreciate GMO concepts implored in agricultural products. To suit more of our needs, lesser water usage, and resilience to current weather conditions at the same time economical. However, I am still not fully convinced since this may result to what was contained in the news “of the plastic rice” that many claimed to have eaten. Hopefully, it will never result to that. Thank u for reading.

November 03, 2022
Image: pinterest

10
$ 0.78
$ 0.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @annayks
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 1
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I noticed this too, that is why we chose to buy the locally produced rice called valencia rice from Valencia city, Bukidnon. Young chow and some other commercial rice are too soft when cooked and belive me, it taste different form the locally produced ones

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Formula 1 is best favorite games I follow daily.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love biryani in which the main ingredient is rice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am glad that you discover a new formula of a rice my friend. Rice is really important to us. Take care my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great to have discover the new formula, remembering the formal way of how things where been done is great

$ 0.00
1 year ago