Difference: Before and now...

15 41
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

Another month that ends… Starts with brand new beginnings and a very humbled one! Ahh! A blessing of good tidings and good fortune for my sponsors: @Telecharm, @IamJohn & @Wrinkle… and endearing health and wealth for your family. May the blessings from heaven open its doors for endless generosity and kindness, thank u so much for your undying support and friendship. I am not the kind who flaunts so much but this is appreciated, by my family thank u!

I love the passion that the new generation of boys and girls are showing. Their feistiness is undaunted. The idealism is relentless. Support system, hmmm, undoubting steadfast. But seemingly ungrounded! It's really good that they question almost everything in the world but for the lack of better judgment. Pampered? sheltered?

I really don’t know. I'm not sure how to go about it but… the age now is really different. Before, the elders throw it at us as “age gap”, I really don’t know what it is called these days but, I would definitely not agree it's “age gap” because it’s the same stages. Though different in the degree of satisfaction, pain, and tolerance, definitely…

Hmmm… like I was before, fighting for my independence! I shouted for FREEDOM at the age of 12, then, I was able to process papers on my own, enrolled myself for elementary and high school, and did a lot more mature chores that time. So much more of the menial task, preparing breakfast, lunch, and dinner, not for myself but for the entire family, 4 siblings, and parents, and hell, I can write a good reaction paper all in English minus grammarly! Lolz.  

Now, my 12-year-old screamed independence at the age of 10 but doesn’t know how to go buy groceries at that time and do breakfast on their own?! Plus, cannot navigate the city heights and lows! Cannot even process my discharge papers in the hospital because!!! And I got a cry from him requesting to do this “I’m a MINOR!” hahahaha! Wow! This is how he screams for independence and doesn’t have the foundation! This got me thinking. Sorry, I’m not really the kind of mom who ties you down on my skirt for the rest of your life! Freedom, sure! Take it, its yours! And yet the surviving skills is really zero! Hahaha! oh! Really this got me crying! What an irony! So, if I dump them somewhere, I really don’t know. Too sheltered?

Yeah! This is how I get a lot of growing adults these days! the screams on social media on the need to be recognized, with lots of identity crises along the way! Take note, sorry but reasoning skills are really quite flawed. I wouldn’t mind if reasoning skills was exceptionally good but, I’m sorry! Plus! They don’t accept mistakes? Like, what? Ungrounded! Then you get to question decency, morals, and etiquette. Whopps! Although, I cannot really take it that persons like Madonna posting on twitter or Instagram, is unimaginable. Im sorry, but gors should behave like gor and get to be gors gracefully instead of shaming the gors(elderly) society. Really, apologies for my fixations, its louder these days but… this is just how the young lose respect for the gor society. My apologies.

One of the reasons why I enrolled my kids on public schools was to train them in the hard life. Sharing bad books, getting to repair dilapidated books, and returning them almost half new as the school ends. Wear embarrassing uniforms and fetch water from the ground floor up to the 4th because that’s just how the public school is. Then use yucky CR because of lack of everything else. They’re boys, it's really important for me to give them a good view of the reality of our society. And they got used to this and still lack the training of real life, as mentioned above, making me think about where and what did I miss? Sheltered? They’re not. I left them alone on my weekend hospital escapade and they’re good.

On Philippine grounds. CAT and ROTC were already removed but what good will it do to our kids? Oh! A lot… I enumerate? Oh gosh! Wake up early in the morning to early shower, breakfast, prepare lunch baon, and go to school early. No shortcuts. Time management is at stake. Then has to fill out all the forms and has to face the gruesome strict teacher and be ready to be exposed to the heat of the sun because that is how soldiers are exposed. They will be trained to listen attentively, and learn to obey without question, -no buts and if, please! Importantly, develop their coping mechanism to counter adversary and toxic situations and be able to endure relentlessly! Not complain of the circumstance they’re in but develop resilience to preserver and cause change for adherence! This is how the current society is formed.

Our part was to endure the dictates of time. Holding it up together to form new propaganda so the young ones will not endure but celebrate the opportunity we’ve channeled. Opportunities for them to grow more in spirit and in mind, hoping for a brighter future for them. We don’t have these opportunities before when we still dream of this. Now, it’s a reality that the new generation is enjoying.  But at the expense of degeneration of morals, decency… because we worked hard for the opportunities to come true and failed to see through our children the guidance they need to grow.

Perhaps my generational failed so much in this aspect? Sad.

August 2, 2022
Image:pinterest

10
$ 1.26
$ 1.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @beyourself
$ 0.03 from @Aimure
+ 4
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Some things in the past are better than now like social relationships however technology is doing the reverse even separating all members of families each one in front of the telephone. Some people even continue to use it at dinner.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I experienced ROTC when I was first year college, It is really hard because we marched around the oval under the blazing heat of the sun. But, I learned of having discipline, and there always have a consequences in everything you do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, I'm glad you appreciated it. It strengthen you both physical, mental and emotional as well. Not just that, you grow as a person too! There are a lot of intrinsic benefits, it molds you as a person and shape your outlook in life, boost your coping mechanism to overcome the challenges it will present to you. Glad you took it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwww , real talk at it's best. Hope you can post it too in other social media accounts. hahaha. I was laughing at the same time feel sad for the gens of today ( ok! ok! not all of them) .I just remember my 12 year old niece who just went on vacay recently here in Pinas born and raise in NY and she was complaining about "child abuse" coz she was being taught of my cousin to wash the dishes! hahaha! i was laughing so hard i burst into tears. Simply because they are knowledgable now about the laws yet exactly as what you've said , dump them somewhere and they will definitely got lost and don't know how to survive.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You have my permission to repost on other social media. I am pretty lazy doing there, even at publish0x, i'm barely present there. While logging in to HIVE!!! Like OMG! so... never mind.

Now, I am actually the one screaming "domestic violence, violence against women and et al" (jokingly) to my son when he is about to slap my thigh - for a good laugh, I slapped his as we joke and he wants to rebound but that's what I scream back at him - jokingly. We laugh because it reminded him of how he screamed "I'm a minor" drama while I asked him to process my paper back then.

Wow! "Child abuse" for a simple chore, -dishwashing? Really? hahahaha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I congratulate you. You raise your children by teaching them about life and its challenges. this is very good. Many parents don't do this. He does whatever his children want and raises them without difficulty. so those kids don't know how to deal with a challenge

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh! Thank u, but I find your parents way of upbringing is sad. But I do hope they find their satisfaction in it despite. I am truly sorry though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry about this, my dear. I hope everything will be fine

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should give our kiddos basic learning to cope with challenges of life. I impressed from your Story how you struggle for freedom. It is totally admirable when you enrolled yourself for education.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, we all undergo those stages.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

sobranga na papmer nga ang mag kabataan ngyon isis, nadali sa freedom kuno . ang ingay nila ha, freedom daw, ganito , ganun.

Akalain mo ha elementary nanghihingi ng cellphones para makasabay sa uso, and not onthe online classes but bnaging reason lang yun para mabilhan ng mga parents tapos ang totoo sa laro lang nagpopokuys sila

elementary , gusto na mag boyfriend, nag lalaslas kapag naghihiwalay, may suicide pang nalalaman eh kahit underwears di marunong maglaba, pati pag hugas ng pingan umaayaw pa. Mabuti at nakita namin nag lahat ng yan sa mga pamangkin ng asawa ko kaya naging amingat kami sa mga anak namin sis

Im no that old pero nasilayan ko pa yung mga decency noon, and i like it better than what teeh melinilas are doing these days..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nakakaloka sila ha! The letter/message for Loren from her son! That was something I hardly thought to happen and it's a shame it happened. That actually got me thinking about this.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo grabe yun sis, kasi nag rerebelde k owing na nasa pulitika yung mama nya. Siguro na busy masyado kay di ana napagtuunan ng pansin. Tapos halos yaya nalang ang nakikita nila sa bahay siguro..

I even kept me wondering bakit nagka ganun ang anak? Bat sa kanila pumanih nung sa marcos naman yung una at saka kinsuklaman pa nya

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok lang sa akin sino kampihan. Yung asal. Ang lupit! I mean, to say such things against your mom! Pretty disgusting and like pinalaki naman ng maayos! My goodness, ang ganda ng tahanan nila! Tapos ganun! Sorry, pero, ungrateful b*****d! Ai, if ganun na inugali, as he was growing, pinatikim ko na kun ano talaga ang buhay PINAS! Nasa kalyi na sya! Para matuto! Malupit ako kun kailangan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha, I agree with you sis,, need kasi talaga nag disiplina sa mga bata habang maaga pa at di na hahantong sa ganung nangyari sa anak ni loren.

we canntot know sis, and canno judge kasi kahit maganda nag tahanan nila di naman yun assurance na nandun palaginang magulang, baka mga yaya lang at saka mula bata palang a spoiled na

$ 0.00
1 year ago