Covid 19 Stories – Vaccination

4 26
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

I don’t watch t.v.. Our t.v. has no antenna and I didn’t bother buying one. The only purpose of buying a t.v. is watching movies on weekends with my bogoys, 2 boys. So there is no way I’m updated with the latest news events, happenings even with COVID 19 updates, -its really out of reach for me.

Vaccinations

It was in the middle of the year that management initiated registry for covid 19 vaccination. Well, some agents already received messages for their appointment. I was stricken with envy because I’m still a nomad in the city and not a registered voter. At the time walk-in are accommodated since vaccination was not a very famous, it took a while before it gained attention and fame.

The 1st attempt on walk-in was when a friend invited me to go with him on a Monday where we exchange messages for updates. Then Monday came and it was a big disappointment because walk-ins by that time was already discouraged. The vaccination gained attention and fame in such a short notice.

Hesitations

I have my hesitations. Well, my preference is not vaccination. I am truly confident that we can get through Covid with none. I am only taking the strong advise our family doctor about FLU vaccine, -not to take it. And since Covid is similar to FLU but in the passage of time, a small voice inside me told me to proceed with caution. One of the hesitation was the vaccination type. If it was the binding one or the typically vaccine types. All the more, I didn’t research since there were a lot that is available and I don’t think I will have the privilege to choose.

So, when the company initiated the registry. I prayed first before proceeding, this is my inner voice saying “proceed with caution”. So praying was my way to get through vaccination. And it all went well for me, the registration and I was told to wait for the text message and wla, it came on 7/5/2021. And all the more, I was registered with PBB and vaccination they give was Pfizer. Oh! What a good timing. I had co-morbid that was asthma, so I was really worried of what kind of vax they will have for me.

Others may comment “what can a prayer do?”. Well, I cannot definitely blame them for their unbelief but hey! It guided me to take a vaccine I think suited me, because each day has different schedule of brands depending on availability.

1st & 2nd Dose

Comes the day, 1st doze, the usual. Coming in early while the line already looks exhausting. All finish by 1pm, took a day off.  2nd day, took 2 days off because I was expecting a surge of reaction. Well, good enough, not on the 1st week, experienced it a week after until September end. Allergies and asthma resurfaced and I was like an addict for my asthma/allergy tablets. Then October came, and not all was lost but my body had regained its composure.

I informed my sister, a nurse – local and US registered. She was worried over me going for the vax. She told me to update her always on the progress since she was aware of someone who took the vax with co-morbidity like mine and was rushed to ER due to breathlessness. It wasn’t a baseless worried and I’m glad all the prayers worth it.

Benefits

Benefits? Vaccination card. I was excited to receive my vaccination card with the ID# on it. To think I got lucky with only few adjustments at hand. Despite my hesitations, I’m glad I prayed and listened to my inner voice. The vaccination card comes with some perks. One is an entry for registration for minor’s vaccination which I am registering my kuya as he just turned 12. Then another is discounts on gas, food and I’m not sure of some. Dining in is another since there are really restaurants who asks for the vaccination card. Hopefully, it will give us a lot of allowances and exemptions during contact tracing and some more perks down the road.

Oh! I really have to register myself to vote. I really wish I have time. Thank u and God bless. *Lead image by Unsplash

4
$ 1.42
$ 1.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @rebeysa85
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Well hellow there I am one of the fully vacinated person. And i think i have this last august when its free heheheh at least i can have a percentage of safety right. Its for our own safety, other issues might not be true so that many are still not be able ro get vaccinated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well hello there too! It was announce yesterday, kids can be brought going in and out churches as long as I can present my vax card, and SM/Ayala malls here in Cebu also allows. So, its nice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I get myself vaccinated because I want to atleast contribute in mitigating the virus. I want to protect myself and my family. I mean having free vaccines in your community is a privilege, why not grab the chance? Right? After all, it's for our sake tho. ❤❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really depends on your willingness... I even teased my boys, I'm fully vaccinated and I will turn into a zombie after two years! And my kuya told me, dont worry mami, we wont let go off, will tie you down and feed you! hahaha! oh! How my boys love me?!

$ 0.00
2 years ago