A Fun Review

2 15
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

The sun is shining hot today and the air conditioning equipment here in the office is not working so we are bearing the heat. While my eyes are tired all throughout the night, my mind has lingered on the thought on what I’ve read for the whole 3 days, feasting on a novel of teenage romance. Omg, at my age! Well, can’t blame me! I currently have no resources and searching the net for books at home is somehow tiresome and like I mention, I still don’t have the gadgets. Oh please bear with me! I will move on to serious writings when everything is ready, aw! I know this will be a bit kinky but let’s be kinky anyway, hahaha!

Title: When a Tomboy Falls in Love

By:Jasmine(Novela)

Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty

Teenage setting, rich dudes, not exactly the spoiled ones but rather independent ones. She is at junior high, high-spirited introvert who doesn’t believe in dwelling on people’s perception on the world. She has her own world and doesn’t like to be subjected otherwise. She looks like a beggar and more of a nerd, doesn’t like to play dress and make-up, hence a tomboy? Or merely just plain and simple. Or more of not wanting to attract unnecessary attention because her beauty alone has and rejected every boy that came her way with the intent. But changes as she met a boy and for the 1st time in her life she became a girl. Lucky to have a maid who walked with her journey and introduced her to whole new world beyond the 4 corners of her room. -But she was working as a waitress and prefers to spend her money than her family’s, she definitely has a life afar from those dependent sons and daughters of the rich and famous. With her maid, she finds an adventure never before dealt with. Tries new outfit as her maid tells her too, liking to experience something new and even got herself a boyfriend –rich kid not totally the usual but loves the convenience of money.

Review

Oh no! I loved the twist of the narrative because the plot is nearly and rarely presented like this. Like Jasmin of Aladdin went off the streets of Alibaba because she was sick of being told by the King of what to do. Here, she just wanted to be ordinary. She was enjoying the whole lot but was independent as she was working even if she could afford and daughter of the 2nd most riches man on the house. She met a girl, her maid and made friends. She was finally having a life of a teenage girl for the 1st time, having friends not just the maid, her 1st time to drink, party and love around her circle of friends. A turning point in teenage life where everyone gets to make a choice. It was nice.

My Take

Its not a perfectly written novel but it certainly has character. I’ve thought, why would a plot be always like “rich and famous”, -all too frequently used plot for a novel. But I particularly love the idea that a rich girl trying to make her own identity, not rebelliously but rather independently, rejecting the materialistic world she lived in. One part of the novel gave me an awe was when the writer presented a dilemma over “losing self-respect” or “love for her man”? And she has a choice and considering it well. We all have something for firsts and its not that very enticing all at once but its something we can hold dear. Because it helps us grow. Many will say, it changes us? But really? True, we all pass thru the stage where we try something new but not necessarily changes us. True indeed. We are given the choice to make and it is ours to behold and it all depends on the current priorities in life. Ah, life's choices, we all have to make that augments turning points on our lives.

Yes, we all get to grow up every time we choose to. Thank u for staying with me! ‘til the next read, God bless.

November 6, 2021

*Image by Unsplash

5
$ 4.42
$ 4.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @rebeysa85
$ 0.02 from @Lovelyfaith
+ 1
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

You made me remember the time when I was searching for my own identity, I was a town boy myself, and sometimes I tried to dress up girly to get attention from boys and to please what society expected of me, a girl. But then came a time when I realized that it was not me, and I had to be true to myself, so I found a middle point between town boy and girly.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with that

$ 0.01
2 years ago