Wearing black

30 57
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Do you think that the color of clothes should be associated with feelings?

I don't think so. And that’s something I told my cousin who was free to comment in an informal conversation that I don't wearing black, "so I feel well" and mourning over my father’s death was still going on. I felt bad. I immediately started writing this article to share with you my impression of disappointment. Are we going to measure someone's grief by the color of clothes?

I never chose clothes according to my mood. Many times I wore white when I was not happy, and black when I was the happiest in the world.

Although it is considered a kind of obligation and respect to wear black at a funeral, I have never been able to accept this rule. We don’t have to wear black to show others that we are in mourning. Black may be more reminiscent of grief than white, but white will not help you feel good in moments when the world is falling apart. Grief is inside, the appearance is changeable.

They say we wear red when we look forward to something, yellow and white when we are happy, black when we are sad. Maybe the colors can really affect the mood, but I don't think it can be related to the clothes.

Clothing is a personal choice of each individual in accordance with the style and comfort they want to feel in everyday life. Clothes make us feel comfortable. Then why do we sometimes refuse to feel comfortable in our clothes? Why do we allow clothes to wear us instead of us wearing clothes? To make others guess how we feel. No, that's the wrong decision.

I like to wear black but not to show others how sad I am. For me, there are no sad and happy colors. The colors are colorful, and the feelings are hard to understand if we only look at the surface.

Thank you very much for reading.

Article is original and mine.

Lead image is from unsplash.com.

15
$ 2.18
$ 1.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 5
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty

Comments

All colors are beautiful, well I never knew most colors has different meanings, though I know about red and black... I often wear black and I don't like having a white dress coz am not good at maintaining them lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wear black every day. I'm not mourning, it's just... almost every shirt I own is black. I look slimmer in them. That's why.

But yeah.. customs and traditions may feel so outdated and nonsensical sometimes. In the end, it boils down to personal preference and convenience.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. I also often wear black but don’t associate it with my feelings. I feel good in black clothes. And like you say, I look slimmer. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha yep. you can't go wrong with black (normally..)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most people say they choose their clothing based on how they feel bit for me I wear the same kind of clothing everyday. All my shirts are check shirts with colour blue and my trousers black or blue.... basically the same style everyday.

It's something called choice. I also don't believe in wearing Blacks at funerals, not wearing black is not an evidence that you're not mourning the dead.. unfortunately the world is messed up and everything has to be a certain way without caring about others' opinion.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Clothes are a choice, just like you said. I think everyone should choose clothes in which they feel comfortable. Black is a color like any other, although many consider it the color of sadness. I don't think so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The color of mourning in China is white. Don't mind what your cousin says, Jeka, tell him the Chinese wear white :) Such traditions are what people often make excuses for complaining. I am experiencing similar things here. I lost my father 20 days ago. For example, when a relative loses, TV is not watched. What? Why? This is ridiculous. After I buried my father, I came home and turned on the TV. I have to be busy with something. So don't mind what people say.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

People also don't watch TV or listen to music when someone dies here in Serbia. But I also immediately watched TV when my father died and I listened to music, music helped me a lot. We have to think of something to make it a little easier, I agree with you. Yes, you're right for China, I know that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree so much to you. I was enlighten 'bout the colors of clothes and feelings stuffs, thank you.

I kind off feel bad too about your cousin's mistaken "belief" about the colors of clothes we are wearing especially in a funeral and other occasions.

Also I might as well make or add some indication such these in my future fictions for some expression.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see people walking around wearing always dark clothes... people should try more, colors have their own vibrations that's why some people are attracted more to some colors or others. I have my favorites too, I don't use much black, maybe more in sport clothes combined with other items like sport shoes fuchsia to get a contrast. Black is the absence of color and white is the addition of all the colors, I remember that from school when we learned also about complementaries and so on... Very interesting the world of colors!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right, the world of colors is very interesting. I love black, but I love all the colors too. Life is colorful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I agree with you my friend... Clothes don't usually reflect what someone is thinking or anything like that ...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, clothes are just the appearance, and the feelings are in us. I do not choose clothes according to my thoughts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ,I agree as long as you are comfortable wearing that clothes,it does'nt matter how color it ,and I really love wearing black coz it makes me look not so fat😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, you are right my friend. We always look handsome in black clothes. 😀I like black clothes, but my skin is very white, so I like to wear black after summer vacation. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True friend. Color clothes is not the basis of what we feel. It's just a cloth and we need it everyday. It's one of the needs in daily life because we must wear something.

I always wearing black too friend. It's my favorite color but it's not mean that if I'm wearing black always I'm sad. It's not true. We should not judge the people base on the color what they wear. We have a differences, it's one of them what are the colors we love.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are absolutely right my friend. Many times I wore black when I was very happy, because I think it looks good on me. One should never judge one's feelings about the color of clothes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes my friend indeed. The color of what we wear is not define with our emotions. If we are happy we can wear what we want. Color is not the basis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never thought of associating the color of clothes to my mood. I just wear whatever I want and what I feel like. Same here, I love black clothes too. My clothes are usually neutral colors, black, white, shades of brown. I love 'em.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I also wear everything that makes me feel comfortable and I don't think about whether my mood matches the color of my clothes. The most important thing is to feel comfortable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have my opinion that colors really effect on your life, some colors are pleasant to your eyes and some are not, human mind is very complicated the peace of human mind is also associated with things what eyes of a person see.. You should always wear your favorite colors to make your mind more comfortable.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I agree with you that colors can really affect our behavior and thoughts, but I do not associate mood with the color of clothes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My favourite colour was, is and will be black. Damn, this single colour suits you in every way. You are right, colour has no division. No sad, no happy colours.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I also like to wear black, especially after the summer holidays when my skin is not so white 😊, and I never associate the colors of my clothes with my feelings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Choosing colors to wear might serve as well your mood. I can say that according to your mood if you like happy colors or dark colors its all matter to your mood not the feelings or emotion.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, you are right. Emotions are deep inside us, they cannot be represented by the color of clothes, and mood is something else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you. Unfortunately we live in a society of perverse judges. When my mother died I never wore black. My heart was that color but my clothes had nothing to do with my grief.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, our clothes has nothing to do with our grief. It would be nice if we could change our feelings with clothes, but that is impossible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely right, what we felt inside is unchangeable even if we wear those clothes. My deepest sympathy to your father's death. We can't measure the grief of someone by what color of clothes they are wearing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Yes, that's true. Grief cannot be measured by the color of clothes. It is just appearance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago