Trembling on the bus - ticket inspection phobia

21 42
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

In my country, there is one specific type of phobia among people. This is something that I would describe as a phenomenon or perhaps just a lack of a established standards of behavior in public transport. Serbian people are not very interested in buying tickets for public transport. Everything is so expensive and salaries are so low, that buying those tickets became a luxury. A public transport ticket is something that is probably the last thing on the shopping list for many people. The consumer basket doesn't recognize it as a necessity. In my country, many people like to avoid paying obligations, whenever it is possible, even though they put themselves at risk.

Having a valid ticket in public transport is something normal and common. Something that should not be discussed. But not in my country. In Serbia, "no ticket" is the most popular law-breaking. On the other hand, it has a great impact on people's mental health.

Transport ticket system in my country is very simple. It is called "Bus plus" and it is based on technology with electronic contactless smart cards for paying via validators.

The card validation device is an electronic reader. It is used to verify, control and charge for driving and it identifies valid and invalid cards, by simply presenting your bus plus card to the validator.

The rules are also simple. A passenger is obligated to show a valid card at the inspector's request. If the passenger doesn't have a valid card, he/she must show identification document and will be required to pay a fine. If the passenger refuse to do that, ticket inspector will seek assistance of police officers.

The ticket inspectors get on randomly selected buses at random bus stops and you never know if they will get on the bus where you are, to check the tickets. When that happens, several scenarios can be seen.

1. scenario: Getting out

When the ticket inspector gets on the bus, people suddenly start to get out and there is so much crowd that they can barely get through the door. They push each other, go over each other. It is very difficult to get out in this situation. It is a hard struggle. And after that struggle, the bus is empty and it looks like this. 😊

2. scenario: Running away inside the bus

In this case, people start running from one point to another in order to avoid the ticket inspectors. It is something like playing a strategy game.

3. scenario: Showing invalid ticket

It is not a smart desicion. This leads to a bigger problem. You start pretending that you didn't know it was invalid and that story usually doesn't work.

4. scenario: Speaking in English

You can pretend to be a tourist, but if you decide to do that, you need to have good acting skills and to be fluent in English.

5. scenario: Refuse to show identity document

If you don't have a ticket/card you need to provide your personal information and show identity document. People sometimes say that they don't have ID document right now, but it is not a good option. I did that once. Then, they asked me about my personal data and I had to tell them, so anyway I got my fine and I had to pay a certain amount. Since then, I have never been without a valid card again.

6. scenario: Provide incorrect personal data

The worst option, unless you are a professional liar. 😊 When they find out that the data is incorrect, you will pay more.

There are many more possible scenarios, but these are the most common. In my opinion, having a valid card is a must. It will save your nerves. It's very uncomfortable when you are trembling with fear, from the bus stop to the bus stop, while you are hoping that the ticket inspector will not get on the bus. These situations are not tips and tricks to avoid paying tickets in Serbian buses. 😊 These situations have very bad effects on people's mental health. They are stressful and I think that they become a specific type of phobia, that disrupts normal life.

Are there such situations in public transport in your country?

Thank you very much for reading. I would like to thank a lot my new sponsor @Jehoshaphat for supporting me.

Article and photos are original and mine.

Best regards to all readers and writers.

17
$ 7.06
$ 6.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Musician
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 10
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

just like a movie scenario that can make people laugh. expensive ticket effect

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha yes, you're right, it is like a movie. Drama with comic elementsπŸ˜€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here you must pay when you get on the bus, or the driver will make you get off. But what you tell remains me when I was young, I spent a few months studying in a village in the south of France. I always had to go to a neighboring town by train, less than 5 minutes away, and nobody bought a ticket between those two stations. And when an inspector would get on by bad luck, people would start walking back and forth to avoid him, hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh then you now what I am talking about, you had a chance to experience that moment. πŸ˜€ I see in the comments that the same system is applied in other countries as in your country. It is better. Maybe we will have such a system in the future. Now we have this lottery system. πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here we have to get a ticket or show a valid ticket to the bus driver before we can get on the bus! I can imagine everyone running when they see an inspector!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is a better organized system in your country. It would not work here. People are different. The standard of living is different. People would find a way here to get on the bus somehow so that the driver could not see them. πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe there is only one door and you have to go past the driver to get on the bus. The trains are a different story and there people do run from the inspector 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never seen an inspector in our city trains, so we don't even have to run there. πŸ˜€ It's safe. πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe funny how it is the opposites for us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a very interesting app. In my country the card reader is at the front door and the bus driver sees you swiping your card. Passengers who have to get on the back door because the bus is full send their cards to the card reader through other passengers. And the card returns to its owner in the same way from hand to hand. People entering through the back door send their cards to the reader machine in this way without anyone needing to warn them. Of course, there may be some who do not do this from time to time. This is left to the conscience of the people. In our country, buses are operated by municipalities, that is, they are state enterprises. We have the following understanding. State property should not be stolen because everyone has a right. This is a great sin. (There may be people who do this, of course)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have a more organized system and people's consciousness is at a higher level. People in my country are not so responsible when it comes to public transport. State property should not be stolen but sometimes the state is stealing from us. Thank you for detailed explanation about system in your country, I found it interesting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks like a lot of drama. The stress involved in hiding is less than that involved in buying a ticket.. lol. πŸ˜ƒ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh yes a lot of drama, total madness πŸ˜€ It is stressful anyway. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you do the same thing? Running from here to there?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Luci thanks a lot for sponsorship! ❀️ I have to admit that I did the same. But since I paid the fine, I don't do that anymore. πŸ˜€ I always have a valid ticket.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is quite hilarious, really? In my country Nigeria, the transport system is nothing like this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes it is. It is always a party. πŸ˜€ I am glad that you have a different system.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This so funny, I never knew things like this happen in Serbia. Well the best things is to do what is right all the time. It pays rather from running from the bus inspector.

In my country the transport system is also kinda fun. I will write an article about it soon.

I appreciate the tag Jelena. Thank you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad that I inspired you and that you will also write about this topic. I can't wait to read your article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the first time I have such a phobia. I also have a phobia of heights.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Actually this is not a phobia. It was figurative expression. But it is fear and uncomfortable feeling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago