Powerful oregano - health benefits

10 49
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Nature, Oregano, Herbs, Health

Life is too short to ignore the fact that living in harmony with nature can extend it a little or at least make it better. Nature gives us a lot if we want to take it. Many powerful herbs can help us feel stronger and healthier. But we must be open to nature while preserving it at the same time.

During my recent stay in Greece, I visited an open market where nuns from Mount Athos were selling dried oregano that they grow. The whole street smelled of this powerful plant that we usually use when we make pizza, but it actually has a lot of beneficial effects. Greek oregano is considered to be one of the healthiest and best varieties of oregano in the entire world because it has high concentrations of carvacrol and thymol - which have powerful antioxidant and anti-cancer effects.

I bought a pack of oregano and took it home. Now my whole apartment smells of it and reminds me of days spent on vacation.

When I talked to the nuns about oregano, I found out that it is really powerful and can contribute a lot to our health. It is much more than pizza spice as we often think. The ancient Greeks cultivated oregano for its numerous medicinal effects and used it in religious ceremonies and it was the main spice in dishes for thousands of years, until today. Even Hippocrates highly valued the medicinal effects of oregano. He knew how powerful this plant is. Today it is known that Hippocrates was right because it has been scientifically proven that oregano has antibiotic and antioxidant effects.

Some of the many healing effects of this plant are:

Strengthening immunity

Oregano has an antioxidant effect, which means that it reduces oxidative stress, which is the main cause of many diseases such as diabetes, obesity, cardiovascular diseases, and cancer. Therefore, adding oregano (or its oil) to your diet can improve your overall immune status and protect your body from disease.

Detoxification of the body

Oregano is very rich in nutrients. With a high content of iron, calcium, vitamin K, and fiber, oregano is an ideal herb for detoxifying the body. Certain studies have shown that oregano can improve liver function and speed up the process of eliminating toxins.

Antibacterial effects

Oregano has a direct antibacterial effect and protects the body from many bacteria that can infect our body. Oregano accelerates metabolism, which results in faster recovery from common illnesses.

In addition to these beneficial effects, oregano has many others, such as facilitating digestion, improving heart function, etc. I can say that oregano is a green guardian of our health, so don't hesitate to use it.

Thank you very much for reading.

The image and the article are original and mine.

Greetings!

Jelena

11
$ 0.34
$ 0.10 from @Gemstone
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @moonlight22
+ 5
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Nature, Oregano, Herbs, Health

Comments

Love the scent... and as all the spices and herbs it has many benefits, I heard that dry oregano also good for eyes, so many and many to be discovered maybe. Good, here you are again.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mi madre en estos días tenia un exceso de tos, mi abuela le preparo un té de óregano que le recomendaron y listo, santo remedio, lo recomiendo para la tos.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I was thinking if that oregano was different here in myn country?🤔 Because I don't remember what we here is edible

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I don't know if oregano is grown in your country. Is it available in stores? We most often use it as a spice for pizza.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I will look for oregano oil next time :) Thanks for the info, dear Jelena. I hope you are doing well :) Glad to hear from you!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hey I am happy to see you! 😊 How are you? Oregano is great, and the oil is especially healthy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am happy to see you too, dear Jelie! I am doing great, thanks. My partner finally has a job and I am waiting for mine :D Yeah, I like Oregano now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oregano, specifically oregano oil, can also be used as an efficient mosquito repellant. It is already scientifically proven through research. Anyway. Those benefits stated are amazing! Truly, there are plenty of wonders behind the figure of plants.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Plenty of wonders, I agree. I didn't know about mosquitoes, that's great because mosquitoes really annoy me. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is really a great one, and I hope to see and have this in our country. Since most of us here are eating food full of fats, Oregano is a big help for any heart functions and digesting the food.

$ 0.01
1 year ago