It's hard to be a man on Valentine's Day

24 68
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Hello dear readers. First of all, happy Valentine's Day. ❤️

Observing a men in my environment, I came to a conclusion. It's really not easy for them today. Valentine's Day is a holiday that imposes an obligation. It's nice to see all those red hearts, roses, sweets and wisely designed gifts that attract people who are in love to choose them and impress their valentines, but behind all that lies an obligation and a bunch of questions. What to buy? Where to go? What to do?

Although I am a woman, I am aware of how complicated women are. If you give them too much, they will probably think something is wrong. If you give them too little, they will be dissatisfied. They have tendency to compare themselves with others, and in fact they are only eager for affection. If there is no lack of affection, you will not need all those red hearts and gifts.

When you find yourself in a situation where you have to measure and quantify your love with a gift, it is not easy at all. And on this day, a man is expected to buy the right gift. When I say right, I mean the one that will impress a woman. Of course, buying gifts is mutual, but I think that more is expected of a man.

I don’t really want to be a party pooper, but my brain encounters a lot of illogicality when it comes to this day.

Why buy a gift? To prove love? To be kind? To impress?

If you have a need to prove love, then something is wrong. I think it is a lack of confidence and to think that it can be compensated by some attractive gift is a delusion. Love cannot be proven. Love is felt. I’ve never had the need to say “I love you,” not because I’m a cold person, but because love is simply felt, needless to say. And you can see these words on almost every gift, which is nonsense.

Some men will buy a gift because they are kind and do not want their girlfriends / wives to feel less worthy than those who received a gift from their partners. This is where human complexes come to the fore.

Some men buy a gift to impress, and this intention can give them a headache. How to impress someone with material things to whom you feel such a beautiful emotion as love? That is very difficult. If you buy a cheap gift, they will say you didn't try hard enough or you don't care and you are not creative and inspired. If you buy an expensive gift, again all of the above can be. The same goes for choosing a place to go with your loved one. Everything should be special and you are afraid that you will not meet expectations.

It's complicated. This day is complicated, but in fact very simple. If you have someone you love by your side, that's enough. It is not my intention to diminish the significance of Valentine's Day. On the contrary, it is nice to emphasize love as the most beautiful feeling that moves us in life. But if you love someone, give love every day, with an open heart, selflessly, because every day is a day of love.

Thank you very much for reading.

Article is original and mine. Lead image is from unsplash.com.

Enjoy the love!

14
$ 3.29
$ 2.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @sj0820
+ 10
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Solitude is very good for days like this. I don't have to buy gifts :) joke joke... It used to be very difficult for me to be alone on days like these. I'm over that now. When I see couples entwined on Valentine's Day, I am happy for them. I even steal a bit of their happiness because I can really feel the energy between them. I can be a love thief :) In the past, when I was buying gifts for my girlfriend on special occasions, my goal was to make her happy. I think this is a sufficient purpose. Happy Valentine's Day, Jeka. Happy and peaceful Valentine's Days with your family forever...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot. I also wish you a happy Valentine's Day and to soon find a person who will be your best companion every day and not just when love day is celebrated because love should be celebrated every day. All the best Erdo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Merci beaucoup my dear friend for good words

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hey dear @Jelena It happens to me. But today let's say that we will celebrate the day of love in family, because it is a love that is not talked about. Today I will cook for my wife and my two-year-old son. I will make a special meal that I know she loves and my little boy loves too. I wish you a happy valentine's day. Greetings!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Bravo Oswaldo. It is a really beautiful gift, such little things make life more beautiful. You're a good husband and dad. 😊 Happy Valentine's Day too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah choosing for a gift is really hard but I guess if a man knows his woman well he knows what was the perfect gift

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I agree with you. It’s hard for those who still don’t know their girlfriends well and want to impress them. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Choosing gifts or where to go out, is one of the hardest things for men. But I believe that the partner should know what his partner likes and what makes him happy and then he will know how to choose the right gift

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, when people know each other, everything is easy. Gifts don't matter to me. More important is the love we need to have every day and not just today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel like a man struggling to find true love. maybe this is a suitable topic for me but the truth is i'm still single. lol..thank you beautiful mommy for giving me a topic that has pricked me this valentine's day.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You will find true love, don't worry. Love will come just in time. I am glad you like the topic. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think valentine is about both partner exchanging gifts but the females have turned it to them alone receiving gifts

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It also seems to me that men are more expected to do something special on Valentine's Day, but it shouldn't be like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to receive gifts on this day but I also like to give them. That is why on this day of love and friendship I give you a heart full of hope for the future. I don't expect to receive gifts from a man but I will give them. Happy day friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You always have wonderful words. Thank you so much. I also wish you a happy this day and lots of love every day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen, my dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, well, well. Speaking about men & their choice zone is tough. You nailed it dear.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I had a situation with my male friend whose wife was not happy with the gift, so it inspired me to write about this topic. 😊 If I were a man, that would annoy me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes maybe, I see that from a woman perspective, but it could be... Although this day can be hard for everyone who feels alone...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I’m not a fan of this day because it forces people to buy gifts and excludes those who are alone and that shouldn’t be the case.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it seems you have an obligation not something natural just because you really want, I agree...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its actually hard that's true, but most ladies think valentine is only meant for them but it actually wrong... Lol I don't have any partner but I would have loved to give my sis a gift but things didn't go as planned

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you give a gift to your sis soon. And that you will find your love and enjoy love every day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago