Evening walk along Knez Mihailova Street

32 62
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Good evening dear readers. I invite you to walk with me tonight along the main street of my city. If you continue to read this article, I will consider that you have come with me. So let's go.

I live in Belgrade, the capital of Serbia, and the main and most famous street in Belgrade is Knez Mihailova Street. I love my city because it is a city of freedom. No matter what you look like and whatever you do while walking down Knez Mihalilova Street, no one will look at you strangely because there is enough space for everyone to express themselves freely. The spirit of Belgrade is hard to describe because you have to experience it, but I will try to convey it to you.

Knez Mihailova Street is a pedestrian zone with impressive architecture and old buildings that have preserved their authentic and recognizable style.

The street starts in the Republic Square, the most known square and meeting point in Belgrade and it is known by sculpture of Prince Mihailo Obrenovic, riding a horse.

We often use the phrase "Let's meet at the horse". There is an interesting legend about this monument. Legend tells that sculptor who made it, committed suicide because of a mistake - he forgot to show Prince Mihailo with a hat.

Currently, there is a skating rink on the Republic Square, where visitors can enjoy great music and skating. It's cold but it doesn't matter. Belgrade people love skating.

I said it doesnโ€™t matter if itโ€™s cold because there are a lot of ways to keep you warm. You can buy mulled wine here.

You will be warm after the first sip. You can also buy roasted chestnuts. It is a great way to warm your hands and you will also enjoy their specific taste.

You can buy "Belgrade chimney cake". Itโ€™s kind of a sweet pastry. Or you can have coffee or tea.

The National Theatre is located on the Republic Square, the place of my fond memories. During my student days, there was no play that I did not watch here. I still like to go to the theater, but unfortunately I often don't have enough time.

In the middle of Knez Mihailova Street there is a drinking fountain. When I was a kid during a walk with my parents, I could hardly wait to get to this place because I was always thirsty. Some moments in life are never forgotten.

There are a lot of branded shops in Knez Mihailova Street for those who like shopping. Street sellers sell toys and balloons for children at every step, so you will need money if you are walking with a child.

The street also has an artistic spirit. There are a lot of good artists who make a mark on this place. There are a lot of musicians, students who play and make money that way. My son always likes to give them money as a way of gratitude and a reward for their work. He respects art, as I do.

There are also many painters who sell their pictures, mostly with Belgrade motifs.

If you want to relax and sit in a cafe to have a drink, you can do it every step of the way. Cafes are always full of people, the mood is good and people sit outside even when it is cold.

There are many stories and secrets that this street hides. Lots of steps. Lots of smiles. I hope you will have the opportunity to experience it.

Thanks for walking with me.

Article and photos are original and mine.

Greetings to all of you.

17
$ 3.65
$ 3.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 9
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I like the look of the environment- in the picture in third frame.. it's beautiful. .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad you like it. My city is a place worth visiting. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely walk... thanks for sharing that nice area and all those little details of how normal life is lived there going and coming back through this street.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's what I wanted to achieve, thank you. I wanted people to experience the spirit of my city while reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enjoyed my walk with you. City looks so colourful

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad you enjoyed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoy this tour Jelena, I imagine myself really walking there hihi. But the story behind that monument is so tragic

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad you enjoyed. Yes, it's a tragic story but it's a legend, let's hope it's not true. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love your place! It's stressfree walking in such a kind of place. Thanks for sharing that with us :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you like my place. You are welcome to visit us. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey Jelena, that was a wonderful article! I feel like I was just there walking along with you while reading this! So awesome place, I really hope I could travel internationally in the future. I would surely visit their if given the chance, but for now, your article will do. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am so glad that you had impression like you really walked with me. I hope you will have opportunity to visit us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks Jelena!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a beautiful street, love that street food.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's really nice. My son also likes street food. When we were walking yesterday, he ate chestnuts, donuts, popcorn... ๐Ÿ˜€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You didnโ€™t see but I was there. Just behind you but we were stranger then.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I would recognize you even though we are strangers. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love how clean the streets you walked. Thanks for touring us ;))

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome. ๐Ÿ˜Š This street is clean because it is the main one. Unfortunately, some streets are not so clean.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I was walking down that street and waiting for you on the horse.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I would love that too. It would be so nice if I could see you and talk a little with you. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is such a beautiful place! I wish I could visit Serbia one day :) I enjoyed the walk, my dear!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I would also like you to visit Serbia and be my guest!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, thanks for the tour Jelena! Your place was so amazing and that's only a street?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it's a main street of my city. Pedestrian zone, just for walking. I am glad you like it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And it is only street, how much more the main city?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's only street. The city is big and there are many more beautiful streets and places worth visiting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh I enjoy being with you jelena. Hehe seems like we've done it in reality. You were just my tourist guide at the same time companion while walking in the street. Thank you jelena!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you had that impression. It would be nice to really make that happen one day. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Where you came from Jelena? You're place is really beautiful. Indeed it's really awesome. The street is amazing. I love it friend. I felt the enjoyment and happiness. It's similar in our country during nights.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am from Belgrade. It is the capital of Serbia. It is a very nice city and there are many beautiful places worth visiting. I'm glad you like it my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow Serbia! A wonderful place. Yes my friend it's really beautiful.โค๏ธ

$ 0.01
2 years ago