Are you sitting in silence?

16 38
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
1 year ago

The sound of the bus engine, the crumpling of the chocolate wrapper, the screaming of a child, the monotonous sound of a speech machine, conversations, different voices, background music from the driver's cab, the sound of a siren... Noise. When I got off the bus, I heard the noise again, voices, music from local cafes, people moving and meeting. And there in the distance, two people were arguing while one lady was pulling a chair towards herself to sit down. The chair creaked. The child was blowing the whistle. And I found myself exhausted.

Noise is good but when it comes with cash. πŸ˜€

Otherwise, noise has many negative effects. It stimulates the brain too much and is often the cause of negative feelings such as nervousness and anxiety. Sometimes we do not hear many sounds because they are constantly present but they could hurt our brain cells that can never rest from constant stimulation. That is why we have to sit in silence from time to time. Silence will repair the damage caused by noise. Silence opens the eyes and awakens all the senses that are blocked by noise. In silence, we are completely honest and open to ourselves. I like sitting in silence by the river.

I hear the murmur of water there, the sound of the wind, the chirping of birds, my breathing, my thoughts.

Since we open our eyes in the morning we overwhelm ourselves with sounds. We turn on the TV, listen to music, talk as if we are afraid that silence will make us lonely. But the silence brings us back to ourselves. Where silence reigns, where you are alone, you will hear yourself and all your dilemmas, thoughts, fear, anger, sadness, happiness... It is a moment of deep connection with ourselves and understanding of everything that is happening and it leads to calming down and finding solutions. In silence, the brain spontaneously focuses and the mind wanders from one thought to another.

It is rare for us to be awake without being affected by a device. Our eyes are fixed on the screens. Get rid of everything for a moment. Turn down the noise.

I know that silence is the most beautiful gift I can give myself. I know I need myself, not just others.

And what about you? Are you sitting in silence?

Thank you very much for reading.

The article and the image are original and mine.

15
$ 2.63
$ 2.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 9
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I must say you have a beautiful writing style. I enjoyed reading this. I do enjoy solitude, it helps me to focus.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks a lot, I'm glad you like it. Rarely do we have the opportunity to focus but we need that to make the right decisions and think about everything that is happening to us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sitting in a silence is a relaxing moment. A time to hear those noises around which we don't hear when were busy. A time to appreciate those things that could even help us to unwind ourselves.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, we should have more of these relaxing moments in life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Silence is my thing. You won’t believe how much I like it. You specifically said a beautiful version of it; sitting alone by the side of river. I love that.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, water has a calming effect. I like to sit by the sea or the river and think for a long time...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh yeah, one can find me alone in different places. I enjoy the company of silence where I am able to think and analyse more of myself.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Silence is actually an encounter with oneself, thoughts, dilemmas, fears. It is useful to be alone sometimes, somewhere where there is no everyday noise.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like silence, really, I appreciate it because sometimes it's difficult to enjoy it in a city, where people like making noise... I'm very sensitive to the noise and that can affect my sleeping very much, so I need silence also to feel calm again in stressing days.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I feel the same. I need rest and distance from the noise from time to time. The noise makes me nervous.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

very inspirational this story is true when a loud whisper comes piercing the ear making the brain's performance disrupted because the vibration reaches the deepest part of the hearing the effect reaches the heart. Calming the heart and soul requires a cool and comfortable place.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes. Sometimes we have to take time to relax in silence in a place that is comfortable, it will mean a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't stand the noise, I always prefer to sit in silence, enjoy the peace and relaxation. It's a good thing that our brain unconsciously ignores many sounds around us, otherwise we'd go crazy lol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha I agree. πŸ˜€ Fortunately, our brain ignores a lot of sounds around us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really like the way you put the scenario in words! There was a time when I was more of a noise liking person. Now as I am growing up I prefer silence. I think when you start getting mature you realise the worth of silence.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's right, enjoying the silence comes with age and maturity. When I was younger I was afraid of silence. Now it makes me relaxed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago