From a Sunday to a Rainday

4 40
Avatar for Jehoshaphat
2 years ago
Topics: Weather, Nature, Sunday

It is a cold and wet Sunday here in my city. In the morning the sun was shining in the sky with elegance and I was not in doubt that today might be a dry day. But I was to be proved wrong by the ever changing weather.

It was just an hour after noon when the sky became blackned by the rainy clouds. In the next few minutes it began to drizzle and I could hear the patters of the rains as they hit the roof. I was in my room at that moment and before I could say "Jack Robinson" it began raining heavily. Water descended from the sky like a cascade. I immediately went out to the compound to retrieve my clothes from the lines so they won't get battered by the ravaging rain.

Drops of rain that hit me on my way, to the line and back, into the safety of my home reminded me how a single drop of rain could be fatal to Man without the effect of air resistance.

Every thing that we throw up surely comes down due to the effect of gravitational pull. Gravity makes the loose water from the sky also descend on the ground as rain or snow. The pull of gravity is constant on every objects it acts upon.

The only reason why a stone lands before a feather when released from the same height and at the same time is due to effect of air resistance. The air support the light feather to stay afloat before it finally touches the ground.

The rain could be very fatal to every living thing because of the height its coming from, from such a distance the speed at which the rain would hit any object would be like a bullet. A single drop would pierce into the delicate skin of any human and might result to death.

I realized how God created the earth with great perfection making sure everything works in order and suitable for all its inhabitants.

Back to my room I sat on my chair beginning to think of a topic to write. Everywhere had become so dark that I had to put on the emergency lamp. As I began drafting some ideas I was distracted by noise resulting from the action of the storm that had accompanied the rain .

The wind became so fierce that I would say it is the fiercest of all this year. All the trees in my compound started shaking and they all bow in fear of the passing storm. It was so fierce that the church nearby that was celebrating their anniversary had their canopy blown off, roofing of houses was lifted up by the wind.

I just had to start praying and I couldn't concentrate on the article I wanted to write. I was scared I won't lie.

For in 2017, half of the roof of my house got lifted by the devastating wind that effected almost all the houses in my neighborhood. It resulted to our living room and kitchen being drenched by the rain.

I was praying today should not be a repeat of that day. And I was glad that my prayers got answered and our roof was intact and no damage was done to my home.

Later in the day as I went out to purchase something for supper. While I was walking through my neighborhood I saw houses that had their roofs blown open and off by the storm, I felt pity for them and I could understand their pain at that moment

As I walking back home, I thoughtfully said to myself;

"Is nature trying to take revenge"

Special thanks to my amazing readers and potential sponsors

Sponsors of Jehoshaphat
empty
empty
empty

9
$ 1.35
$ 1.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Abhay
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
+ 5
Sponsors of Jehoshaphat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jehoshaphat
2 years ago
Topics: Weather, Nature, Sunday

Comments

These days it feels like Sunday does the opposite of its name, it really should be renamed to rainday 😆 it also rained heavily over here yesterday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And you know what it also rained again today, we ought to be in dry season by now. I think all this happening as a result of climate change

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly o, I thought it's only my city that is having mood swings when it comes to the weather, it rains almost everyday over here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rain fell in our place too but it wasn't as fierce as yours. The funny thing is during the afternoon the sun was very hot that I cancel my plan of going out, if one should tell me that rain will fall I will never belief but it did happen.

$ 0.01
2 years ago