When a woman Becomes a Liability

1 41
Avatar for Jeff_tech
2 years ago
4th Tuesday January 2022

Hello readcash mate and specially those that encourage and motivate me to write in this wonderful platform, since morning I was wondering on what to write,then this topic comes up my mind then I decided to write before I forget,..and I titled it WHEN A WOMAN BECOMES A LIABILITY.

Ever heard statements like: "I must have a job before getting married, I don't want to be a liability to any man". Or "I can't be a full time house wife ooo, I don't want to be a liability to any man". Sometimes parents tell their daughters; you must finish your education and get a job before you think of marriage. I don't want my daughter to be a liability to any man. I have come to discover that this is the mindset a vast majority of people today.

I asked a lady quite close to me. "when does a woman become a liability to her husband? " Due to the fact that she knows me quite well and knows that I don't just ask questions any how, she didn't give me an answer that day. She had to think deeply.

She asked her younger sister the same question and she quickly replied without thinking "when she does not have a job. Her mum and a friend of hers gave exactly the same answer.

I have had course to hear statements like these in the past and a bit more frequently in recent times and I seemed to agree with it but as I began to hear it more frequently in recent times I found myself subconsciously thinking about it in... guess where? In the bathroom and toilet (sorry to mention that, some of my deepest inspiration come to me in that room).

Then the big question: Does the fact that a woman is not working and contributing financially to the up keep of the home make her a liability to her husband or the home?

Now, Mr. Man, you have a wife that loves you so much. She spends time praying for you, committing your day to God's hand, sometimes you wake up in the middle of the night to find her petitioning heaven for the family, she wakes up as early as 4 or 5 am to make sure you are set for the day's job and whispers word of encouragement to you just before you leave for work, when you get back tired and when you are discouraged.

In addition, since you married her, you hardly ever eat outside because she is such a good cook and you always eat at the right time. She even gives you a lunch pack. God has also blessed you with beautiful kids through her and those kids are well fed, taken care of, always neat and well brought up.

This woman does not make it a habit of denying you your conjugal right ,..... giving you one excuse or the other. You also confess that whenever you take your problems to her, she has a way of making your problem look so small or even go away. She is also a very good manager of resources.

Not withstanding, there is one major issue. She has no job and does not contribute to the financial upkeep of the family. Does this make her a Liability?

I looked up the word liability in the Oxford Advanced Learner dictionary and I saw three different definitions. The one that relates to the matter of discourse is that a liability is something that causes problems (in summary).

I also went into the scriptures to understand the role of the man and the woman in the family and I realize that women should primarily be "keepers at home" while men should primarily be "the Providers" for the home. 1st Timothy 5:8; Titus 2:5. Biblically, a woman who has succeeded in doing the above cannot be called a liability whether she contributes financially to the family up keep or not.

Let me buttress with this example. We primarily use phones for keeping in touch with people either by calls, SMS, chats etc. Now, I purchased a simple touch lite Nokia and it helps me to keep in touch with people without any problem.

Then I saw some phones that have features like GPRS, scientific calculators, internet etc. Does that make my nokia phone a liability? If I now get a phone that have those other features and then the primary function of keeping in touch is malfunctioning, which of these two phones now become a liability?

For me, a woman should be actively engaged in one career, job, trade etc or the other but not for the sole purpose of

contributing to family upkeep. That is the primary role of the man. If as a man, you have a woman that supports financially, it is just an extra feature for you and it remains only an asset to you as long as it does not disturb the primary role of the woman. If it does, your working class wife is fast becoming a liability.

I hereby come to the following conclusion:

1. That a woman does not have a formal job or contribute to the financial up keep of the home does not make her a liability. In short it is the man who cannot adequately take care of the needs of the family that is becoming a liability.

2. Any woman can be a liability whether working and contributing to family finance or not. It is a function of her primary role, not the added features.

Thanks for Reading....📖📖📖

8
$ 5.21
$ 5.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @De_Jezzai
$ 0.02 from @Bilqees
Sponsors of Jeff_tech
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jeff_tech
2 years ago

Comments

well as for me, I don't think anyone is a liability. Even an old or incapacitated person ain't no liability. We all are equal and special to those who really appreciate and love us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago