My Nysc Experience in the North (kaduna state Corper)

12 42
Avatar for Jeff_tech
2 years ago

When I graduate from school 2019, in my mind I was thinking that my service year will look sweet because I will serve in south, but then when all my friends are doing their online registration, I decided to follow the second batch.

I had never dreamt of ever living in the Northern part of Nigeria, not even in my wildest dreams. Never!

Ops! Excuse my manners. My name is Ossai Jeffrey aka jeff01, a South-South boy who was born and bred up in the Southern region of Nigeria, and this is my experience!

Here was I, in a cyber cafe drowned in fear, anxiously waiting for my NYSC Call-Up letter to be printed. In no time, it was printed and handed over to me, I hurriedly checked for where I was posted to, "kaduna State! O God why?" I screamed, as my jaw dropped, my heart skipped and my world came crashing all at the same time, after schooling in north.

Immediately, I called my friends to know where they were posted to, their answers broke me the more "Davis - Enugu, Prisca- Akwa Ibom, Jerome - Rivers", so I'm the only one going to the North? Where did I offend my ancestors? I asked myself.

At this juncture, I had no choice but to face reality squarely, and deal with this roller-coaster journey of life without fear of in security. I started surfing the Internet to know more about kaduna State and their insecurities problem,. I also read write-ups of Ex Corps members who served there, and their stories gave me hope. So, I was ready for what ever!

**Fast Forward** The D-day finally arrived, that morning my Mum prayed for me, asking God to Provide a job for me immediately after service (Did God answer the prayers? Stay tuned!)

I headed to the park where I was to board a bus. Need I tell you I wasn't prepared at all? As frustrated as I was, I was yet to buy my camp kits**wahala** . My friend Davis who was posted to Enugu, was already already prepared for the orientation camp. And since he was acquainted to the City, he accompanied me to the market where I finally bought some kits and provisions for camp, then I went broke afterwards. **sad**

From Asaba to kaduna, I joined another bus that was to take me straight to camp. While in the Bus, I met fellow, unlucky (O!So I thought) guys who were posted to same place. It was a long journey of about 12 hours, but I enjoyed every bit of it, as I got to behold the beauty of mother nature and route my destination.

Finally , we arrived @ Black Gold NYSC Orientation Camp, kaduna. As I alighted from the BUS, the scorching sun and Fierce looking Army officers who were at the camp Gate, welcomed me to the North in a horrible way. The camp exercise lasted for three weeks, and note! I never had a camp girl friend, because the little money I had could barely solve my needs, never wanted dragging an innocent girl into my financially miserable life. Lol

After three weeks of camping, I was posted to a government secondary school **not too good** in a town called kagoro.in southern Kaduna

Then the real journey begins...

I had thought people of Northern Nigeria were all Hausas and Muslims.but When I got to kagoro I realised Hausa was spoken as the general language, but they had their own culture and dialect, and were predominantly Christians but behave like the Hausas though.

Kagoro was a very cheap town to stay (no money there) and friendly town,steady power supply, water wasn't much of a problem. And above all, their girls **O lawd** Since they have this Northern orientation, they dress modestly, and always cover their hair like Hausa ladies too. But hey! they're very active in "za oda room"( I'm even thinking of picking a wife from there... Lol). If you think Calabar girls are the best in 'Bedmatics', then try an kagoro girl. Not forgetting my neigbour's kid who came count on any girl who comes by. **crazy, but lovely kids**

Unlike in the South where drinking of Beer was normal, I mean, my Mum could share a beer with me**winks**, here, most of them frown at beer, to think they're not even holy is funny(city of adultery and fu**kery), although few drink too but it's all their local drink.

Drugs consumption in the North is alarming, I mean, they hawk hard drugs on the streets. Since, beer is Haram to most of them, they seek solace in this hard drugs. (Hypocrisy)

I also made so many friends, mostly females, and few guys. I was a member of LFC (living faith church ) family, every body was so nice to me, kagoro became home.

**Fast forward** Days became weeks, weeks became months, and finally, we were talking about Passing Out next year February 2022 already. The journey is almost finally come to an end, but just like my Mum has said in her prayers before I had embarked on this trip "Go and be favoured".

  • Happy boxing 🥊 🥊 🥊

Sponsors of Jeff_tech
empty
empty
empty

9
$ 0.41
$ 0.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @A.David
$ 0.03 from @De_Jezzai
+ 1
Sponsors of Jeff_tech
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jeff_tech
2 years ago

Comments

Mr corper. Thank God you didn't decline the posting. Grace to finish

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, so you're a corper...bigger boss eh 🙌🏼

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah serving my father's land

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice, hopefully Asuu will leave me alone lemme do my own too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray so 💪💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen ooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems you don't have a steady community you post to, if you're interested you can join my community.

And yeah since you're new a lil tip, the bot sees too many articles posted the same day as possible copied content so you can limit it a bit. You can check my profile page for more understanding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay 👍 thanks but like how many some one can post a day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Probably 1 min, max 2.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But I posted 3 ...hope it won't be a problem

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, that's why I told you but it's okay sha, since you're new.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay thanks 😊 for the information....by tomorrow I will start posting only 2 per day

$ 0.00
2 years ago