Women Out There, I'm Sure You've Been Catcalled Too

16 29
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

I know women out there can relate to this article. Although for some reason, there are instances where men get catcalled or harassed too. However, most of the times, women are more vulnerable to this kind of situation, I must say.

With the recent news I've been seeing online and on TV, I couldn't be more concern of how dangerous the society is and will be. There are numerous cases of missing people (mostly women), kidnapping, rape, murder, domestic abuse, etc.

We can't deny the fact that most of the victims are women. Oh well, because we lack physical strength compared to men. And so that makes us vulnerable to such cases.

Just few weeks ago, I posted on noise.cash about my "catcalling" incident. Here's my post:

Kahit kelan, di talaga mawawalan ng manyak sa mundo no? Just few moments ago, I was heading home riding my bike from the cemetery because I visited grandpa.

As I rode my bike, I heard a pervert guy said "Hi!" then whistles catcalling me. I'm pretty sure it was me whom he catcalled because I was the only one passing by on the street. I was wearing a t-shirt and shorts.

These men sexualizing women is such a shame. Ay oo nga pala, di sila nahihiya. In fact, proud pa yan sila mang catcall ng mga babae. Kung manyak talaga ang tao, regardless of how conservative a girl is, nature na talaga nila yan. And how f*cked up this society is blaming women justifying men's disgusting behavior?

I wasn't able to stop nor glanced at him because the road was kind of downhill. I could lose my balance and be in danger. I could have stopped and shouted on his face "f*ck you!" Instead I just shouted in the air and said "f*ck you" to my rage! Mawalan sana sya ng balls!

The other week when I went to pay our electricity bill. I rode the motorela, our main mode of transportation aside from multicabs, when the driver spotted two girls walking on the sidewalk wearing blouses and shorts. The driver whistles "catcalling" the girls as we passed by.

This is such an embarrassment. I could have confronted the driver and inform him about the law against catcalling but I just sighed with dismay. I can't imagine how many cases like these happen everyday, some are even worse. Rapes, kidnapping, abuse, murders, to be exact.

I know men will justify their actions towards "catcalling". For sure they would justify it as a sign of appreciation to a woman's body but don't you pervert guys think how that makes us feel uncomfortable and harassed? Call me OA but that's what we really feel. We don't feel safe at all!

Like I said, with this old-fashioned, and still traditional society that we live in, there is no doubt women will always be the subject to blame because of how we dress ourselves. Oh well, the never-ending adjustment of women to society. What's new? It's my fault. It will always be. Women out there, it'll always be our fault.

Image from Twitter

Indeed, we are not safe anywhere in this world. We don't know what other people think about people. Even in our houses when comfort is supposed to be found, ironically, it is where heinous crimes happen.

The whole point of this article is not just to rant my frustrations with regards to how men behave towards women but also to ignite a serious and simple question,

Why don't you guys mind your own business and I'll do mine?

Is it really necessary to call out women whistling as if we're dogs, to show your so-called "appreciation"?

What would you feel if your mom, sister or daughter gets catcalled?

Well guess what, we don't feel appreciated. Instead, we feel harassed and sexualized.

CATCALLING IS NOT A COMPLIMENT.


Have you been catcalled too? Share your experiences on the comment section below.


Lead image source


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

7
$ 1.63
$ 1.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Expelliarmus30
$ 0.02 from @sj0820
+ 2
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

It's not "We can't deny the fact that most of the victims are women. Oh well, because we lack physical strength compared to men" but because we live in a world created by men. A world where women don't have a voice. They are used or abused and society agrees with it.

Victims of abusement (female or male) are a certain type of people. It's the same for children pedophiles hunt for.

How to change a world where men rule and get away with such behaviour? I doubt it's posdible after thousands of years although the animal world proves men aren't per se the king. Perhaps mothers should raise their sons better or throw them away with the bathingwater like one of our idioms says.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree with you. Ever since, women are oppressed. We don't have a voice and that is carried away to this generation even. It's frustrating.

Not all the time we would blame men's behavior to their parents. Some are just too stubborn and their influences are too strong that even their parents can't handle.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yan nag nakakainis ate sa panahon ngayon. As a woman, hindi pwedeng e justify ng taong bastos ang pananamit ng isang babae, of talagang bastos ang isang tao bastos talaga yan. kagigil po yung mga ganyang tao ate hays.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

And that's what makes it even more frustrating Lynn. Walang character development. 🤷

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No one can deny the fact, that women are harassed everywhere in the world. I don't know why people don't mind their own business, and let others to live their life peacefully.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I know, right? Why can't they just back off? Better shut their mouths up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cguro kapag nasampulan na ang iba madam bka mabawasan na yan

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Pano madam, di naman pina-practice talaga. So walang kwenta parin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Un nga lng tlga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May batas na pero di naman naeexercise. Parang feeling pa ng mga manyak e kinapogi nila Yung ginagawa nila. Tapos Ang sisihin nila mga babae kase pinoprovoke daw sila. Hayyy naku ewan ko nalang sa mentality ng mga lalaki ngayon napakaderange

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tapos ang egoistic lang, di nila iniisip kung ano ang effect nyan sa mga babae 🤷

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes! The trauma my ghad kung alam lang nila dulot sa confidence at self worth natin ng mga ginagawa nila e

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yun po talaga yung mahirap yung mga babae po yung sinisisi kung bakit sila nababastos dahil sa mga pananamit daw po nila which is sobrang mali. Kahit anong damit po ay pwede nating suotin, sila (mga lalaki) lang po talaga itong mahilig mambastos.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yan ang society natin eh, mga babae pa bini-blame. Frustrating talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Blaming women for their dressing preference to justify some mens disgusting behavior is an old school.. like wtf, no matter what a woman wear if manyak talaga yung lalaki manyak talaga yan that's what I prefer to be me.. kahit pa sabihin mas safe ang pagiging conservative. Nakakasuka yung mga manyak talaga 🤦

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mao lage, pag manyak ang tao, manyak jud na. Abi pud nilag cool kaayo sila sa ilang ginabuhat. 🤷

$ 0.00
1 year ago