Why do we dress up?

52 35
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

A person can easily judge someone's personality through his way of dressing up or outfit. It somehow reveals the internal being of a person. We can also identify a person's status through its uniform.

But why do we really dress up? Is it to initiate a good first impression to other people? A form of expression? To show off your wealth? Or to create your own character?

The sense of fashion is actually revolving through the years and there is this sense of cultural expectations where you dress up according to how society looks at you.

Is there a purpose for why we dress up?

Well, as for me we dress up to be modest. Its deeper purpose is to take the extra effort of putting ourselves together not because of vanity but to honor the person in the environment that we face by chance.

We rarely change out of our comfy clothes because dressing up isn't always comfortable. However, there is also a mental benefit of dressing up as it puts you in the zone to work harder and be inspired.

I mean, you wouldn't want to see your bride wearing on her nightgown on your wedding day and vice versa (unless that's the motif, kind of weird). A job interview where you wear a t-shirt and shorts. It is inappropriate and disrespectful.

Personally, I don't really have a sense of fashion as what many girls do like wearing makeup and all. I usually wear neutral colors of shirts (black, dark blue, gray, brown and white) and then jeans, sneakers and that's it. To me, that's my form of expression.

That's why I don't really wanna attend occasions because I hate dressing up but taking an effort to put myself out of my comfort zone is something I consider as an achievement but at the same time embarrassment πŸ˜†

How about you guys? How do you usually dress up?

Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty

6
$ 0.07
$ 0.05 from @Yen
$ 0.01 from @MisterWrite
$ 0.01 from @bheng620
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Comments

Dress up what makes you comfortable, and simplicity is beauty.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is so true. At the end of the day, we are entitled to our own choices. Dressing up is a form of expression.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ofcourse, dress up play a vital to build the personality. Likewise, if we goes to an interview, dress up is essential to impress the interviewer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly. Dress up according to a situation that is appropriate. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

same, your choice of colors just like mine.. I also would ussually go out on tshirts and jeans. Its because I only go out for home supplies and the likesπŸ˜‚... however, getting dress up is something that adds up someone's confidence in facing the outside world

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Me too, I live as a casual person only. I don't do parties, and home is my sanctuary. If it's needed to dress up, then that's a big sacrifice to me. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

jaja... for professionals like you, kelangan tlga if its really needed

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ayy hehe. Di po ako professional πŸ™ˆπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜πŸ™‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When most of my clothes are already in the semiformal yet grunge line because i like the sophisticated goth look way too much πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ and too many lazy clothes like dresses

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I had to look over to google to see what grunge looks like. So you're fond of black and boots as well? That's how google defines it. Hehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ you could have asked for grunge style but yes, black and boots is life ❀ and chokers! They can fit any occasion but is still so comfortable to me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It really does. Good thing you have that sense of style where you don't really have to take time of getting things done. As for me, it's pretty hard to look for outfits because I'm petite πŸ™ƒ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The effort is real with colorful clothes though πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ ahh a petite frame... that's a good body frame though, most asian-asian clothes will fit. I took over the spanish side of the fam so I'm a bit too large for asian clothes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. I believe it's not that hard for a body frame like to look for clothes that fit for you. Mall sizes are not my best friends. Their smallest sizes are still loose for me. πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well given that i exercise, most fit just fine but a lot of the mall clothes are way too small around some parts. But i guess you have that asian-asian petite after all ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So you have a blood of Spanish pala? Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A bit, and chinese though mas dominant yung Spanish physique? My mom's side is puro tall people including me XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. So the grunge style must really suit you as you have long arms and legs. How tall are you by the way?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess? Tho I'm not that fair skinned, just tall πŸ˜‚ around 5'7"??? I'm sure di pa ko naabot ng 5'8"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang tangkad 😲 Sana all 🀭 Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not fun ;;-;; can't wear cute dresses kasi it becomes a long blouse- so it's either i buy stuff online or I'll make my own clothes ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, there's always a disadvantage and an advantage to any situation we're in. That's life. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Advantage is, i learned to make clothes πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ yun lang

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You know how to operate a dressmaker then?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yess and i used to make cosplay clothes for my bf too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. You're such a talented person talaga. πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'd honestly say i grew up bored kaya kung ano ano na inaral ko πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Making the most out of boredom eh. πŸ˜† If you're a character in Sims, you are a jack of all trades.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know about a sims character tho πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ but i suddenly thought of posting some of the old costumes i made since I'll need to clean my room a bit later

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Share it with us. Hehe.

Sims is a simulation game that enables you to control people. It's my childhood game even up to now πŸ˜….

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Orz get ready to see a lot of skin, i guess

No, i meant i don't know if I'm fitting to be a sims character. I love that game too, specially when the pet mod came out 😯 i had so many pets when that addition came out. But i play sims 4 because of the character feature customization. It makes my eyes happy ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yaaay 😍 I would love to see that supposedly.

It really is an enjoyable one. There are many extensions of it that are my favorites ones like Pets, Seasons, and Supernatural 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh i haven't tried the supernatural one yet. The seasons weren't really my thing but they were pretty tbh but the best was still the pets and... maybe the sex mod πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. Because of the outfits of seasons that's why I like it.

Yea right. The woohoo activity that they have. It's hilarious. Applause for them for not making it too vulgar πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aye nooo the woohoo mod was actually full on vilgar with all the various positions and all πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ it was honestly amusing to me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Did you also try to kill your own sim? Haha. I made them swim to the pool with walls enclosing it so they have no escape πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually, I made an evil empire and made my main sim the supreme ruler πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ then the waifu I gave him had twins then I raised one to be good and the other one was evil. I wanted to add a third child so that it could be like zeus, hades and Poseidon πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That was so fun. Although is needs a little bit of hard work to maintain their character but at least, transforming our ideals into a reality in a game πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I make movies with my sims, goodness πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ i was that bored with life now i barely have the time to check

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Too much boredom rayt πŸ˜† I haven't played the Sims for a while now because my laptop broke. πŸ’” Planning to buy a desktop soon to enjoy the game more. That's the main reason for my plans though and not for the online job πŸ˜†πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So much boredom, that i get restless πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ ohhh if you get a desktop, get one with a powerful processor and try playing other games too. Lol as for me, I'm here for trading funds then a bit of extra for dates ^////^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehehe. Ya, I will get one with i5 or i7 probably. It depends still on the budget. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you could go all the way to i7 though- no lag skyrim and code:vein!!!!! Ahh i need that in life ;-;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. If my wallet provides πŸ’”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me? I don't care of what I wore. What important is you have something to wear. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Trueee. But how about important occasions?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Anything that is presentable will do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago