What Christmas Is Meant For Me?

5 25
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

I came across @Coolmidwestguy 's article about Christmas and thought about writing one too. You know, it's hard for me to come up with a topic and just trust my brain to let out all its ideas. This is perfect to come up with one so thanks Bob!

Let's head over to the questions.

Do you get Christmas shopping done early or late?

Well, when I was still employed, I get christmas shopping neither early or late. To be specific, it falls around the 15th of December because that's payday.

Before going to the mall, I list the things to buy and keep in mind that these things should be prioritized to avoid overspending.

I see to it that I stay within my budget. Sometimes, being simultaneous puts you in danger. Spend wisely. The gifts have to be something useful too to the person so it will serve its purpose.

Do you allow early gift opening?

The family only allows everyone to open the gifts after Noche Buena. The youngest in the family will read the gift tags and give it to the person the gift is for. In our generation today, Scottie is the youngest (my nephew).

Reading the gift tags has been an exciting activity for us back in childhood. The curiosity and thrill you feel as a child to see what your gift is must be so priceless.

What does your Christmas feast look like?

This is a timely question. With how things are going here in our country, inflation has been a pain in our a** for quite some time now. Everything is so expensive! So I expect our Christmas feast this year will never be the same as the formers.

So basically, we spend Christmas together in our grandparents' house. This is on my mom's side. Mom has 3 siblings but their youngest, my aunt is on abroad so there are only 3 of them here with their respective families. Each family cooks a dish and share it to the whole family.

What was your most memorable Christmas?

My most memorable Christmas would be back in our childhood christmas days. Our aunt in abroad sent us a doll house and a ballerina. It was such a memorable one because I remember each of us cousins lined up the gifts we received and named each of them. The ballerina that I received was named Angelina.

Physical gift or cash or gift certificate?

Just like Bob's answer, it depends on who you are shopping for. If I'm still a child, I'd prefer a toy but since I'm already an adult, I'd be more than happy to receive cash! Seriously, that's all I need now. Lol

Cash is the easiest and no brainer gift you could give to someone. Just give it to someone and it's up to them how they'll spend it.

What is your favorite part about Christmas?

My favorite part about Christmas is the time when we get together. Now that we are already adults, on the marriage stage to be exact (though I don't bother) each of us have different lives now and priorities have changed. It's rare for the family to get together often so Christmas and New Year is really special.

Is it better to give than receive?

It will always be better to give than to receive. However, giving should be done wholeheartedly and out of will. One should not expect something in return too when giving. That's not the proper idea of what giving is for.

As someone who's broke, I would love to give as much as I can to my family and to those who are in need but I can't. I don't have the means to do it. If only I have a sustainable source of income, I would gladly do it. That breaks my heart so much.

Do you feel the holidays last too long?

Well, it feels like everyday is a holiday to me because I only stay in the house doing nothing. I would love to go out and make some money but my situation doesn't allow me to. I also wanna look for a job online but I don't have the right equipment for it.

So holidays don't really bother me that much. For sure, only to those who are working. However, it affects me somehow because my family spends time with me too. They come here and spend the night bonding with me. With that, it means a lot.


So how are you guys preparing for Christmas?


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

4
$ 0.25
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.03 from @Jane
$ 0.02 from @Unity
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Hola amiga, en Navidad realmente de acuerdo a las situación-país hay que priorizar, eso de acuerdo en que pais nos encontremos, primero las prioridades, en cuanto a los trabajos es bueno estar siempre activo para ganarse alguito, buenas sus respuestas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for doing this. I liked your answers. Especially the youngest reading the names off the tags. We did that too but it wasn't always the youngest though. Being adults in married lives does change our priorities. It's much different in our childhood and single days

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Every child in the family went through that. It's a family tradition. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Every Christmas lage nlng ako bigay, sana may magbigay naman sakin 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Baka pagmamahal na ang next madam. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago