Things Happen When You Least Expect It

45 61
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

When I was invited for the final interview in a Manpower Services Agency, I became friends with some of my fellow applicants at that time. Ken was the closest I have been since then.

Almost all of us were instructed to wait for the notice via text message regarding the orientation date and signing of the contract. However, it has been over a week since the day they told us. We believed that we didn't get the job.

Ken and I kept in touch, ask each other what is the best thing to do knowing that we both failed to get the job.


A few days later, I got a call from an unknown number.

I waited for a few seconds first before I picked it up. I know it's something I'm waiting for and I tried to compose myself as much as I could.

However, it's something that I did not expect to. Remember the cute guy who kept my resume because he found me attractive? Kidding. He kept my resume because their school is open for an IT teaching position.

I answered the call and there, I was informed of a scheduled interview on Friday. I got the call on Monday and on Friday, I'll have my initial interview soon.

After the call ended, I went blank as if I already got the job. I was contemplating if I should give it a shot or not because in the first place, I pledged to myself that I'll never become a teacher because I witnessed how stressful and exhausting it was for my mom to handle kids. Well, it's not I'll be handling kids though because it's a secondary and tertiary school.

It's a challenging job for me because I'll encounter hundreds of personalities every day and that alone exhausts me to death.

Then I asked my parents' opinion about it and they said it's up to me. There's no harm in trying so that gave me the go signal.

Friday came and I traveled early again. Thank God there was no longer a scandalous situation to look at. If you have read my A Sudden and Unforgettable Trip article, you should know what I meant.

My interview was scheduled at 10 in the morning. I arrived in Davao at around 8 am so I took my breakfast in the eatery again. At this point, I pretty much know where to go now because I've been going there back and forth but I can't trust myself to ride jeepneys or multicabs yet because I'll be the Girl From Nowhere then.

When I arrived at the school, the building was not that huge. Although I had a subtle glance at the school the day I was informed about the location of it but as for me, it is not an ideal setup for a school. Then again, it's ACLC Davao so I had high expectations when it comes to their school facilities.

I asked the security guard to let me in. He must be wondering why a little girl wants to enter the school. I said to him that I have an interview and I knew how he's gonna react, he was full of questions but he let me in any way.

I went to their admin office and told the lady about my interview. I knew they're all having the same reactions. What's making me more nervous is that there are already students in the school because the classes have already started. They were busy roaming around the area and I can't help to think that these students might be the people sitting in front of me when I'm having my classes soon.

The guy who kept my resume entered the room and said Hi to me. He was so cute. He told me to wait for a while and so I stayed there waiting awkwardly. I was really nervous at that time.

A few moments later, I was asked to proceed to the School Director's office. I nervously went there and said Good morning to every corporate person I thought of and whom I bumped into.

When I entered the office, the school director was already expecting me. I greeted her Good morning and the conversation went along.

To be honest, I can not really remember how my interview went. The only thing I did not forget is that she asked me about my expectations about the salary and I got hired immediately. Yes, you read that right. I got hired on the spot. I was not asked to do a demonstration like the usual hiring process. They were in urgent hiring so I believed they can't afford to lose every single applicant as long as this person has the qualifications.

After hearing those words, I was forwarded to the HR Office to orient me about the requirements to comply with SSS, TIN, PhilHealth, HDMF, TIN, and other government compliances.

Then, I went to the library for my teaching supplies. The librarian gave me markers, erasers, ball pens, and other office supplies.

I was still in my adrenaline state that everything happened so fast. I was welcomed by the administrators and then they forwarded me to the Education Coordinator for my class schedule and the syllabus. As I entered the room, I think there were 4-5 people inside and I was certain they were instructors. I greeted them shyly and again, they teased me for being such a young-looking little girl. I get that reaction always. It's not new to me. I was instructed to report on Monday.

When everything is settled, that's when I realize that I have to look for a place I should rent. Somewhere near to my workplace. I searched around and finally, I found one. I went home right away, I arrived safely at 7 pm and told them the news of me getting hired.

I was very happy because finally I landed a new job and it was something I did not expect for. It was something the challenged me so well and I was so up for it.

I told Ken about my new job and he was happy for me too. He also got a clerical job in Davao Doctor's Hospital.


Edit: This happened 5 years ago, in June 2016 to be exact. A lot of you were congratulating me and this misinformed my readers. My apologies.


How did my first day of class go? I will publish it on to the next one.


Thanks for reading!

Keep safe everyone ❀

21
$ 30.94
$ 30.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @tired_momma
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 9
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

First day high. 😊 sarap balikan ng mga ganyan. 2016 isa sa mga favorite year ko yan. Hehe. Heart heart year yan. Hahahaha. Gusto ko yung mga nagsasabi agad na hired ka na kesa yung dami pang kyeme na we'll call you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Arte arts pa sa we'll call you. You failed the interview na agad para di na mag expect. Sugarcoat pa. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I finished it and I thought it was in the present time nabiktima rin ako kung di ko nakita edit makicongratulate na ko Mam hehe. Nakakatuwa rin balikan yung dati at ang ganda ng story hehe, ganyan talaga sa job hunting hanap lang ng hanap and expect the unexpected talaga kung para sayo para sayo ❀ Kala ba nila student ka rin at di teacher? Hehe atlis looking young Ma'am

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Student tingin nila sakin. Kala nila classmate ako nila. Haha. Publish ako later. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ganu talaga, kaya mahirap ung umaasa hahah pero hindi rin naman masama umasa lalo na't pag ginawa mo lahat ng makakaya mo sa isang bagay, effort is the key

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I definitely agree. What's important is you did your best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ateeee! Congratssssss ❀️❀️❀️❀️❀️ Teacher ka po palaaaa 😳 It’s been my long time dream to teach 😭😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Stella, thanks but that was 5 years ago. Sorry, I'll edit my article. I already resigned but the whole experience was fun and life changing πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you were a teacher poooooo, ohhhhhhh. I was actually invited to teach kaya lang po di po kaya ng sched πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I was. πŸ˜… sayang but maybe in the future? Who knows. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ka choi ani dai. Paspasa pod nimo na hired oi. Hehehe.. unsay feeling sa teacher? Nahan ta ko mg teach pod sa una. Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naaah, kulba kaayo miss andi oy. Wa jud ko ngka dimao sakong first day. Pero lingaw pud bya sya. Naa koy na close na mga students. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala akong maicomment Kaya nilike ko nalang πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Hehehe. No probs my yen. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats!!! So happy for you! β€οΈπŸ’“

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks πŸ˜… although that was 5 years ago. Hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Still hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here's my prediction, "Hindi kayo magkakatuluyan ni Ken, kasi si Barbie ang nakatadhana para sa kanya."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Tagalog tagalog paka ha

$ 0.00
2 years ago
  • At ikaw ay nakatadhanang gumawa ng YouTube channel kasama ang isang lalaking mas gwapo at mas nakakatakam sa Ken na yan... at mas malala pa sa lalaking nakita mo sa bus na may ginagawang... kasuklam-suklam na gawain.
$ 0.00
2 years ago

This story also happen with me.Actually I was in FSC and find a job of As a chemistry teacher.The person sitting in Admin expect I am too small to teach the 10th grade.Anyway,I was well-prepared for Demo.All student were ready to punch upon me.Everyone ask Question about the topic that was assigned me to teach.After Demo all students raised voice,"You are good teacher Please teach us Chemistry" It was 1st and awesome experience I ever have in my lifeπŸ’šβ€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow. You must be a proficient teacher. Not just a teacher but with Chemistry. πŸ™ˆ That's Au!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats! Another inspiring unexpected success story. Same din sa mga outings, mas natutuloy pag di plinano.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Trueee, bast planado ay yan ang madalas di natutuloy. Welcome here. Brother ka pala ni Jabs. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yess pooo. Ako din yung sa Noisecash kung naaalala nyoo πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Don kita mas kilala. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dito naman ako ngayon. Try ko din sana magwork haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Matumal na sa noise noh? Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo kaya try ko naman dito kung swertehin din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ACLC is my Alma Mater madam 😁 Si ken b yung jowaers mo ngayon? πŸ˜… d ko nabasa previous articles mo sorry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yah, I remember you shared about it before madam. Nope, hindi sya. Di naging kami πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah... Share naman bout kay ken 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

@Jane, ang Jowaers niya ay "I" ang start ng name, at "N" ang last, alam ko yun coz she always tells me about him, and the exact year kung kailan sila lalagay sa kaingayan, ay este, katahimikan pala, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aba updated 🀣

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Updated yan sya mahilig sa chismis πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Giusab ni Jane iyang comment ba, tikasan... hehe. Dili man ko mahilig sa chismis, ikaw ra may mo chismis nako, maong kabalo ko. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations po sa new job! Uy ship ko kayo ni ken hahaha. Pangalan palang cute na eh hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. That was 5 years ago though. Wow, antagal na pala 😲

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay 5 years ago na pala. Musta na kayo ni ken hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We're still friends up to now. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Kaya lang, may friend na ako na iba, na higit na mas gwapo kay Ken. Kakalimutan ko na si Ken dahil sa kakaibang friend ko na ito." - Jeaneth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang sa Barbie nga eh. Sya si Barbie tapos yun naman si Ken hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha kaya nga πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those requirements to comply: SSS, TIN, PhilHealth, HDMF, TIN, are all pain in the arse when I you're about to get for the first time. It's a long queue wherever you go and takes forever. Requirements palang naiyak na ako nyan. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakaloka madam. Buti nlg di ko first time kumuha ng mga ganyan kase nakakuha na ako sa call center job ko don sa Cebu πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago