The Stubborn Queen of the Family

35 47
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

They say that grandparents are extra caring for their grandchildren. The love they poured on their children when they were younger is more intense than usual.

As a kid who spends her time every summer with her grandparents, I must say that it's true. However, there are certain situations that their love is going overboard and becoming toxic. They've become controlling and strict. Most especially grandma.

But before I'll explain why I named her the Stubborn Queen of the Family, I will give a little background of her life.


My grandparents met in a clothing business grandma's family was running. Grandma, who's 30 years old at that time, was the store's overall assistant together with her brother. Meanwhile, grandpa, who's 32 years old at that time, was working as a truck driver. They stopped by the store where grandma was working. They got to know more each other and the rest was history.

However, it was not an easy union for both of them. They got married in 1963 but they failed to reproduce offspring during the first two years of marriage.

This is what I don't like the most in the past generation's definition of women. Men think that women's purpose is to give birth only. Such a b*llsh*t. As per mom, grandpa almost gave grandma back to her family because she couldn't bear a child. How lame was that?

Still, I'm grateful for it anyway because we wouldn't be here on Earth if it wasn't for them. So after 2 years of marriage, they finally had a child Jes. After 5 years, for 3 consecutive years, they got Jef, Jen, and Teresa.

It was a tough marriage. It was full of challenges. Grandma is a plain housewife and grandpa is a truck driver. Years after, grandpa was hired to be the governor's driver so that gave him the privilege to send the kids to school.

However, I will not give the credit to grandpa only. Grandma has this attitude of extreme frugality. She manages all the things in the house and makes use of it to its extent. Which brings me to name her as stubborn:

Very specific in all things.

Her memory is superb. She can trace every single thing she has in mind when she wants to use something. I'm not exaggerating, it's the truth.

I started to realize how complicated it is to live with her was when I first entered to college. I lived with my grandparents because the school is accessible and convenient in our location.

She's very particular with things. From the utensils in the kitchen, down to the tools used for gardening. If I'm going to share every single thing she uses with extreme care, it'll be a long list to dictate.

What makes her stubborn as being specific with things?

She likes to hoard it. Then sometimes, there are things she loses track of where she puts it and so we'll buy another set of it. Given that due to old age, elders have lesser chances of memorizing things but her case is different. If one becomes a part of her everyday routine then the higher its chances of her not forgetting it.

There was one time she kept dishwashing sponges in her kitchen cabinet. The kitchen is hers so nobody could catch it. Everyone has to ask her if one needed something. What she usually does is she cuts the dishwashing sponge into half and hides the remaining to the cabinet.

If the used sponge gets rotten and needs to be replaced, our helper asks her where's the other sponge and she will point her finger to the location she used to keep the sponge to. If we can't find one, she'll start accusing everyone where the sponge goes.

And she's very certain to her words as if she's always right. So arguments start to rise in the household.

She always win the arguments

Back when grandpa was still alive, they used to argue with little things. Old age must have contributed a lot for their moods. When they were younger, grandpa was always the one willing to compromise and adjust. He'll go out for a moment to breathe some air whenever their tones start to rise.

Now that she's now alone, grandpa's death created big impact to her everyday routine. She's always having erratic moods and she's now very sensitive.

That means to say that everybody in the house must adjust to her mood swings, her orders and requests.


Despite all this stubbornness prevailed, she's still the queen of the family. She deserves all the love, care and attention the whole family must put into. If it wasn't for her, we wouldn't be here to witness how wonderful and cruel the world is.

Still, regardless of the challenges we face, we are sure that the family will work for hand in hand to face every single bit of it. She's 87 and still rocking this world.


Lead image from Google


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone. ❀

10
$ 10.12
$ 9.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
+ 8
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

I remembered my grandpa with your grandpa. My mom used to tell stories that her mom is a nagger. So our granpa would go to our house in Cubao all the way from Muntinlupa. That time it was like we are travelling to the province. So my mom already knows why my grandpa was there. It was because he wanted fo breathe some air because he had a fight with my grandma. Instead of spending the night with us, he will still go back to Muntinlupa because he cannot bear the fact of not being able to sleep without my grandma ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your grandpa is sweet πŸ₯Ί he still thinks of your grandma in all ways ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She sounds like a good person though overall, and has some good character traits. I enjoyed reading this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello NatureGirl. Thanks for the good feedback ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss my lola, I dont have one on both sides :( They're both so dear to me kahit na stubborn minsan hahha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mga badlongon jud madam oy. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

your grandmother... is pretty scary and intense OnO even at her age omg while all my grandparents are just calm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. She really has that attitude. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

me questioning how you cope up to her even if you're an introvert

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Super stressful 😬 but I'm always the one who adjusts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oof my personality would end up fighting your granma if i was the grandchild XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe I will not feel at home if I have a grandmother like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You'll get used to it. Besides, she's your grandma. You carry the same blood. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even though they have the same blood, that doesn't mean they can manage me however they want. it happened to my father too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a different story. Grandma never did that to her children though. She knew her kids would handle the situations well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't get to meet my real grandma (mother side) , my mom told me she was a very kind and quiet person. We only met their stepmom but she was also very kind to us and treated us like hers.. The other grandma was also very kind and talkative. I enjoy being with her because she talks a lot all the time. Lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yaaay. You seemed to have a healthy relationship with them ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makukulit talaga sila saka pinipilit gusto nila lagi haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Yes my yen. Gusto mg insist palagi. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As time goes by, we have the habit of forgetting a lot of things. I still don't have grandchildren and I didn't know any of my grandparents either. I can't say what it's like to have one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm certain you will be a loving grandma to you grandchildren soon ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here,hahaha my grandma is also the winner of all, no one can defeat her with arguments also and do what she wants even if we don't like or agree with it.She will plan even if not desirable things to happen. But in the end we love her , because she's nothing the same on earth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly madam. Kaya madam na madam talaga sya sa bahay eh. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lola? Daebak...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha may similarities po sila ng lola ko ate. Kaya lang hindi kmi masyadong close ng lola ko noon, mas paborito niya kasi kuya ko. One time, may binilo syang saging tas tig iisa lang dapat kami lahat non. May naiwang isang piraso and since makulit ako, palihim kong kinuha yun tas nakita niya ako. dahil sa takot, nagmamadali akong tumakbo tas hinbaol niya naman ako, may ndaanan akong parang hole na hanggang tuhod ang lalim tas since nakasunod sya sakin, di niya nakita yum tas ayon , the rest was history. Pinalo ako ng lolo ko nun huhuhu. Di man kami close ng lola ko pero nagpaapsalamt din ako sa kanya bg sobra2 πŸ€—β€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero sobrang memorable yun for you. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ate haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

si lola ko din mas sensitive na siya ngayon. ganun ata talaga pag tumatanda. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes madam. Nagiging stubborn na. Hehe. I just want to thank you madam for your constant comments in every possible you can. Thank you so much. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

NO problem sis :) Avid fan mo ata ako? haha. Just kidding. I'm trying to catch up kaso it's already late .Good night madam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my grandma also kinda like your in some ways .. infect she love to do what she want and if we do not give that then shit .. bad mood always

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totally relatable. Moody as ever. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

attitude full women🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, God. You generalized us huh? πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

when πŸ‘€πŸ€·β€β™‚οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago