The Struggles of Being Left-Handed

40 71
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

I was tagged by Miss Andi's @ellimacandrea article about July. She discussed the traits July babies mostly possess. Most of the traits were accurate to me and one fact that struck me the most was being Left-handed. Then I got inspired writing this article. Thanks Miss Andi, finally I now have a topic to write to. Haha


I guess it's safe to say that majority of the population are right-handed people so basically, that explains why the world is designed for right-handed people.

Lefties like me go through these little daily struggles that right-handed people wouldn't mind at all. According to my research, lefties only share 10% of the total population. That doesn't sound much but that's roughly 750 million people.

For the record, I didn't choose to be a lefty. I just realized I belong to the lefties nation when I started writing at 3 years old. It just came out naturally. Then again, I learned to embrace it but there are certain struggles that we face in some circumstances.

That being said, here are some of the things left-handed people are having a hard time to.

I tell you, the majority of these struggles were found in the school. That's extra baggage of concern to work on to.

Scissors

I didn't realize that being a lefty is a struggle until I entered primary school. I was 3 years old when I entered pre-school and since the learning style mostly applies to art activities, using the scissors gave me this impression of life being unfair.

Scissors are mostly designed for right-handed people so it is something a lefty would struggle to. I haven't seen a scissor made for lefties though, have you seen one? Then again, I learned to compromise and just ask for some help from the people around me when I need to get things done out of my ability as a lefty.

Left-handed Armchairs

One thing I usually take into consideration when entering a classroom is the availability of left-handed desks. It's rare for a classroom to have left-handed desks and now, we need to compromise again.

I started using the armchairs back when I was in 5th grade. It's really rare to see a left-handed armchair. If I get the chance to see one, someone owns it already. I'm not the type of person who confronts people for the things I want. If it's available for me, then good. Otherwise, it's still good for me. I can adjust. I'll just use the right-handed armchair.

Based on my experience, in every classroom I have attended with 50 armchairs in total, only 6% are left-handed armchairs. Chances are, you get one left-handed armchair for your own from winning a challenge first (petty fights or bullying) or just settle with a right-handed armchair.

From 5th grade up to 4th-year college, I have only used left-handed armchairs for 5-6 times only. Roughly. Just when I get lucky to spot an empty left-handed chair.

Spiral Notebooks

School had its major role in feeding me this impression of why I'm so unlucky to be a lefty.

Growing up, I prefer spiral notebooks to the usual notebooks you see in grade school. When I was in high school, I used to take the wires of the notebook to recycle the blank pages and compile all of them so I can make a brand new notebook without spending a dime.

Now what struggles us lefties is when we write on the right side of the page and our hands are above its spring. Aside from the inconvenience we're feeling, it also destructs our penmanship which is a major mood changer for me. I hate seeing my penmanship so ugly and untidy. If I commit a mistake while writing, I scratch the page off and start writing again. That's a very exhausting habit but I got used to it.

Inks

This is connected to the spiral notebook. Sometimes, I use pens with strong inks that don't get dry right away. What happens is that when I write, my hand goes over to the slow drying ink and it smears on my palm ruining the entire writing.

When I was in high school, I saw my classmate (my puppy love ex-boyfriend) who's also left-handed having the same struggle as me when it comes to smearing the inks on the palms. What he did was he tore a portion of his notebook and used it as a cover to his hand so that the ink won't mess up the handwriting.

And I did the same thing too, which was effective though. But one thing I learned about it, I avoided using slow-dry ink pens since then. It took me so long to realize that. So st*pid.

Using a computer mouse

I was in 3rd grade when I first encountered the computer. The computer mouse has always been placed on the right side.

Being a lefty, it has always been a struggle for me. As I said, I got the hang of it and uses it now with speed.

I remember when I got scolded by my computer teacher. I tried to switch the mouse and keyboard so it gets comfortable for me but she saw what I did and ordered me to switch it back because it was not the proper computer skills. Is there a computer skill anyway?

Keyboard Numpad

The numpad is placed on the right of the keyboard making it for the lefties to type a series of numbers. Until now, I still prefer to input numbers from the numbers placed above the QWERTY keys. That's where I'm most comfortable of.


There are still some of the lists that I'll be writing on to the next article.

To the lefties out there, totally relatable eh? Haha


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone! ❤

18
$ 21.38
$ 20.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.10 from @ellimacandrea
+ 8
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

Yung inaanak ko nung maliit siya nakikitaan namin siya na panay sa left so kinocorrect namin siya na right hand gamitin. Ayun salamat at natuto naman sa right. Kainis yung sa spring noh? Right hand ako pero kapag nasa left page na doon ako naiinis. Hehe. Tumatama kasi sa spring. And relate na relate ako na kapag pangit na ang sulat, nakakasira ng mood. Hahaha. Kaso hindi ko na pwedeng ulitin ulit kasi may nakasulat na sa likod. Feeling ko meron naman scissors for lefties. Yung same na bilog lang ang butas. Yun nga lang maliit siya at pambata.

Nung high school naman ako nagppractice kami ng friend ko magsulat. Ako sa left tapos siya sa right. Hehe. Nahirapan ako pero kahit papano nakakasulat. Sulat grade 1 nga lang. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakaaliw yung mag sulat ka gamit ang non-writing hand mo noh? It's crazy to think how your dominant hand can do almost everything but your other hand can't even manage to hold a pencil properly 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nakakaaliw. As in todo practice kami ng friend ko noon na deadma sa lecture. Hahaha. Pero parang ang ganda kasi na pwede ka magsulat both left and write.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Relate much 🤣 wa jd ko kita diri sa amoa og lefty arm chair.. I am also one nga sigeng kahugaw sa ink ang kamot.. Haha! Good thing kay naanad rako sa num pad og mouse. Magdula kog badminton i use right hand kay akong ibalanse ang left.. Pero sa guitar makatawa ko kay mabali jd sya usahay.. But naa may customized pod... 😁 Unya di jd pwede nga ang tuohon naa sa imong left kung mangaon kay siguro jd ang sikohanay 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe. Na summarized na nimo akong next article. 🙈😆 walhon sab diay ka madam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha Lefty here and the struggle is real. 🤧 Ung kakain kayo tapos right-handed nasa kaliwa mo. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Isusulat ko pa yan florie. Wrestling elbows. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my sister is also a lefty but we've been teaching her how to use her right hand too since it's hard to find lefty stuff for her

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is true. I was taught by my parents too but it's our brain controlling our actions. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

is it hard to adjust tho? medj keri naman kasi nung kapatid ko but she gets confused sometimes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Si mama ko Left handed...pro kaya rin gunamit ng right 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Multihanded pala mama mo madam. 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lefty ka pala madam, kaya pala dun sa mga videos mo eh mas oanain ko na mas okay un pagtipa mo sa left, hehehe.. Yun tita ko can both write in her left and right hand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all simultaneous. Hehe. Naguba nman sad ni akong right hand madam. Resulta sa kuan. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anong kuan madam? 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never thought of left-handed people having challenges with the hand until I read this post. I use to have a left-handed teacher and he trained himself to use the right as well, I admire him a lot not knowing that left handed people are going through a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, only lefties will understand about these struggles. Hehe 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have two left-handed brothers and those things you are talking about I noticed when we were growing up. My mother did not like that they were southpaws and tried to modify their nature and could not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was told by my parents too when I a kid that they've been training me hard to use the right hand but my left hand always prevails.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What our parents did not know is that it is not a matter of the hand but of the brain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. It's the brain controlling. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pro most lefties I knew have high IQ and are very talented.. Naalala q pagka may project ang tatay q tulad ng armchairs na napanalunan nya sa bidding sa college, gagawa at gagawa xa ng 50:1 lefty armchairs ksi d daw lhat ng estudyante is right handed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Idol ko na papa mo. May malasakit sa mga kaliwete. Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Struggle no more, Lil Sis. Regardless of the hardships you face as a leftie, I'm pretty sure that you are one of the cutest lefties on the planet!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No doubt. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pamati oh...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am left handed too hehe. Naalala ko Sabi NG Japanese na nag interview sakin dati left handed are smart people haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Smart ba tayo my yen? Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ewan ko ba hahaha. Maaari Kaso introvert Kaya ayon hahahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Wala pakong nakikitang left-handed arm chairs sa school since elem.

D ako left handed pero isa rin sa mga stuggle is yung pagbungguan ng siko ng left at right handed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. True. Isusulat ko pa yan sa next 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wanted to learn on how to write usiny my left hand huhu. I really find left-handed people amazing. Also, I have a left-handed bestfriend and I've observed that she was so creative especially in arts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. I think I'm the only left-handed person who doesn't excel in arts. Although I can play instruments. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what I mean, you guys are so talented.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When Tia started to hold a pencil, she keeps using her left hand and I tried so hard to keep it on the right because it will be hard for me to teach her. But in fairness and ganda ng sulat ng mga lefties! 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tia will have a great penmanship then. Hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you know that I was really trying myself so hard before just to write using my left hand haha because Ifind it amazing to a left-handed person who wrote obviously with their right hand because I can't do it even though I was trying 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. It's nice to make fun of our limitations too. Trying out writing on the other hand is hard but fun. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a good thing I inspired you to write this. Hahaha. I didn't know there were armchairs meant for left handed people. I just thought, the chairs are how it is. Hahaha..

Yung guitar din, bihira yung pang left handed. Dapat ata papa sadyain pa paggawa nun.. hehehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ana gyud miss andi, customized sya or kmi noud ang mg adjust. Pero so far atong ng tuon kog guitar, kabalo mn kog strum sa right. Musically inclined lng gyud guro ko. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago