The Story Behind Why I Almost Got Scammed Again!

45 91
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 weeks ago

A few days ago, I shared with you a short post about me almost getting scammed again. It really makes me think why I'm so vulnerable to scammers. Is it because I'm too trustful of people? Or is it just, I always find the goodness of every person here in the world? I keep hanging on that hope that people will just spread kindness and not hurt each other but what pains me more is to think that it's far from making it a possibility. Not even close, for real. Sad reality.

Note: this is not about the seller. The seller was amazing. This is about two people behind the logistics company.

So here is the story.

Last March 30, 2024, I made a purchase of a secondhand laptop from a store in Facebook. Guys, if you're looking for budget-friendly, secondhand, but great-quality laptops, this shop is for you: https://www.facebook.com/chengslaptopgadgets/.

I ordered an Acer TravelMate P215-52.

I decided to upgrade its RAM to 16 GB so I had to pay an additional 1,ooo pesos ($20) for it. I was able to ask for a discount and just paid 14,500 all in all. I paid 1,000 pesos for the shipping fee. It was quite expensive because the unit is from Luzon and my location is in Mindanao. Everything was a smooth process. The seller was very attentive and responsive to my queries. He shipped it on the same day and I was surprised because 2 days later, 2 unknown numbers called and texted me informing me that my order was already out for delivery!

I was very surprised because it only took 2 days for it to arrive? After getting that message, an unknown number called me and informed me that he was from LBC Express (a logistics company), and he was out to deliver my unit. However, he told me that their system is under maintenance and they're not allowed to receive cash on delivery payments until April 23. He was so "kind" to instruct me to call my seller and inform me what was going on. The other number called me again. I told her that a guy from LBC called and that I should let her know about the situation.

To cut the long story short, they were calling me back and forth to really lure me and make a payment online. I was about to really send my money to the details that were given to me, as seen above. I took a screenshot of it and sent it to the real seller intending to have it checked or to have it verified if the details were correct. Never in my imagination that the whole situation during that time was a scam.

That's when everything started to make sense to me. You know, it will only take me one click to have my money stolen from these scumbags and I thank the Lord for not making it a reality. The whole situation was so stressful. The scammers really made me feel that it was urgent and I have to do it right away because gadgets are the first ones to be delivered because of how fragile they are.

The seller thought it could be an inside job. It could be that any of those people working in the company are doing this. So sad, right? I mean, why do these people exist? Why don't they just play fair and work with dignity? It's so frustrating. My heart goes to those people who were scammed by these people. They must have worked hard to save that money and just easily get stolen by these bad people.

You know what's more heartbreaking? They've been doing it for quite some time already. I'm not sure how many customers were scammed because I saw another Facebook page tagging those phone numbers pretending to be the seller and from LBC.

4 days later, an unknown number called me again but this time, it was real. It was the delivery guy from LBC. So I got my unit and here it is!

I can't imagine if things didn't turn out that way. Like, what if I did not send a screenshot to the seller and just sent it right away to the so-called "seller"? It must have been such a dreadful situation for me. That money was my savings. I worked hard to save that amount of money and just easily vanished because of these scumbags.

Anyway, I hope this serves as a lesson to everyone out there. Don't trust people too much especially if money is already involved. Scammers are everywhere. I hope they rot in hell. I will let karma do the work for them.


That's all for today and I'll see you on my next blog. (not sure when exactly but soon).

Thanks for reading!

Keep safe everyone!

10
$ 0.30
$ 0.15 from @Omar
$ 0.10 from @green_claymore
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
+ 3
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 weeks ago

Comments

Buti na lng madam nakapagreply agad si seller😊

$ 0.00
1 week ago

So, you received the Laptop in good condition. The story ends with a happy note.

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

Yeah, it did. I'm glad it turned out to be that way.

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

Oy hala buti na lang. . sa kalisod sa panahon daghan ng dautan. .

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

Dghan jud mga mangtas sa kalibutan madam 💔😔

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

lagi oy.. daghan napd ko offers karon gani..sus wa nako ning entertain bisan pag amigo nako..hahaha

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

Katong mining na madam?

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

Ag mining nawala na jd . .sus abi nako bia og okay rato.. wa ko gaexpect mawala dayon..heheheh! Naa napd sya lain gihatag nako wa na jd ko gpadala

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

Pila gani to imong gi invest madam? Wa jud ka nakakuha maskin gamay lang ato?

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

Nakakuha ra.. nakabawi rako man ginansya gamay..pero sayang kay magsugod nako unta collect sa dako nga profit 😅

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

At least nakakuha ka madam. Hehe. Maypag nag withdraw ko before feb 29. Kakuha unta kog mga $10 ato. Haha

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

Lagi oy naay naabot nagwdraw og 27 .. sus kaning mamasin na lang jd ta

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

very expensive laptops here

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Does the laptop store you mentioned also ship computers to my country?

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

As I wrote before, I am glad that you were not defrauded and did not lose your money. Use your laptop in good times

$ 0.01
3 weeks ago

Yeah, I will. I might have to ask about that to the seller. Which country are you in?

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Ohh really? Are you serious? İ live in Türkiye

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

I'm still not sure about it. It will surely cost a lot if a package gets shipped overseas.

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

How much???? What is the shipping fee If you want to buy a good laptop here, it's 1200 dollars.😔

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

I've already asked the seller about it. He's gonna raise this concern to the logistics if they ship overseas.

That amount is insane. 😵‍💫

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

This is such a crazy price. And believe me, the laptop they sell for this price does not have good hardware at all. good laptop is more expensive

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

I'm still waiting for the seller's reply. Hopefully we can get good news from him.

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

I hope you get good news. Now you can choose a nice laptop for me. You can contact me at this number. (+905462657785)

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

Is this your whatsapp?

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

Yeah

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

Grabe talaga, why do I keep feeling na parang hindi na talaga safe ngayon. Dito sa amin, dumarami na din ang akyat bahay, ngayon kahit sa LBC hindi rin safe. Thank God at napigilan po

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Jusko SJ, di talaga safe kahit san magpunta. Andaming risks sa mga bagay-bagay

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Kaya nga ate, doble ingat nalang tayo palagi.

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Kmusta kana? College ka na ba? Anong course mo?

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Ok naman ate, 3rd year college na. Since April 1 walang f2f classes dahil sa heat wave kaya nakapag online dito. Ikw po?

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

The last time we talked parang 1st year college ka pa ata non or Senior High. Grabe, how long has it been? Eto, busy as ESL teaching :) freelancing din kung may mag reply na client. Haha

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

First year college ata ate. Wow congrats! Mas maganda din pag maraming source of income. Boring nga ng college, parang gusto ko nalang mag full time sa crypto. Pero wala pa masyadong opportunities kaya focus din muna sa studies.

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Huwag mong iwanan ang college, iba parin na may diploma ka para kung sakali, may ma ipresent ka na diploma to employers. Okay rin na pagsabayin mo ang crypto and school basta wag mag stop sa school ha.

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Yes ate, mga passing thoughts lang naman.

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

No sé, pero prefiero irme a la sntiguita, comprar ese tipo de cosas en la tienda personalmente.

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Well, in my area, it's rare to find a store selling secondhand laptops. Most of them are selling the brand-new ones and I can't afford it.

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Grabe na gyud ang scammer oi bisan unsa nalng gyud mahuna hunaan!

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Mao lage madam, perti jud ka mga way puangod. Way saktong utok kay gigamit sa daotan.

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Maayo nalang gyud nagiyahan paka na dili sa makabayad.

$ 0.00
2 weeks ago

Grabe na tlaga ngayon ang daming modus

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Di talaga madali yung pinaghirapan mo ang pera tapos nanakawin lang

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Ingat lagi sis, wag mag tiwala basta basta...

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Kaya nga eh, kaloka yung scammer nahinayupak na yon

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Haruy hapit gyud dam ba ,may Gani mabasahan pa nimo Ang chat sa seller uy.

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago

Mao gyud madam ay. I gotta give credit to the seller pud for instantly replying to my question. Grabe lage

$ 0.00
3 weeks ago