The Ice Bucket Challenge

33 73
Avatar for Jeaneth
10 months ago

More than a week ago when I volunteered to accept the ice bucket challenge initiated by @Coolmidwestguy@Coolmidwestguy . I thought it would be so cool and fun to join the challenge so without thinking twice, I'm doing it regardless of the result.

I supposed to do the challenge when I first read it but I had some doubts after reading some clarifications. I was delighted when I saw a lot of my co-readers nominating me. And that's when I decided to do the challenge regardless of the standing.

My sister was supposed to take a video of me doing the challenge but she needed to finish a school task so she has to go home for it. That's why this came out late. Nevertheless, we still made it happen. Better late than never.

Preparing the ice

I was kinda concern of how am I going to have ice. I was torn between making my own or buying from the store. Since my sister's arrival got delayed, I decided to make my own ice. I made two packs of ice and placed them in the freezer.

It took two days for them to be fully iced and solid. Our fridge is kinda old so it took a while for them to be iced.

Let's get it done!

My sister just came yesterday and I immediately asked her to take a video of me doing the challenge. I already had a bucket prepared beside the fridge and pulled out two packs of ice.

I stabbed the ice into pieces because it'll be hurtful to have them poured unto like rocks along with cold water. I was kinda nervous while preparing them but I'm more excited than being anxious.

And as promised, here's a video of me doing the challenge. Here we go!

I was very excited doing it, to be honest. I was excited how it feels like pouring a bucket full of ice on my body. I was smiling the whole time even when I had a hard time getting the bucket because it was heavy for me.

I did it on a rainy day. I supposed to get soaked in the rain but my younger sister said to look for a better angle for the video and that's where the video was taken.

Sunny, my dog, always gets in the way. She follows me everywhere so it's no surprise she's also there in the video. Too bad, she got startled when I poured the bucket unto me. She's aquaphobic. She's hates getting wet. She doesn't like going to the bath so it's expected how she reacted that way. But she's fine, she checked on me after doing the challenge.

I took a shower after because I can't stand the cold. Overall, it was a very fun and great experience.


I also checked some videos on youtube how they do the ice bucket challenge. It was so fun to watch. Seeing celebrities or famous personalities made it so interesting.

I learned that the ice bucket challenge is not just a plain challenge to enjoy with. It is challenge that has a purpose. Its purpose is to raise awareness about the disease called ALS or Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.

It is a progressive neurodegenerative disease that affects nerve cells in the brain and the spinal cord. It is known to cause stiffness of muscles, muscle twitching and muscle weakness, which result in difficulty speaking, swallowing and eventually breathing.

To know more about how this challenge started, click here.


I wanna see you do this challenge too. Are you up for it? Join the fun!


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

9
$ 3.71
$ 3.50 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @MicroReylatos
+ 3
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
10 months ago

Comments

Well done jeaneth you did it well. It is surprising that people are participating in it. I never thought that many users will come and participate

$ 0.01
10 months ago

It was fun though and it serves purpose as well :)

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Grabe nilamig po ako para sa inyo hahhaha. Anyway congratulations po you're finally done in the challenge. 👏

$ 0.01
10 months ago

Hehe, thanks Ge :) super lamig nga pero keri naman.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Hahaha Sunny moves was funny too. That's the shout of surprised but not with ice bucket. Bucket pa kc sya nauso 🤣.

$ 0.01
10 months ago

She's def surprised of what happened. So funny 🤭

Pero ang witty ng bucket pa kase sya nauso ha. But historically, nauso sya to raise awareness about ALS disease. It's more of an empathic activity na rin to know how people with ALS feels living with that disease.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Ano yong ALS? Mmmm

$ 0.00
10 months ago

It's mentioned on the article 😅

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Yes the dog was hilarious she captured two photos on noise. One with no clue what was going to happen and the other the looks of I got to get out of here, lol

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Dogs have that panic attack looks when they don't understand things. Just like human but they look more Id*ots 🤣🥴 however they're cuter.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Shoot I got to watch video again haha

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Haha that dog right

$ 0.00
10 months ago

You are naturally well done. I like the green ambiance and the little dog's movements. I also appreciate your opening an account on Vimeo for this purpose.

I may request you open an account on Odysee, which is a blockchain-based content platform. You not only earn if verified users view your content, but Odysee also rewards the users with a random LBC cryptocurrency for consuming others content. https://odysee.com/$/invite/@debesh.choudhury:d

$ 0.01
10 months ago

Hi friend, thanks for this suggestion. I appreciate it. I might check this out one of these days 😅

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Try it. You won't lose anything; you will gain.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Haha I loved this Jeaneth you put a lot of effort into this. I think I said I would upvote $2 but your presentation was flawless and I think many others would agree. You get a little extra :)

$ 0.01
10 months ago

Hi Bob :) thank you so much. It was so fun doing it. I was smiling the whole time. Much needed extra indeed 🤭

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Galing ni madam eh, ang cute mo patinpara kang bata🤣

$ 0.01
10 months ago

Lol

$ 0.00
10 months ago

😁

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Hahaha. Thanks madam. Super ginaw after 😅

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Hitsura pa lng madam buti mdi ka sinipo

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Di naman madam, naligo ako kaagad ng medyo warm water.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Ah, ako ndi ko cguro kya yan🤣

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Congrats buddy, you did it.

Btw, I can't see the video. Is it possible the influence of the cell phone? I also do not know.

$ 0.01
10 months ago

Hi friend, it's working well on my end though and I believe to others as well since they're able to view the video. Refreshing the page or reconnecting your data or wifi would probably solve the issue.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

The doge was like wtf! oh shit! oh shit! ruuuuuuun ruuuuuuun ruuuuuuun! hahahahaha

Very funny your challenge my wet crush hahahahahaha

$ 0.01
10 months ago

Sunny's reaction was so hilarious 🤭 but yeah, I got wet but had fun. It's time for you to take the challenge Rei 🙌

$ 0.00
10 months ago

I don't know if I can do it because I don't have someone to record or take the photos, that's the big problem, I have to find a way to put the phone on a base to record and I can't find any. But if I find a way, I'm sure I'll do it hahahahaha

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Will definitely watch out for this. Haha

$ 0.00
10 months ago

We are waiting for yah 😁

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Katugnaw ana mam oy hihi pero congrats you did it ,hahah suwayan nako be bahalag walay me challenge nako😆

$ 0.01
10 months ago

Hehe, thanks madam. Lingaw sab baya sya. 😅

$ 0.00
10 months ago