The Dark Side of Introverts

35 161
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Introverts are known to be independent, intelligent, and creative. Although I'm just a portion of those traits mentioned.

I can say that I am independent because I can do things on my own. I solve the challenges exhausting all the resources and possibilities on my own. Only then, I ask for help when everything doesn't work on my way already.

I can't say that I'm intelligent. Just an average one. My skills and abilities are enough to pass courses. Although I have taken the Civil Service Exam 3 times but I have not been successful all along. I believe that doesn't define entirely about my intelligence right? But that dragged my confidence to the lowest point. However, I can now managed to console myself that not everything goes according to our plans.

Creative? Not at all. In high school, art subjects stress me out in full volumes. My mind is a clean slate when it comes to art. I sucked in the artwork field.

But still, I consider myself an introvert. Most of the traits and behaviors I possess are unquestionably introversion. I learned to know more about myself and it's been amazing so far.

However, there are still downsides to being an introvert. Not all is good for us introverts most especially when we are under stress and if we need self-protection. Here are some:

Working in a team.

When working in a group setting, I always bear in mind that group works are just a source of my stress in school. It only provides drama, conflict, and arguments. Aside from this, dealing with other people is emotionally draining. That is why I prefer to work alone or if not, I'll join the people I feel safe and comfortable with.

Then again, I realized that working in a team can be powerful if handled with good communication and camaraderie.

Overthinking.

Introverts have higher chances to become overthinkers. It is because we spend most of our time for ourselves alone and we're left excessively thinking about things. Too much thinking most in the past, what actions we should have done or avoided to prevent things from happening.

It is an unhealthy habit that doesn't give good results to our mental health. If overthinking starts to kick in, I have learned to practice deep breaths, taking a walk, or even cry to release my emotions which brings me to the third dark side of introversion:

Self-depreciation.

Overthinking leads me to be more self-critical. I have become too hard on myself which pulled my self-esteem and self-confidence to 0%.

When I overthink, I start to doubt myself and think I'm not good enough.

However, I learned to be self-appreciative. From then on, my mental health has improved and it's been amazing so far. No self-doubt anymore. I mean, it still occurs but the situation is already manageable compared to before.

Bottling Up Emotions.

As for me, this is the darkest one and I have that attitude, unfortunately. I'm not proud of it. In fact, this attitude put me in harm. This played a huge role in my self-infliction. I used to bottle up my emotions because I hate confrontations. Through this, things get overwhelming and when I explode, I could harm myself or even someone by throwing negative words.

After what happened to me, I have learned to express myself by talking to someone with whom I feel safe, and recently, writing here in read.cash and noise.cash. With these avenues, my mind transforms into a calmer and peaceful state.

Pessimism.

Extroverts are known to have energetic personalities and are more optimistic compared to introverts.

Introverted people are more grounded and realistic. However, these attitudes are toxic when left unchecked which is why it is important to strike a balance between being positive and realistic.

Loss of Identity.

When I'm around with groups or social gatherings, it always seems to me that I'm absorbing each personality I interact with. As a result, I become mentally drained and things get harder to cope up when my mind couldn't bear too much information.

Introverts are most likely high-sensitive people and when talking to someone, I usually absorb his/her emotions results in me losing my sense of identity. I believe it's called empathy. It is a good thing but sometimes it gets too overwhelming that I could no longer distinguish if I'm still me or not anymore.

Cutting off contact.

I have not ghosted someone before though and I don't think I'll do it to him/her. When I feel like I need to self-isolate because I need to recharge myself, I make sure to inform someone so I don't leave him or her hanging.

There's someone I know who likes to ghost though. My close friend since kindergarten. She rarely replies to my messages and I don't know if how she's doing today or how the year has been to her so far. But still, I'm certain that we remain good friends. Communication may not be that active to us but I know she's still close to my heart and hers too.

Self-isolation by introverts is mostly misunderstood which leads to friendships and relationships over. The other party might misinterpret it as ghosting.

Checking up on your friends from time to time is crucial to sustaining the relationship you have established throughout the years.

Reference: Psych2Go Youtube Channel


These are only a dimension of introversion. For my readers who are also introverts, please don't take these as an attack on your personalities instead take these as an evaluation to help you learn more about yourselves.


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone. ❀

17
$ 19.41
$ 18.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @kat2x
+ 10
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

Ako nasa gitna. Minsan ok to socialize with other people then minsan ayoko nakikipagusap. Hehe. Depende sa mood siguro. Pero agree ako na ang laking tulong nitong platforms na ito not just financially but also mentally and emotionally. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi madam. Dito ka naman. Better late than never. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dinadamihan ko na para makaabot na ako sa tuktok. Hehe. Nakikita ko malapit naman na ako sa tuktok πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Madam, pabati ng isa Happy Birthday sayo! Ansaya saya naman. Enjoy your day! Kain ka ng marami! 😁 Labyu!!! πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat madam. Hehe. Kakain talaga ako marami. Magluluto si papa ng native chicken. 🀀😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same madam.. introvert dn ako.. minsan nega.. madali dn mastress. Ģpg nag ooverthink.🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Major in overthinking tayo madam. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I am more of an introvert din. Magaling magghosting but not to the point na masisira trust ng iba😁.. ung mas gusto qng mapag-isa ksama c nature kesa with loud group of people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sooo meee. Haha. Kapagod kaya pag maraming tao. Draining. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always treat introverts before as kill joy. I thought, they are mean and ma attitude. Huhuhu na guguilty talaga ako sa pinag iisip ko sa kanila nuon. They do socialize but na de drain pala sila pag tumagal na, unlike sa extro (I am an extro and I love socializing). Being alone is their way of recharging themselves. We shouldn't really judge people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like your realization. We need that in every situation we face. Putting our shoes on someone else's is a sign of maturity. You're getting there. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, its so easy to sympathize but empathizing is another level.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ambivert jud ko dai.. dili ko ka ingon nga introvert ko kay daghan kog friends wherever I go except lang nuon sa amo hometown kay wala kaayo kog friends didto... Hehehe. Nya if naa nsad ko sa amo barkada, naay times nga kapoyon kaayo kog jamming nila.. mao mag inusara nalng ko nya okay ra pod na nako. Hehehe.. pero hilig ra pod kog go with the flow pero naa pod phase sa akong life, nga mag cge lang kog duha duha permi. College ko aning tyma.. hehehe..

Basta naa ra mi imong virtual friends ui if you need someone to talk to, okay? ☺️☺️☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ambivert jud diay ka miss andi. Hehe. Ako kay gamay ra kaayo kog tolerance basta tapok2 na. Mglabad daun akong ulo.

Opo. Mosalig jud ko nimo ani. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can say nga teamplayer pod ko. I work well with a team kay wala man pod ko kaau confidence sa akong self gud. Hehehe.

Uu dai. Salig jud nako. You can count on me like 1,2,3... Heheheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a kind of person who really like to stay at home,I don't like to be with people around but I just want to do my things on my own. But it's just a way of making myself stress,that's why I find time to talk with people in a day to unload my baggage .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's an effective strategy of getting rid of those negativities madam. I'm also glad that I learned to be more open-minded.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halaaa.. you're so me..πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Hehehe.! Inana akong description sa akong self.. Pero bisan feel kaayo nako mag inusara talawan man pod ko mabilinnsa hauz nga ako ra isa esp at night

Most of the time i prefer to stay at home alone than going out with friends or cousins. Hate pd nako ang group works kay makalangan ang mga groupmates nga moanha rag tingpasa na, i feel like maypag ako ray trabaho ani tanan πŸ˜‚. I also do the sabay sa tama, my friends come to me kay good listener daw ko makasabay ko sa ilang emotions dayon later on mura kog memory card nga na virusan.. Haha! Naay times mafeel nako na it's not me anymore..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakatawa kos memory card nga na virusan. Hago pud mo absorb og emotions gikan nila oy. Empathetic kaayo ta ba. Hehe. Dako jud sigurog influence sa personality nato ang atong Zodiac Sign. Cancer jud kaayo ta. πŸ™ˆπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

According to my evaluation to myself, I am 50 percent introvert and 50% extrovert. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ambivert ka madam. Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Siguro nga... πŸ˜… Pero ok rin naman ang mga struggles mo kasi may good effect naman sya. In fact you became more better than anyone else.. O di ba.? . 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's absolutely right. My emotional maturity growth has been life-changing. Nag iba talaga perspective ko sa buhay. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As we become more involved with others we learn to be more sociable. In the past I was very introverted. But little by little I have been improving my introversion and my optimistic personality has always accompanied me and allowed me to make many mistakes. But I don't regret it because it is part of my learning process.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admire your transition to becoming sociable with others. I am working on that but time demands me to self-isolate and recharge. I just felt the need though. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

and there is me in a complete list UwU ahh the struggle of being an introvert is real

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate na relate noh? Hehe. These things are always a struggle. Now I realized that my life has full of struggles, being a lefty and being an introvert. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

they're not all struggles UwU there might have been a bright side to it and a difference in perspective so don't say that, okie?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Pessisism took over and I was consumed by it. Kaka write ko lang pero ito agad comment ko sa sarili ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

grabe pessimism but same πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€¦πŸ»β€β™€οΈ i guess it's pretty normal a reaction from us tlaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

feeling ko ambivert ako sis. hehe. but I also have these traits pero siguro di ganun kadeep katulad sayo but you are right those mentioned re not your weakness but an evaluation to understand yourself more and maybe sort things out to avoid depression, right? :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you sis. These traits bring a person vulnerable to depression talaga kaya I took this opportunity na rin to spread awareness. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tama ka jan sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are so many downsides to being an introvert. So many opportunities lost due to one being shy and scared of what people will say.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah right because we are influenced more by our initial impressions and concerns to what other people will say 😞

$ 0.00
2 years ago