Sorry and Thank You, Pa.

16 48
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Growing up living a simple life was something I am grateful for. However, before I wished we were a family with a luxurious life.

I wished my father earned a degree

Once in my life, I have been an ungrateful child of the family. I even had the guts to blame my father for our situation.

My mom is a public school teacher and my father is an elementary graduate.

One would have this impression that we will not be financially stable because of my father's occupation. He is a farmer and the expenses we had for farming were more than the amount of money we're supposed to earn.

Looking back, I realized that I have never seen my father's hard work. I was too focused on the material things the family is supposed to have. I was too ideal when in fact, we cannot really afford those.

While writing this, I have realized so much. I was a bad daughter. Silently. I didn't become a rebellious child, I was obedient, I attended school regularly but I have this silent resentment to our father why do we have this kind of situation.

When in fact, we're an average family. We can eat 3 times a day, we have vitamins, we have budgets for our wants sometimes. We have new outfits every time it's a Christmas party or Commencement Exercises.

All of those, I took them for granted. Instead, I was busy looking for more. Geez, too ungrateful.

Maybe because I was still young back then and I was being too selfish and self-centered that I didn't acknowledge my father's sacrifices for the family. I have instilled in my mind that if you don't have money, you don't have worth.

Yeah, that harsh. Such a brat.

However, I'm going to share my most unforgettable childhood memory with my father.

He bought me a bicycle.

I was in my 3rd grade when I was waiting for them to fetch me at school. It was already 5 pm and I was about to cry because I'm the only one left waiting in the school. I cried more when I saw them arriving at the gate. Then my father said to me, "palit tag bike te." In the English translation "let's buy a bicycle, child".

I was so surprised when he said that. Months before that, I was bugging him to buy me a bicycle because I just learned to ride it from my cousin's and I want to own one. I noticed that he's no longer sober but he can still manage to engage in a conversation with sense. Probably? Or maybe he was just influenced by alcohol at that time that's why he made that decision right away.

I answered him with a full-length wide smile and said "Cge pa!".

I was very excited and when we finally get to reach the store, he said to choose the one I like the most.

I chose one and I was the happiest little girl on that day. I was just smiling the whole time. When we finally reach home, it was already dark so I can't go outside to ride the bike anymore. I was the most joyful kiddo. The next day, I woke up early because I was very excited to ride my new bike.

I asked mom how did papa was able to purchase the bike, mom said "halin sa mais nak". In English translation "his earnings for selling corn".

I was deeply touched by how papa did it for me. However, I was not really vocal about my sentiments at that time. When I was younger, I'm shy of voicing out my thoughts to them. Saying Thank You and I love you was the hardest ever.

That moment was carved into my heart. The scenario was still vivid in my memory.


When I finally graduated from college, I have slightly become matured. I have acknowledged his hard work and sacrifices. I learned to be so grateful to him.

Now that I have grown into a mature woman, I always make sure to say thank you and say I love you to them. I learned to value every moment I have with them.

Without him, I will never witness how wonderful life could be.


The lead image was taken probably 18 years ago. I took a shot of this photograph while scanning on our photo album.

It was emotional seeing these photos. It makes you reminisce those memories back then. It will always live within ❤


Happy Father's Day!

Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone ❤

12
$ 18.06
$ 17.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 3
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

My heart..my heart..my heart. May kurot talaga sa puso ko basta father-daughter.

Pero feeling ko naman karamihan talaga dumaan sa stage na naging ungrateful sons/daughters tayo. Parang nagamit ko na din ata yang "ungrateful" na term ko sa isa sa mga article ko. Pero totoo naman kasi. Napakaungrateful spoiled brat ko. Hanggang nung tumanda but happy naman ako na nawala na yung ganung side ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Immature pa kase tayo nun. That's part of growing up. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ateeeee, you're making me cry too like those other articles I had read yesterday. Huhu

I was soooo related to your story. Though, I already learned on hw to appreciate all the things he was giving to me and to our family. Kumbaga, maaga po kasing namulat sa estado ng buhay namin. Papa also had just reached elementary. But, unlike your Father, my Papa just reached grade 5 and won't be able to finish it. So many things that I adore him but I don't wanna cry right now kasi katabi ko si Mama. Haha! So, yeah. Gonna share it na lang through writing an article, maybe. :)

Btw, Happy Father's Day to all our Fathers! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know what? My husband is also an elementary graduate too. Naiiyak ako habang binabasa to. And after he graduated sa elementary naging farmer nadin sya , nag alaga ng kalabaw until he went to Manila para magconstruction worker at dun kami nagkakilala. Ako associate Lang , diman ako degree holder Kaya panagako namin na Hindi pwedeng Hindi makakatapos anak namin.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Nakoo my yen, insecurities talaga nila yan ang di nakapag tapos pero mafefeel mo nman na ginagawa nila lahat para sa pamilya. Aanhin yang degree mo kung tamad ka nman at masama ang ugali.

Sure na sure ako, mabuting tao ang husband mo. Kaya I'm confident na you both will nurture your son as a good person. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Biktima lang din Naman sya NG circumstances. Kahit gusto nya mag aral e pinagtrabaho na Kasi sila NG tatay nila pero nag ALS naman Yun saka nagtry din sya mag entrance exam sa pup Kaso Hindi Kasi sya nakapasa. Ngayon Naman okay work nya dito. Sa supermarket hehe. Mga katrabaho nya mga degree holder din. Pare pareho Lang silang minimum 😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Happy Father's Day to your amazing dad ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And to you too CRFilipina. You're new here? Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I am :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same po tayo. When I was a child, naka focus po talaga ako sa material things without being grateful sa kung anong meron ako. Those were the days that everytime I remember, I cringe hahaa. Your father is such an amazing and responsible man 🤗. Happy father's day po sa kanya 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And happy father's day rin sa dad mo. Hehe. Nung bata tayo, self-centered kase tayo kaya wala tayong inang iniisip kundi sarili lng. Kung pano tayo gagalaw. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True po 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy father's day to you father madams. Ako never nakapag sabi ng Love sa papa ko 😵. Di pano kamo close tapos ang aga pa nyang nawala 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry about that madam. 🥺 di ko alam sasabihin ko 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, happy Father's Day to your Dad Jeaneth. What an emotional article. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Thanks madam. Sa papa mo rin and sa husband mo ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago