Some More Doubts, But Few Best Reasons To Go On

30 56
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Previously, I talked about my doubts about continuing or quitting my endeavors for a music career. Now, allow me to talk further about some reasons that almost made me quit and some bits that made me doubt what the future will happen.

Here are some more things that scare me a lot these days.

Failing to make a living out of music.

Ever since he embarked on his musical journey years ago, Gifter had a fantasy scenario that he could quit his day job and just play music every day while earning a living out of it.

Though he is perhaps, the most resilient pursuer you could ever come across in terms of working hard to achieve his dreams, such a scenario didnā€™t happen ā€“ because he diverted his attention to other things like working on his TESDA licensure and novel writing.

His love for writing is what actually brought him to some online platforms, Read.cash is among them, apparently. Though he loves to teach and write, his love for music far exceeds those. Thatā€™s why he does his best these days to bring us closer to that scenario where we will do nothing but play music, record songs, and earn a decent stream of income.

I truly admire Gifterā€™s optimism and hard work for all of this. Deep down though, I have these questions: What if we fail to make a living out of music? What if Gifterā€™s hopes for us going professional is just some fantasy?

Asking myself these questions each day makes me reflect and doubt if weā€™re truly in the right direction.

Dealing with lustful encounters.

One of the scariest things Gifter told me during his gigging days with his previous bands is this: some of his female music associates were often approached with indecent proposals. As his one and only female music associate these days, I greatly fear that it might happen to me too.

Now donā€™t get me wrong. I know Iā€™m not the ā€œgorgeous-voluptuousā€ type of female musician that you might often see performing in music bars. If youā€™ve seen some of my photos, you can see that Iā€™m just a very average-looking woman, who looks like a girl in his mid-teens, I might add.

Gifter told me, ā€œEven the ugliest musicians can become the most attractive entity for the audience. An average-looking girl like you could become the sexiest female in the room if you can project your talent compellingly enough.ā€

Even as a guy, Gifter had plenty of experiences being approached by female audience membersā€¦ which gave him some considerable ā€œone-night stand encountersā€ already. There were times when he said no, but he didnā€™t deny that there were times as well when he couldnā€™t resist, because well, heā€™s just human.

Getting poisoned by nightlife culture.

Basing his assessment on his previous experiences, some of those average-looking female musicians that Gifter has associated with in the past had experiences with people who approached them for some ā€œindecent activitiesā€ ā€“ if you know what I mean. Some of these incidents could be for money, and some of them were just for pure fun.

Now such facts made me ask, Could a time come when Iā€™d get poisoned by the ā€œnightlife cultureā€ the way it poisoned Gifter before?

These days though, I can sense that he is now a changed man. Throughout those 6 months that we became close, I never noticed any hint of ā€œsexual undertonesā€ in his actions towards me.

But if we do get to be regulars at music bars in the next months, could he protect me from those male audience members from luring me into some lustful encounters?

Why I decided to still go on.

Though Gifter and I mostly had our instruments in our hands every time we meet, there were times as well when we do nothing but talk and strategize about how we will further pursue this music career we hope for.

He would often ask me, ā€œAre you sure you really wanna do this? Are you sure you donā€™t want to go back to the corporate world anymore?ā€ Before Iā€™d give my answer, he would paint pictures in my mind about what awaits us if I decide to go with him in that direction he was heading.

I remember a particular moment when Gifter stood at the terrace of my grandmaā€™s house (our favorite session hall), facing the gate, and exclaimed loudly, ā€œHey, Iā€™m Gifter, and this is Jeaneth, and weā€™re here to rock this place!ā€

Right at that moment, I hallucinated a bit about thousands of people shouting and cheering for us as we play the songs that we wrote and polished very religiously.

Iā€™m having this strong feeling that if I do choose to stick with Gifter, I might justā€¦ become somebody, and be able to walk on that ā€œpath to greatnessā€ that he dreamed of walking for many years already.

There might not be plenty of money in thisā€¦ but this is so much fun. And for what itā€™s worth, this is the thing that I truly, truly love doing! Isnā€™t that huge enough as a reason to go on?


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

8
$ 1.31
$ 1.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @AnonSunamun
$ 0.02 from @Usagi
+ 4
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Push lang ate, If you enjoy naman, go lang. Pero if pagiging practical ung usapan, syempre I would suggest na maghanap pa din ng work sa corporate.

In terms sa music, may talent din ako jan, I recall ung mga times na sumasali ako sa mga contest sa school and that time, di pa naaapreciate ung boses ko so di ko na tinuloy. I still sing, alam kong magaling tlga ako kasi I can do different genres pero if pera ang pag uusapan, and theres no money don sa passion na un, no choice ate.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I totally understand your point dee. We have to be practical rin, a backup plan kumbaga.

Singer ka pala šŸ™ˆšŸ„° try mo mag livestream dee? Sa kumu, andaming pinoys don na nagst-stream. May kitaan din don.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahahahahaa sa wesing na lang ate wahaha. Pero ikaw ba na try mo na?? Well feeling ko kasi mahirap mag build up din ng audience pag ganyan eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang youtube din dee na mag bisita bisita sa ibang artists. Yung Smule na try ko before. May kitaan ba sa WeSing?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy di ko lang sure ate if may kitaan dun. Ginagamit ko lang kasi pag need sa school ngaganyan hahah.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I understand the hesitations and doubt that you have deep within your heart ate Jea and it's normal. But if love mo tlaga yang ginaganawa mo, then that's enough reason for you to continue and make your imaginations come to life. I am always rooting for you ateee.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, Neil. I knew I can always count on you. Emotional support, specifically. I guess I just have to try it because I'll never know unless I try.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pangarap kay nako na ang mga Banda pero pagkabasa nako sa mga negative na experience sa uban, medyo scary tungod kay wa ka kabalo pwede mausab imong panglantaw sa world ug pwede mahimo kang super wild & free na Jeaneth. Pero I'm not discouraging you, continue and pursue your passion. By the way, unsay ngalan sa inyong banda?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Singer sab ka Syd? Hehe. Sample naman jan. šŸ¤Ÿ Riortrek ang name samo banda.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Continue lang jud sis, ayaw lang kaayo pa apekto sa mga negative na nahitabo sa ilaha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lage sis. May nang magmahay ta nga nisulay kaysa wa nisulay. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

just stick to the music, one's integrity won't let him down.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yup, I will and I should believe in myself too. ā¤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If this is something that could realistically lead to being able to do what you love most professionally, then I'd say it's the only reason you need to go for it. Having said that, you might want to take a step back and look at things objectively and ask yourself how realistic the chances are of making it to the point you want to reach. It's been calculated that only 6% of those who pursue a career in creative entertainment reach their goal of making it as a professional. Besides that there is a pretty enormous gap between making a living making music and "(...)thousands of people shouting and cheering for us as we play the songs that we wrote and polished very religiously.) I mean, playing in a bar 3 times a night on Friday and Saturday for 20 buck a pop makes you more than enough to live off but is that what you want for the next 30 years? Because that is the fate of most singers/musicians. And while they are professionals, it's hardly the life they had in mind when they decided to dedicate themselves to becoming a professional.

Listen I'm not trying to discourage you but I want you to make your decisions based on real, unfair and harsh, life instead of just your dreams.

Whatever you decide, i hope you succeed in being happy!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow, I really appreciate how you took time writing this for me. I appreciate it because you are giving me a balanced point of view on this article.

I agree with you, it's hard to overcome the society's standards in the surface that is why we are making strategic plans to make our music more recognizable to achieve significant attention from the public.

We just really hope it'll work ā¤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So do all of us here!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sister I can understand there is Tough to get living out of music in initial phase but you have to sacrifice if you want to get good fame as a musician. I hope Gifter and you will be superb singer in the world. Don't lose hope at any rate.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, Blueflipper. You never failed to encourage me with this path I'm taking. I agree, that there will be sacrifices to make along the way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Although we are not connected physically but we are connected by hear. Always welcome my dear sister.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know how much you love music ate, based on your previous article. God bless you ate, just do what makes your heart happy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Lynn. You're the best ā¤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is a big reason na to go on ate, as long as you're happy. Well, make sure to have other sidelines na lang if ever di kalakihan ang kita sa music industry. For sure you too can make it work.

This article reminds me of my bff's ate, ate Maan Furio, you can search for her, she's part of Mayonnaise. Back then we had doubts too for her, ate ate namin siiya back when we were in gradeschool, she's in high school then, kasi ano nga bang kikitain ng musician if she'll pursue it. She loves music so much that she became a part of Mayonnaise, she even travelled because of music, while playing and singing.

What I mean is, there's no limit to what would happen unless you put limit to yourself. Fighting! šŸ’–

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I checked her C, ang cool niya šŸ˜ true naman, any traditional parent would think na sobrang uncertain ng income sa music. Mas mabuti pang mag corporate job.

I'm just thankful na supportive talaga ang parents ko for this path I'm taking. ā¤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yey, I'm happy for you then! Good luck sa journey āœØ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Go madam, sa una lng yan mga what ifs mo, kpag maenjoy mo na ang pagbabanda for sure you'll love it kasi nga passion mo,ung mga indecent proposals n sayo na yan of tatanggapin mo, pero mukhang ndi naman sa personality mo malabo

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much for the support madam. Kilala mo na talaga ako no. šŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I admire the confidence he has ate. Grabe yung pagiging optimistic nya ate?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Super optimistic niya Cherry. Ako nga nag wo-worry what if ma fail namin ang expectations nya. Super taas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's still depends on you po, kung saan nyo po tingin na mapapabuti kayo. And wala naman pong masamang magtry ng bagay para sa pangarap po natin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I would have to agree with you. There's no harm in trying as long as it doesn't affect other people's lives ng malala. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago