Self-help: Ways To Improve Ourselves, To Be Better & Stronger

29 47
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

I have always been an advocate of self-help books because I need this for myself. You guys know how melancholic I am and I'm naturally depressive and sad. Then again, with the help of self-help books, they reassure me that I can do better and my thoughts are not my reality.

I found a thread on Twitter, I bookmarked it and thought of sharing these tips with you guys too. Let's help ourselves beat and kick those monsters in our heads and get rid of them!

Positive self-talk

This is something I struggle with the most. How do you guys maintain positivity? I know that our brains are naturally biased toward negativities but I find some people so amazing how they sustain positive energy in such situations.

Through positive self-talk, it increases our productivity rate because it gives us the motivation to push more but at the same time helps us learn about our mistakes. How to be more positive? I should have these words tattooed on my body to keep me reminded. Let's avoid judgments and assumptions, be kind to ourselves, accept our flaws, & forgive ourselves.

Repetition

Confidence comes with experience. We'll never know what lessons we can get in life unless we try. It is where you will know more about yourself, like how you respond to such situations.

The experiences we encounter make us stronger and wiser. If we fail, we should try again. From there, you already know what to expect so limit yourself with mistakes as much as possible. You are no longer the same person who encountered that monster.

"A gem cannot be polished without friction, nor a man perfected without trials.”

Improve your habits and recognize your flaws

Let's keep those good habits for us to become better persons. Discipline is very important when maintaining habits. We could start small or little by little. Most especially if it plays a huge factor in our lives. We also need to be patient with ourselves because for sure, we're new to this journey.

With regards to recognizing flaws, I would say that I am an ace player for that. It is so easy for me to recognize my weaknesses or challenges. That is why I get easily discouraged or hinder myself from other opportunities because I know I won't excel in that field.

However, on the positive side, admitting one's flaws takes grace and humility. It's about being aware that we aren't perfect takes away the pressure of us and gives us chance to improve ourselves.

Admit mistakes, listen mindfully

It takes courage and humility to admit mistakes. It shows how teachable you are as a person. It empowers us because it opens the doors to better leadership, increased teamwork, improved performance, and better decision-making.

Being a good listener is a gift. However, listening doesn't mean you agree with the other person. Listening means you engage with them. Expressing your thoughts in during conversations determine your character and perspectives in life, in general. That way, you will also find common ground with others more often.

Fix your mindset, embrace failures

Having a positive mindset means being kind to ourselves. It is because it helps us see more opportunities to improve ourselves in the long run. From there, it gives us confidence in our abilities.

Fixing our mindsets starts with focusing on what we have. Practicing gratitude daily, and thinking big. If we are driven to what we have in mind, it improves our mindsets to stick to the goals alongside gratitude for the things we have in hand.

With embracing failures, it's one of a heck hurtful experience. We should always win as much as we want to but then again, failures leave us the most valuable experiences and learnings in life.

If we feel like we are about to fail, embracing it comes with recognizing the difference between fear and procrastination. Let us not let our fears dictate our decisions, and lastly, identify the best and worst-case scenarios.

Stay in shape

Keeping your body in shape improves confidence and the energy to unlock more potential. It boosts our creativity, lowers our stress levels, improves our concentration, and strengthens our immune systems.

I see to it that I do my exercise every day. I skipped my exercise routine last week because I had my period and I just got back from exercising earlier. My body felt heavy already. My God. I should get back to this routine and never skip a day.


When negativity hits you hard, how do you encourage yourself to bounce back? What coping strategy works best for you?


Topic source

Lead image source


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

7
$ 3.34
$ 3.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ellimacandrea
$ 0.03 from @Eybyoung
+ 6
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Knowing my own capabilities that even if I am not capable of one thing I still do it, even if I am aware with the obvious result that I would fail I still try it knowing that after those I could gain something as well as the experience

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I admire you for that. That's courage and not everyone has that. It would be more regretful for not doing things than what you did diba?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo, even if I experience a lot of losses in many competitions at least I was able to gain another set of experience tsaka masaya pa rin kasi may nagiging mga kaibigan ako from different schools

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anong competitions yan? 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cooking competition and photojournalism, nagtry din po ako magmutya kaso di talaga ako para dun pero sobrang sayang experience haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And yeah, I have to save this because the monsters in my head are starting to bother me again ate Jea. I am so pressure right now,. I mean, I should be celebrating because I am about to finish college but thinking about the real world made me weak huhuh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's anxiety, Neil. Remember, those situations do not even exist. Your thoughts are not your reality. Keep that in mind. Tattoo that in your brain. Let's comfort each other here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As for me now, I am trying to come back to a good body shape. Not just for aesthetic reason but mostly for health reasons! πŸ™πŸ™ Praying and hoping na kaya ko pang mpanindigan tong diet na to. Hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Padayon lang miss andi. It'll all be worth it. You're doing great. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Padayon lang jud ta ani dai jeaneth. Di ta mugive up in life kay usa ra ni. And I'm happy I got to know you in this life even virtually lang. ☺️☺️☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hope to meet you soon miss andi. Hehe. We'll never know. 😎

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Self positive talk yung hirap gawin sis para sakin. Kasi pag feel kung di ko kaya yung nangyayari, di ko rin magawang i lift yung mood ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Struggle gyud kaayo sis no? Pero if we won't help ourselves, malubong ratas negativity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

all the things that you mentioned are the things that are exactly what I need also. Medyo alanganin nga lang sa stay in shape hehe. I'm still trying so hard to get back to my workout routine huhuhu. kaya lang food is life tlaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakooo madam, hehe. I regulate na yan habang maaga pa. Kase mahirap na mag bounce back pag napabayaan na. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako naman, if ever I have a struggle,first I pray, then I seek an advice to someone I really trust, and share my thoughts and struggles, then ask for an advice. It helps.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad I found someone who I can be open with to. Super happy gyud ko madam kaya alam ko na makaya na nako whatever situation I'll be because I know I am safe with that person.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ka nindot pod paminawon that your confidence with that person. Lisod makakaplag ug tawo nga kasaligan, maong your so blessed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Right now parang nahihirapan ako mag self care at self help ate. Medyo stress talaga at daming ginagawa. Hays.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pero pag nagka time ka, mgka time ka sa sarili mo ha. Self-love at its finest. ❀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sister believe me if things you mentioned are adopted by any person he or she will be successful in life. Exactly we shall not only stronger but also better version of human.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Do you have mind exercises when your anxiety acts up?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Trials and challenges will make life stronger.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, they will.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako yung tipo ng Tao na pag my problema ako di ko Pino problema yung problema ko kasi the more I think about it maiistress Lang ako Lalo na pag financial problems. Ayaw ko din naapektuhan yung work ko. About naman stay in shape Yun pinaka need ko talaga this time kasi nga nawala na yung self confidence ko dahil sobrang nag gain ako ng weight.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ano workout routine mo madam? So how do you cope up with your problems? Like divert attention to something?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe you're like Japanese, they are depressive people.. madali ma depress sa mga bagay bagay kaya mababa ang birth rate nila. Anyway, at least you're reading that kinds of book para maka tulong sayo.m

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Andami ngang suicidal sa Japan and South Korea madam eh. Grabe mn sad gud ang pressure oy. Pero lage, mao jud ni akong panagang basta mag relapse ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lagi daw ana akong partner, ingana daw sa Japan dali ra ma depress mga tao didto.. ug South Korea pud, murag minus man sad gud ilang moral support system didto kay kanya kanya hustles man gyapon. Maong depressive gyud mga tao

$ 0.00
1 year ago