My Ahjussi

18 57
Avatar for Jeaneth
11 months ago

I just recently watched Summer Strike and Light In Your Eyes kdrama. Both of them are a slice-of-life series. I like these kinds of kdrama. It usually resonates my life and it touches my soul.

And so I thought of watching another slice-of-life kdrama. This was one listed as urgent, most priority on my watchlist do I did. IU is one of the main actor in this series. I'm planning to watch Hotel Del Luna after this because her artistry in this series is so versatile and superb!

Overview

Going back to My Ahjussi or My Mister, its a Korean drama that aired in 2018. It was directed by Kim Won-seok and written by Park Hae-young. The drama follows the story of Lee Ji-an (IU), a young woman in her twenties, who works as a temporary worker in a construction company, and Park Dong-hoon (Lee Sun-kyun), a man in his forties who works as an engineer in the same company. The two develop a deep and meaningful relationship despite their age difference and different life experiences.

The drama deals with several themes such as family, friendship, love, and the struggles of everyday life. It is a slow-paced and character-driven drama that explores the inner struggles of its characters and their relationships with each other.

Casting

I like how each character portrays their own story without having to over-execute it. One of the strengths of "My Mister" is its excellent cast. IU delivers a powerful and emotional performance as Lee Ji-an, a character who has faced many hardships in her life and struggles to make ends meet.

Lee Sun-kyun as Park Dong-hoon, a character who is kind-hearted and compassionate but has to deal with his own personal struggles. The chemistry between the two leads is so transparent and their scenes together are some of the most memorable in the drama.

Despite the speculations of the people surrounding them about the real score between Dong Hoon and Ji An, Dong Hoon maintains to be platonic with Ji An. He's consistent with his genuine intentions and concerns for Ji An. While watching the series and as it progresses, somehow I felt that maybe it could go into a deeper level but it's for the viewers to find out. Though the series has so much to offer other than that.

Cinematography

Another strength of the drama is its beautiful cinematography. The director and the whole crew did an excellent job of capturing the beauty of everyday life and the mundane aspects of the characters' daily routines. The use of lighting and camera angles is also considerably significant, and it adds to the emotional impact of the drama.

OSTs

The soundtrack of "My Mister" is also worth mentioning. It features hauntingly beautiful songs by IU, which perfectly complement the mood and tone of the drama. The music adds an additional layer of emotion to the scenes and elevates the overall viewing experience.

Downside

Then again, "My Mister" is not without its flaws. The drama's slow pace and lack of action may not everyone's cup of tea. To some, you would find it boring because of how slow the paced is but if you look further into its story and core, you will give this a chance.

Some viewers may also find the story too depressing and raw. The drama does not provide a clear resolution to all of its subplots, leaving the viewers hanging.

My rating

My Ahjussi turned out to be a heartwarming series I have watched. It did not disappoint me. The character's lives as portrayed are realistic and humane. It was a great experience watching this.

I'd give this 9/10.


Do you have kdrama recommendations out there? Share it with me :)


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

7
$ 1.45
$ 1.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 2
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
11 months ago

Comments

Naku may bago nanmana akong ililista sa mga panonoorin ko ate ah hehehhe. Thankyou for sharing this ate.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

No probs Lyn. Medyo depressive nga lang sya kase it demonstrates overcoming inner struggles eh and I guess makaka relate ka rin.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

I know this drama but didn't watch.. Wala ba Ajuma? 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Wala madam eh. Baka sa susunod. Haha

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Never pa akong nanonood ng kdrama😔😔

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Bakit naman? Hehe

$ 0.00
11 months ago

I don't know. It may be because it is not popular in our country. can you recommend me a kdrama with lots of lovemaking☺😘

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Oh, I thought you are Filipino? Anyway, lovemaking it is huh? Haha.

Hmm, I can't really recommend one to you though. I'm a fan of fiction/drama series and they're not really into full romance. 🤭

$ 0.00
11 months ago

No, I'm not from the Philippines. I am from turkey. ahahahah yes lots of lovemaking 🙊🙉 I'm sorry if there is fiction and drama. lots of lovemaking and romantic is more beautiful. Pleased to meet you. This is my telephone number +905462657785 : say me hello

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Is this you whatsapp number?

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Yeah

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Can't find you there 😬

$ 0.00
11 months ago

not possible. Make sure you typed the number correctly. +905462657785 I'm waiting for you to say hello😘☺☺☺

$ 0.00
11 months ago

I did but no results 🤭

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Good morning dai. I like IUs acting in Hotel del luna. Pero wala nako ghuman kay di ko ganahan sa male lead. Hahaha.. na watch na nimo ang "Once Again" na kdrama? 50 episode siya. Hehehe. Pero nindutan ko.. mao na ako ma recommend..

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Kahago pud sa 50 episodes miss andi oy. Haha. Maglisod na gani kog human sa 16 🤭 pero thanks for this. Hehe

$ 0.00
11 months ago

characters in a film, reflecting the content, intent and purpose of the film. The director's role is often to make something interesting for the characters, with the aim of being able to reflect a story that can inspire the audience. Sometimes the role of a movie actor can change the character of the audience.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Yeah, it does. Hello there, friend.

$ 0.00
11 months ago