Losing a good friend/lolo

31 51
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Lost a good friend

Four days after New Year's eve (this year) when my grandfather was rushed to the hospital due to high fever and low blood pressure.

5 years ago, he was diagnosed with thoracic aortic aneurysm. I didn't learn about that as I was busy working before until I was told by my sister just days after he was admitted. He didn't show severe signs of sufferings yet although I witnessed how his health slowed down.

He was feeling okay during his 3 days of stay in the hospital. He even said we'll go together to the bank to claim his pension after he gets discharged.

8th of January when he showed discomfort on his chest and back. I witnessed how painful it was for him as I was his watcher on that day.

He asked me to call my grandmother to come over because he wants to see her. He even told grandma, "I thought I would never see you again". As soon as I heard his words, I went to the restroom crying in silent because I could sense that lolo is somehow saying goodbye to us already. He asked for the family to come over to witness everyone's presence.

I told myself that lolo will be okay. I was not ready to let him go yet. We thought everything will be okay until we heard the news from my cousin that lolo is already fighting for his life. He fought for his life for 5 hours then bid goodbye 9 minutes after midnight.

Lolo was a good friend of mine. I consider him as my oldest friend when I became introverted. I remember his stories about how he survived during the world war 2. How he courted lola and how he worked hard as a father of 4.

I have so many great memories with my good friend lolo.

He's my best defender to lola whenever I broke a plate in the kitchen. He promised me to buy me a bicycle when he wins the lottery, but never did. He lets me feed his chickens when he's away for a walk. He spoils me with everything I demand.

I know the feeling of losing a good friend like what @kat2x has written on her article. I like how she recalls the personality of her good friend. I could somehow compare his personality to my lolo as both of them lived as hardworking and optimistic persons.

This serves as my entry for her contest. Here's the link:

https://read.cash/@kat2x/my-first-contest-b47719d4

I would like to invite good friends of mine here in readcash to participate this event. @ellimacandrea @MiCAH_04 and @gohenry

8
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @kat2x
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Comments

You wrote a good article I love that Let support each other check on me too and subscribe back @yomight40

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😒😒😒 I feel you.. I also lost my grand ma. Though i didn't consider her as my close friend but i just miss her.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh sorry

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its alright dear.. I moved on..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay check on my new article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup. A family member who passes away will surely be missed πŸ’”πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lets be relieved that they are at rest now.. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can feel your pain towards losing your grandpa.. Our grandfather also left with all his children and most of his grandchildren around him in the hospital. . He is so dear to us that this big family of ours are all eager to take care of him while he was confined. It somehow relieved the old man from what made him uncomfortable that time - seeing us around him feeling our love and care...

At least he was not alone that time he died a happy man..

Good luck on this contest! πŸ˜ŠπŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At least, he's not in pain anymore.

Thank you for sending me good luck β™₯️☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm so sorry to hear about your loss. I can feel the sadness while reading your article because I know how painful it is to lose a grandpa. Just like yours, my grandpa has been a good friend to me as well. I remember being the favorite grandchild as a kid, he always spoils me with a lot of things. He would carry me on his back and we would go to the ranch to gather some wild fruits. While my mom never gave me money when going to school (because she doesn't want me to buy something unhealthy) grandpa would always give me spare money.

I remember his stories about how he survived during the world war 2. How he courted lola and how he worked hard as a father of 4.

I also love to hear my grandpa's stories about their adventures during the war, how he courted other girls aside from grandma(he's always ready with a love letter when he sees a pretty girl πŸ˜‚) and I love it whenever he plays a spanish music using his harmonica.

So I was really sad when he died several years ago. I also experienced looking after him in the hospital looking terribly sick.

Awesome writing! I hope you win πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a nice feeling when someone can relate to your article. Thank you so much β™₯️

I'm just amazed how clear they remember the details of their memories in the past. I mean, old age leads to being forgetful but this means that those are really memorable ones. You could witness the enthusiasm telling the stories to their grandchildren. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, their ability to retain memories is indeed amazing!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I suddenly miss lolo πŸ’”πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can understand this pain too seeing as my grandfather passed when i was 11. He was my best friend at that time and taught me everything my father never could. My condolences to your lol even if it may be a bit too late

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I appreciate it, for sure lolo is no longer in pain and in peace already. There's something in grandpa's/grandma's love that makes it so memorable and special. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looks like it. It was the kind of love anybody would probably be jealous of. But that's old romance for you, i guess

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is. But it's a happy old romance for me. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seems like it, that's why they're the kind you'd want one day

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its really hard to accept losing someone that has been very important part of our lives :(

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah right but along the way, you will learn to move forward but the memories will remain ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. Those good memories will never be forgotten. Anyway thank you for inviting me to the contest. I love to join 😊 i just need some focus to compose an article hihi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know the feeling. And it takes hours or even days to create one. Hehe πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh touching stoy. It is always hard to lose someone especially someone we most love. The memories give scars in the heart whenever we remember them,, This is for me..great content

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. Yes, memories will forever be remained. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Loss of someone important, is always painful. We should live the pain and the suffer, and slowly, things will move on.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As my recent article says, the pain doesn't go away, you just get used to it. I guess we just learn to deal with it and we get the hang of it.

Thank you for your comment my dear sponsor ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They said Grandparents loved their grandson/daughters twice as their child. I am not so closed with my grandparents but I witnessed the love of my parents with my son.

I know your Lolo will be forever in your heart and those memories of him will be your strength whenever you missed him.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

This is true. At least, he's no longer in pain now. He's happy there having a talk with his friends before ☺️β™₯️

$ 0.00
3 years ago