In Your Light

16 54
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Imprisoned by Darkness

Growing up, making friends didn't become an issue to me. Sort of. Well, when I was in high school, I easily made friends by joining clubs and organizations.

Through this, I considered a sense of belongingness to my peers. However, this group of friends I had was the closest of my close friends. We became best buddies the entire high school year.

When I entered college, I met a new set of friends. My friends in high school still keep in touch but the fact that we no longer see each other that often, the friendship slowly fades away. The bond was no longer there and everyone was already busy with academics.

Meanwhile, in college, I met new friends and they became my best companions. We share snacks and lunch, and we also share answers in activities and exams. Gladly, we were all able to graduate.

Reality kicks in and so we separate ways and have our own paths to take. The group chat which makes noises every day slowly became a room full of dust and loneliness. Everyone was already busy with their jobs. Special celebrations were forgotten.

2019 when I had the darkest moment in my entire existence. I felt like I was left alone. Nothing seemed to matter. I lost the sense of purpose. I hated myself. It was like everyone around me was having fun and enjoying the times of their lives. Then there's me looking at them from afar.

However, God gave me the signal that he's there always. It's just me who walks away from him. I didn't feel his presence when it seemed to me that I was living in darkness. That's when I realized that I was only looking at one corner of the room when there are 4 in total.

It meant to me that when life feeds you doubt, always remember that you will have the options. You are free to make choices. There are four corners of the room and one corner may provide you an easier way to get out of the darkness.

Persistent dark thoughts

When I was recovering, persistent dark thoughts always bothered me. Every day was a constant battle. When I see something sharp, my mind would think to self-harm and remind me again of why didn't I stab my chest. I dealt with it for so long. Although, I still have these thoughts come out rarely but I can bravely shoo them away and handle them with power.

I have managed to pass this through with the help of my extreme support system. They have always been there with me. It was just me who didn't acknowledge them. It was all my fault. I became too selfish and got consumed with my negative thoughts.

Now, I can say that I'm stronger than ever. I may experience darkness sometimes but I'm certain that God will provide through his light.

Song related to darkness

I just recently watched a kdrama series entitled Live and aside from the great storyline, it has epic soundtracks too. They had great song choices to accompany along with the series. One favorite song I listened to was the song In Your Light by Jon Allen.

At first, I really thought it was Rod Stewart because he sounds like him. Then again, the message was all about companionship and trust that even though they are not there for each other physically, they are living with their lights.

On a deeper meaning, I took this as a message that even if you don't feel God's presence, most especially when darkness takes over, please remember that God is ALWAYS doing work in your life. Sometimes He may be behind the scenes, and you may not feel it right away, but he is there.


I just joined @JonicaBradley's prompt series for this week using the wordΒ β€œDarkness.”.

If you want to join, here are your guidelines in joining:

Write an original article about the prompt:Β Darkness

βœ“ At least 600 words.

βœ“ The topic must be your original content.

βœ“ Don't forget to tagΒ @JonicaBradley


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone ❀

13
$ 21.65
$ 21.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
+ 5
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

Amen. Indeed, God is always there for us. We just adapted to the darkness that consumed us that we neglect to focus that even in darkness, He is there. I didn't know that you also went through that darkness and I am glad that we got out. πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi madam. Napadaan ka dito. Hehe. 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think we all have that darkest point in life, and I'm glad that in your darkest you fixed your eyes on Jesus and clinging for His mercy. Praise God coz He never abandons us!

Murag ganahan ko mo watch ana na kdrama dah, next on my list. Salamat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Thank you madam. Nakatuon jud ko nga mas mopa duol sa iya oy. πŸ™

Chada ang Live oy. About sya sa police officers na mg save og lives from the criminals or mga conflict sa palibot. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gipangita nko sa netflix murag nice jud...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What I like the most of your articles are you are telling a story of your own, yong makakarelate ka talaga as reader. I am glad that you have surpassed that dark experiences / battles within yourself. Keep safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat ma'am. I appreciate your comment jud. πŸ˜… Going through it was difficult and I never thought I surpassed it but with God, nothing is impossible. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How strong this you tell us dear friend, but the most important thing is that the darkness did not defeat you, we must understand that unfortunately there are friendships for exact moments, they are with us at certain times, but then they fade, like clouds, then, we will not always be with someone who gives us a helping hand, it is there when that hand we do not have to give them ourselves.

Everything passes, as I always say, even the worst storms pass, you have to move forward, with your head held high, I assume that telling this has not been easy for you, but if you did it, it is because you overcame these hard moments of your life, and I hope they never come back, you are a great woman, who deserves great things, stay strong, smile, everything gets better, everything passes, you are not alone, take care of yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It took for a more than a year of having the courage to tell this in public. It was hard. I was sobbing when I was writing but now, remembering those moments makes me smile and realized how strong I was with God's grace πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damn, this is true. I can relate. I remember someone tolde before about problems. Actually, in our problem, 10% of it is the actual issue and 90% of this is our response.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree. Your life choices influence your future. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. Thanks for this amazing article. By the way I am just new here. Can you give some tips if you dont mind? You inspire me πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I Will check your profile. See you around ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Somehow we partners in life always distance ourselves when we move to another level. In many cases personal contact is important to stay together.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right that's why communication is vital to keep being connected with each other too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So heart touching ❀️❀️❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago