I Lost $600 and Got Scammed, Beware of This Company

65 131
Avatar for Jeaneth
11 months ago

Warning: long article ahead. This narrates the details of how I got scammed worth $600.


Oh man, the past few days were so stressful to me. Things happened so fast. In an instant, I lost $600. It all just happened on the same day. I supposed to write and publish an article days ago but I can't function well because of what happened. So let me share with you my experience with this company that reached out to me and offered me a part time job.

Last Friday, May 19th, I got a telegram notification from a person named Jasmine. Here's a screenshot of the conversation:

As you can see, it is already a deleted account on top. That's when I discovered that they're scammers. They immediately deleted their accounts right after I called them out. But let's go back to where it started.

At first, I was puzzled how did they find me. This person told me they are prohibited to disclose that information. They even make it so believable providing me their websites portraying they're legit and all. Makes me wonder, maybe they're just using this site and act like theirs just to deceive people. Poor company.

They gave me this website: https://newmedia.com/

And so I shrugged it off, I set my suspicions aside and told myself why don't I give it a try. After all, I was so desperate to earn money in all possibilities I could go into.

They introduced me to a task by which all I have to do is to make reviews on different hotels in Google Maps. They will send you the link, complete the task, take a screenshot to show some proof that you're done and get paid.

Completing the sample task.

I opened the link, gave the hotel a good review and got paid!

They introduced me to a person named Vanessa, she's the assigned admin assisting me to get my payout. After providing my Gcash details, I got the money right away. Here's a screenshot of the payout:

That gave me a big boost of hope of me earning money almost effortlessly. I mean, who wouldn't want to just do simple tasks and get paid $1 or $2 right away, right? Man, it only took me seconds to complete the task and got the payout minutes after.

I was invited into a group. A new task is given every after 40 minutes. I managed to earn $5 or 250 pesos in less than an hour. I was so into it and got very excited when another task is given. However, they introduced us a different task to accomplish. I had no idea how to do it but the admin helped me accomplish it. A mentor was assigned to assist me and I just have to follow his instructions and earn money after. I invested 2,000 pesos and earned 2,600 pesos right away.

By the time this task was introduced, I noticed a lot of my co-members in the group investing big amounts of money. They're even sending screenshots of the transactions. It got me thinking.

Chatting other members of the group.

I even messaged some members of the group to verify if the company is really legit. They told me that the company is really legit and they've been working part time there for a more than a month already.

Upon checking the profiles of the other members of the group, I had a hunch that these profiles were newly made and their images were most likely grabbed from Google. Their responses were kinda off and seemed like someone behind that profile is only portraying to be a Filipino.

Nevertheless, I still chose to ignore the red flags because I was so into that moment of earning money. Besides, they have proven me that they're paying so they have gained my trust already. Damn, they're so good in manipulating people. Oh gosh, I was so stupid to ignore all of these signs.

And the scamming begins

They introduced us the investment mission again and I grabbed it because they paid me on my first try. I opted to invest 3000 pesos.

I thought I'll be doing the same task for this but this came out different than the previous one. They didn't tell me that I have to complete 3 tasks in order for me to withdraw my money. The first task was good, I completed it but I need to accomplish 2 other tasks before getting my payout.

The problem is, the second task is worth $200 or 10,000 pesos. I got nervous because I don't have that money in my wallet yet. I only have 4,900 pesos in total and I need to get 5,100 more. I was so pressured to look for that amount because I can't withdraw my money if I don't complete the task. They cornered me to the bones. These scumbags.

I borrowed money to my cousin and continued the task. I thought everything was going well already until the mentor gave me sneaky instructions resulting me to fail the task. I mean, I was so stressed out already. I lost focus and my presence of mind, so following instructions carefully went off the board. Although I realized that they have framed it so well to manipulate the person's emotions. They have designed the instructions to be unnoticeable. Good Lord, they've done it so well.

The most heartbreaking part of all

Since I failed to execute the task correctly, I was forwarded to a person named Kelin. This person told me what to do for me to successfully withdraw my money. Here's a screenshot of the conversation:

They're asking me to pay $400 or 20,000 pesos to restore my account. They explained it so well. I was so shocked but still, I was still determined to get my money back. They even told me I have 44,000 pesos on my account. I was so stupid believing that. But to my defense, I'm pretty sure most people would have the same reaction as I did finding out about my account balance.

To my desperation, I borrowed 20k from my college classmate and promised him that I'll pay him back right away or the next day after I receive my payout. He did and I sent the money the account Kelin gave me.

After sending the money, I asked Kelin if it's all good now. I was already trembling the whole time. I was super stressed, I couldn't focus well, I had so many scenarios created in my head already. What if this won't go well? What if this is a scam? How can I pay my debt? It was the longest 8pm of my life.

Kelin replied and confirmed that they received the money, even told me that purchasing credit points was successful. He even asked my gcash name and number already until he sent me this:

This felt like a barrel or ice was poured unto me. I couldn't help but curse my screen and punched my bed in disbelief. I don't know what to do, I don't know how to take my money back, my body went numb, I couldn't cry because I was so full of blaming myself and regret. Why did I ever got into this situation. I felt betrayed but most definitely angry to myself.

They even had the guts to act mad and come clean. Such great manipulators.

I don't know if the website they gave me is really theirs but these people are undoubtedly, legit scammers. I am full of regrets but what can I do, it happened already.

I'll just let the deities do their job and let the karma serve what they deserved.


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

14
$ 0.70
$ 0.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
11 months ago

Comments

Kasad naman ngyari sayo madam. 😔 but nakakarelate ako though di nga lng ganyan kalaki madam pero yung experience mo about sa mga tasks same na same dun sa kawork ko. Siguro same lng ngyari sa kanya. Di ko na kasi sia nakamusta about dun eh. I know a legit site na gagawa ka ng work tas may pay. Di ka maglalabas ng money madam. Hanapin ko muna sa email ko then balikan kita :)

$ 0.01
10 months ago

Gumuho mundo ko madam nong nag chat na sya na magbayad muna ako ng tax. Kakaloka 🤦

Talaga madam? Sali moko jan please. Hintayin ko balik mo.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Try mo kaya mg online tutorial madam?

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Nakoo, wala akong laptop madam eh. Phone lang meron ako ;(

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Try mo check yung appen. May mga tasks dun. Try mo i check madam baka sakali. Mga kawork ko before dun sila kumita ng malaki din. Depende sa tasks na gagawin.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Nag try ako nyan before madam pero hirap ako maka hanap ng task eh. Tapos ang hirap pa nong available 😅

$ 0.00
10 months ago

gosh kagigil oi.anyway I bump into a similar kind of job offer gikan tos upwork unya through telegram sila magpacontact if interested ka so I tried to message them to confirm if tnuod ba ang ilang job offer so naa silay ghatag nga intructions sa job pero nagwonder ko ky very simple job pero ang sweldo pwerteng dakoa so nagduda ko wa ko nidayon.. diha pud isa telegram ghapun nagpacontact ang job offer is I have to pay a certain amount before I can start the job marefund ra daw ang amount nga akong gsend inag human sa task .LOL wa ko oi ngita gani ko ug kwarta unya pabayaron pa nuon ko ,sa my kalibutan nako ug di oroy sila murefund.. Bitaw basta muinvest najud ug kwarta mahadlok jud ko. Nascam nako ug mga ginagmay b4 like $1 or $2 pero sakit natos dughan for me ky di lalim mangita ug kwarta.Sorry to hear that about sa dakong kwarta nga nascam nila nimo bhe.

$ 0.01
10 months ago

Grabe ka traumatic gyud madam oy. Na manipulate gyud ko nilag tarong. 😞 Gakalat na silas social media oy. Too bad it costed me $600 to learn from this 💔

$ 0.00
10 months ago

yes lesson to learn najud to sis.maayo kaayo sia ni manipulate nimo ky nisalig jud ka bah

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Hala uy jeaneth magkurog-kurog man sad akong balahibo ani ug basa. 💔

Adtong January or February, naa koy nakita nga online job for students. So akong gicontact ilang WhatsApp. Natingala ko ang profile kay si Francine Diaz unya ang apelyido kay Dalisay. Akong gichat na, how can I work part-time. Nag reply siya ug tinagalog pero nahalata nako na gi-google translate. Nakaana ko, murag scammer ni ay. Nagpa-arung ignon Lang nga pilipinong dako. So akong gisakay-sakayan tas pinaka last giignan nakog "stop fooling people, you are stupid pretending to be filipino. You can't even speak proper filipino."

Fast forward..naa napud nichat nako nga Filipina ang profile sa WhatsApp. Ang apelyido pinoy pero halata nga kinawat. Kabalo nako nga scam so akong gisakay-sakayan. Giignan nako nga "I know that profile picture you are using. That's not even you." End of discussion.

Kabalo ka Jeaneth, mga "professional scammers" na sila. Mao na ilang "work", kung naay prosti, naa say scammer ang tarbaho. Pagkakita nako sa imong gi-ss na picture ni Paolo unya ang nireplyan kay naay "am" diretso nagsugod..kabalo ko asa nga country..gikan sa Bombay na nga nasod. Sakto akong assumption sa dihang nabasa nako ang comment diri sa imong post nga kana nga country ang naay call center nga scam ang ginabuhat.

Mao pud ni nganong naay SIM registration. Kay gagamit silag Philippine number para mangilad. Nanghinaot ko nga mangapriso na sila ug unta atong gobyerno naay action. Grabe Ka alarming..

$ 0.01
11 months ago

My gosh Syd, perti jud nakong biktima sa ilang modus oy. As in ba, maskin sa Whatsapp, naa pud ga reach out? Grabe gyud sila oy. Nawala jud nga murag bula akong 33k. Grabe jud akong pagbasol nganong nikagat ko sa ilang modus. Na bantayan baya nako at first nga medyo awkward ilang responses pero ni padayon gyapon ko. Bugoa lage 😞

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Mga baga kaayog nawng ba, di man molaban og patas sa kinabuhi ba. Mga leche.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

how to play them really clean and really sneaky. your story is like mine when you first got to know short-term investing. only I lost $80 in 4 hours. and from your story that you explained above, it is a valuable lesson for everyone so that they are not easily incited to put funds in an unnatural place, especially telegrams. Hopefully with this incident, you will become more aware of offers that make more money and quickly in a short time. Even if it does pay, you just do it once, then leave.

$ 0.01
11 months ago

Right, funny how I should learn it the hard way and it costed me $600 for me to be fully aware. My money turned into ashes that instantly 💔

$ 0.01
11 months ago

Hala Jeaneth. Gusto kitang pagalitan hayssss. Bakit huhu. Wag kana nagpapaniwala sa ganyan . Anlaki nung nawala sayo

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
11 months ago

Vulnerable and desperate madam eh. It will play with your emotions and when you're at it, I doubt many people would fall into their scheme talaga. Kmusta ka?

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Anlaki Kasi madam. Ako noon na scam pero 1k lang. Pero same feels despe din Kasi kumita huhu. Okay nàman ako hehe. Alive and kicking padin

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
11 months ago

That's good to know. What makes you busy na?

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Affiliate padin sa TikTok hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
11 months ago

Oh no. Ang laki ng na scam sayo dai... Grabe.. ahaka sad ana nila. Well the way nimu gi narrate ang ila modus kay feeling sad nako kay madala sad ko nila ba... Mka tempt man jud samot nanang invest2 oi..

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Miss andi 😞💔 naguol gyud kaayo ko oy. Nagka utang-utang na nuon kog samot. Pastilan.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Lagi dai. Maka guol jud bitaw situation nga ing ana. Kay ga expect ka ug return, nuon ang nahitabo kay wala nay return, nka utang pa jud ka. Mkalagot man ana nga mga company oi... Mga scammer kaayo sila..

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Dghan kaayo mangingilad miss andi oy. Maong beware mo sa ani nga mga modus. Ironic lang kaayo ba kay it costed me 33k to learn about this. Hahaay. Pero unsaon ta man.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Ka dako pod sa nawala oi, grave daghan na jud ug mudos Ang mga scammer karon, naga receive pod kog mga message ba, pero delete agad oi,labi na di ta kaila tapos wa gane ko nag apply.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Grabe sila mangitag paagi madam oy. Maayo kaayo ilang pag design sa modus. Mga bagag nawng.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Mga way balatian ning mga scammers ba.Magpahimulos sa hago sa ubang tawo .

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Mao gyud madam. Di ba sila mo laban og patas sa kinabuhi ba nga iya-iya tag paningkamot.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Hala madam ang laki nun, mandurugas tlaga mabubulaklak ang bibig, naku madam maging trauma mo na yan at talagang never ka ng maglalabas ng pera sa mga online site, ganyn ako nung nascam ako ng almost ₱100k sa peso

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Jusko madam, na scam ka rin pala before? Almost 100k pa? 🥺💔

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Oo madam, nag-apply ako work UK naman nskilalako lng din online

$ 0.00
11 months ago

So sad madam 🥺😞 andami talagang mga manloloko no. They should rot in hell.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Oo madam, at dahil ngadun sa ngyaring un, natraum ako maglabas ng pera sa tao hindi ko kilala or mga apps online na need maglabas ng pera, puro free ang hanap ko

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Nakaka trauma nga madam. Natuto ka na at ako rin because of this. 😞

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Oo madam malaking lesson tlga yan

$ 0.00
11 months ago

ang sakit naman sis...sorry about this.. marami talagang taong magpansamantala! huhu

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Maayo kaayo pagka frame madam oy. Professional scammers gyud to sila ba

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Madam naman! Bat naman, kapag nag ask na ng money dapat ekis na agad 🙅, pero, haisssst! Ang dami talagang mapagsamantala sa earth, I hope makarma yan sila! $600 is really big 🥺. I hope sana mabawi mo yan sa ibang platform or sige or maybe sa other job.

As for those people na biglang nagmemessage sa TG, matic na delete yan sakin. I dont even open it kasi I know na wala silang mabuting maidudulot, baka maengganyo pa ko, naku naku. Pero if kaharap ata kita madam mapapalo wari kita sa puwet 🙄😆

$ 0.01
11 months ago

I don't know madam eh, I have been very careful with my activities online pero iba tong na encounter ko ngayon. I was also in a vulnerable state kaya kumagat ako. Naexcite ako and they were paying naman so I got blinded, even chose to ignore the red flags. Ang stupid ko talaga. This will haunt me forever 🥺💔

Welcome back pala. Hehe

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Amiga siento mucho que hayas pasado por esa mala experiencia, eso es triste y lamentable 🥺 Que las bendiciones del Creador te multiplique lo perdido económicamente y tengas paz y puedas pagar el dinero prestado ✨

$ 0.01
11 months ago

hola carmencita. muchas gracias por enviarme tu pésame. Realmente espero poder compensar los errores que cometí. Que Dios me ayude.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

I hope all the scammers people will get and go to.jail

$ 0.01
11 months ago

I really hope so. They should rot in hell.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Hala madam. Dami nagmemessage sakn sa telegram after I provided my number sa FB. I'm not minding them kasi even if they provide proof of payments, it'll always end up as scam. You should learn a lesson from it..

$ 0.01
11 months ago

Yeah, I learned my lesson madam. They did a great job of making me fall into that hole. Grabe yung scheme nila 🤦

$ 0.00
11 months ago

I can't believe you were so "innocent" to believe in that scam. It was very clear that these types of ponzi schemes are.

I guess being so young you believe in such nonsense, as a general rule, if it seems too good, it won't be....never forget it.

$ 0.01
11 months ago

I blamed myself for falling into this scheme Rei. I have been so cautious with my activities online but this one was different. They have framed me so well. Damn it 💔 this is gonna haunt me forever!

$ 0.00
11 months ago

all telegram scams proceed in the same way, the one you suffered is surely from people in India who are dedicated to that. But they are all the same, U91 and all those betting systems are not legitimate, you should not fall for that. And I hope you win Bob's challenge, because I want to scold you with a bucket of cold water for letting you fool hahahaha.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Damn, these scammers are Indians? Anyway, why would they do such a thing like this? They're so smart but they are using their intelligence in a wrong manner. They should rot in hell 😭

$ 0.00
11 months ago

India is where most of the organized scams are found, followed by Haiti and other countries. They do it because they live from it, they have hundreds of people dedicated to scamming people daily, if you knew the amount of money they scam daily you would be surprised, they can easily achieve $50,000 on a good day.

It is an organized crime business that has been running for many years. Hundreds of people work in a call center (see photo below of a fake call center in India).Image courtesy of Youtube channel Scammerspayback. photo.jpg

$ 0.00
11 months ago

My gosh. I am such a naive to not know these schemes exist and it costed me $600 to be enlightened and learn from it. So heartbreaking 🥺💔

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Damz, nabalita ni aiya kagabie ba, nga daghan na scam. I don't know kung same lang mog platform nasudlan pero same process man gud ang pagka hook sa tawo.

Magabaan ra na sila.

$ 0.01
11 months ago

As in madam? Can you provide me the link madam? Grabe lage oy. Namugnaw gyud ko sa kaguol nga di ko kasabot oy 😞 magabaan gyud na sila unta. Nganong di mana sila mo laban og patas sa kinabuhi oy

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Sa Tv nako nakita. Wala koy link. Sorry

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Sorry Jeaneth you went through this. It's happened to thousands of people. It's a hard lesson but I'm sure you are more aware now and this won't happen to you in the future.

$ 0.01
11 months ago

Hi Bob, it is such an unfortunate consequence I have to face but what can I do. I was so mad at myself, I have a lot of what ifs but it won't change the situation still. 🤷

$ 0.02
11 months ago

Yes it will be a stinging thing that will be with you for awhile but not forever. You will remember but the stinging will lesson.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

I'm so sorry about whole your efforts and time has been lost. We all need to be prepared for that moments and find another way to regain wasted.

$ 0.01
11 months ago

It's gonna take a long time for me to restore the money I lost. I am filled with regrets 😞

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Hayst ,grabe naman.May nag invite din sa akim ng ganito dati buti nalang nalaman ko kaagan na needed ng malaking pera ,at wala ako nun kaya binlock ko agad. So sad to hear this,nakakaiyak huhu .

$ 0.01
11 months ago

Mura kog mabuang pagka basa nako sa chat niya nga mobayad pakog 19k nga tax oy. Leche gyud kaayo. Naluya jud ko 😞

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Grabeha nila maam oy ,hanasa kayo huhu grabe way mga konsensya .Sayon ra kaayo nila mag ing-ana.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Mao gyud ay. Di ko kasabot ba nganong mahimo na nila. Kabalo sila nga masakitan ang tao sa ilang buhaton but they still choose to do it. 💔🥺

$ 0.00
11 months ago

I also experienced a scam, a few years ago and I had to lose money. Many frauds in the virtual world and their scenarios can make us fall into the hole.

$ 0.01
11 months ago

I am so dumb falling into that hole. I have been so cautious with my activities online but this one worked out to me. Damn 😭

$ 0.00
11 months ago