How I Spent The Holy Week (Part I)

17 193
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

There comes a moment in your life when you wanted to seek more attention for yourself. As time goes by, you would notice that you keep on thinking about other people's welfare but you forgot to think for your own good too.

Holy week. Others would take this as an ordinary usual week but for Roman Catholics, it is something that we practice. Again, religion is a complex issue that not everybody shares the same opinions.

For some, Holy week is an opportunity to go on a vacation and relax with their loved ones. As for me, I spend Holy Week at home and follow the family's tradition.

I grew up in a religious family. Since I was younger, my most memorable moment with my grandparents is to go to church every Sunday. They never miss a mass unless they can't, like arthritis and other senior citizen's health issues.

My parents also go to church every Sunday. My mother is consistent too and never misses a mass. My father sometimes skips church because of hangover πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ So, enough of the religious practices of the family.

March 28, 2021 (Palm Sunday)

You would know that it's the start of the Holy Week when people going to church are bringing palm leaves with them. Palm leaves represent victory, triumph, and eternal life.

Even if Jesus Christ already know about his fate, he still looked forward to the people to witness his coming.


Mass is 5:30 am, so we woke up at 4:45 am. I got up feeling so sleepy but I need to move those legs and get ready. When we arrived at the church, as always we were one of the earliest people. My grandmother always has 30 minutes allowance of waiting rather than running late. She hates that. My mother got that attitude too and I guess I have it too already.

Grandma forgot to bring palm leaves so she asked me to buy some outside the church. Three girls are forming a cross from those leaves so I asked if how much it was and they said that it's free.

I took three of those assembled crosses and pick one leaf to make myself one. I gave them 20 pesos as a sign of gratitude even though they were not willing to accept it. I just told them that it's for their snacks.

We shaked our palm leaves like how people did it during Jesus Christ's time. The mass presider blessed us with holy water while raising it.

The mass already started and I have to admit, I lost focus and spaced out. The narration of the journey of Jesus Christ was too long and my knees almost gave in.

It took an hour and 15 minutes for the mass to end and we feel blessed every time. We went home and I put my formed cross in our room's door with a rosary on it.

April 1, 2021 (Maundy Thursday)

This is when the last supper happened. Jesus told his disciples about their sins committed along with Jesus' heartbreaking passion for death.


Too bad, I had my first day of my period and the pain was just unbearable. As much as I wanted to go with them to attend the mass but I couldn't handle the pain my period was giving me.

My mother and my grandmother left the house first to secure their seats inside the church. My grandmother never ran out late in masses. Then my sister and our working left the house too, a few minutes after.

So I was left alone in the house with Sunny. The mass started at 6:15 pm so they came home a bit late for dinner. I just cooked fried fish for us since we practice not eat pork during Holy Week.


I was watching the film Hello, Love, Goodbye by Kathryn and Alden on TV while cooking the fish. I didn't know that the movie would be good. I'm not really a fan of the lead characters but the story is relatable especially to those who work overseas.


The remaining days of the Holy Week will be published in my next article Part II.

Thank you for reading.

Keep safe everyone! ❀

12
$ 16.09
$ 15.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 6
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Comments

The pleasing part of this year's Holy Week ay ung weather hindi masyado mainit.. At ung experience ko during good friday that I shared here few days back, so uplifting talaga.. Glad you had a wonderful time!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kame sa bahay lang we were not able to go to church since its GCQ here and the mayor said their will be no mass gathering gusto din sana namain lumabas at mamasyal kaso madaming pulis na nagbabantay kaya no choice kundi manatili sa bahay para na rin sa kaligtasan ng lahΓ t

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Samin din, sa bahay lang kamo. Sarado ang tindahan ng 2 days. Si Mommy D nagrorosary, ako nasa kwarto may sariling mundo πŸ™ˆ. Sa normal na araw, noon nagpoprosisyon kamo tuwing hapon kaso mo nga wala munang ganyan ngayon. Nagninilay nilay tas nag aayuno din kami.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ano yang ayuno madam? Hehe. Mapalad kami dito kase allowed kami mg attend ng mga activities for Holy Week. Pero yung station of the cross, within the church lng, hindi yung usual na mahaba ang lakarin kada station.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ung di kakain, or pwdng kaunti lang kain mga ganon haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aaah, fasting. Hehe. Sa bisaya madam is "puasa" ang term. πŸ˜… kami rin pero ngayon Good friday nlng di parehas before na starting Ash Wednesday ay ga puasa na.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yan yan nga ahaha. Nalimutan ko engols nyan ee ahahaha. Basta ayuno samin dito yan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bat parang baliktad yung cross πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaa. Kaya nga eh. Di ko na binago, hirap na kamay ko eh πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Jane May kaibigan kasi siya na di na halos naniniwala sa Diyos, kaya binaligtad niya ng sadya yan, para raw tugisin ang masamang ispiritu na nasa kalooban ng taong iyon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana nga mag work yan. That's the least I can do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ikaw b yun? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo, ako nga.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

(Belated) Happy Easter, Jeaneth! 😊 that cross looks so good. I miss some Holy werk traditions. Years ago my mom and I would do stations of the cross I think every Friday night here in our parish along with other church goers. Honestly, we never really hear Sunday masses especially when I was growing up. But I was lucky because our school would have first Friday masses. And after my first operation, my faith grew deeper and stronger. My friends were even teasing me that I might end up being a nun for being a regular church goer and a person who regularly prays the rosary. But then I became busy with work that I missed Sunday masses once again. Instead I would just pray on my own and ask for forgiveness.

Hala napaenglish ako. Hahahaha. At pang article na sa haba! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Napa share ka tuloy πŸ˜† Catholic school kayo nung high school? Kami din kaya siguro na sustain ko ang habit. Naging psalmist din ako and lector every first friday mass or even sa sunday din.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup since grade school gang college Catholic school. Nagjoin nga ako nung activity sa church yung renewal experience. 2 whole days yun parang mga recollection. Masaya. Tapos nagtanong sila if gusto namin sumali sa paglector. Ay naku yan ang malabo talaga sa akin. Hahaha. Shy ang lola mo. Stage fright. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Ma co-conquer mo sana yon. Ako din naman, sobrang shy ko sa mga tao pero pag andon na sa lectern, okay na.

$ 0.00
3 years ago