How Do I Excel Without Passion?

14 60
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

We often hear this statement, "If you love what you're doing, you'll never have to work every day". Is it possible to excel without feeling the fire inside your heart that keeps you going?

Here's my takeaway on that.

Passion is like a fuel, not an engine.

Treat your job, business, investment or anything you like to do as a car. It wouldn't move unless you put fuel on it. What keeps the car moving? What's the reason why you like to keep moving forward?

Simple, because you have a reason. You have a specific reason why you always grind. There has to be an exact purpose why you do it every day. That's passion. Your passion could be giving your family a comfortable life. I am pretty sure that all breadwinners in the family can relate.

Work, business, or anything that you do is just a vehicle to fulfill your passion. So your passion is not about what you do, it's about the reason why you keep doing it even if you're struggling.

So as long as you have fuel in that tank, you will keep moving. The car never stops. You may be running out of fuel but you can go to a gasoline station and refill that tank.

The same goes in life. If you feel like giving up, or running out of fuel, take a break.

How to refill that tank for fuel? Or car maintenance?

That's when you go to your safe place or safe people. It is also important to take a rest and engage with your friends or find a hobby so you will have an outlet to release the toxicity you have in mind while driving.

You need to clear things up to regain that focus, that passion that drives you towards your goal. If you don't find your passion, it's gonna be a long and bumpy road that awaits you.

Passion means "to suffer".

It comes from the Latin word, "patior" which means "to suffer". This basically means that life is a journey full of struggles. It's not going to be an easy one. So when you say, you are passionate to make a comfortable life with your family, then be ready to suffer.

It's like choosing what path to take onto. You may choose the one who takes the longest route but just consider the journey, challenges, and struggles behind that upon reaching the finish line.

Passion is far from a hobby or a dream

Often times we tell people, "My passion is to sing, or dance or drawing". Passion is more than just a hobby. It is the reason behind it.

When everything goes wrong with something that you do and you're still there committed to continuing doing it whatever it takes, then that's passion.

Even if you are no longer happy doing the job but you still choose to stay because you believe that it's the only vehicle that leads you towards your goal then that is passion.

Passion works in various ways.

You might not see it but you can feel the passion in your heart. If you found your passion by making a difference in someone's life, you go out there trying your best to help them, that's passion.

It is an intense feeling of willingness that whatever happens, you don't easily give up because you have fuel in your heart that keeps you going. Always go back to the main reason why you started it.

Passion isn't always a positive emotion.

We have to admit it, one way for us to cope up with a situation is to complain about it. After complaining, that reaction feeds into your mind to give you that desire to strive more to prove someone or something wrong.

Passion as your motivation.

I believe this word fits perfectly as a synonym to passion. It could be a personal motivation, one good example for that would be solely about your family. It could also be a public or general motivation where your want to make other people happy and make a difference with their lives.


Whatever it is that you are going through, I hope you have that passion that keeps you going. Enjoy the ride!

Lead image source

Reference


Thanks for reading!

Keep safe everyone ❤

13
$ 11.23
$ 10.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @Winx1988
$ 0.08 from @Jinifer
+ 8
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

I wish to find my true passion soon. For me it's not yet clear what my passion is, but for now I will just keep moving and mind the present.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a hopeful statement. I liked it. This goes to show that you don't easily give up instead you keep pushing forward to find that true passion ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a good read, Jeaneth! Whenever I feel like losing hope, I always come back to 'my whys'. Why am I doing all of these in the first place? I guess that is my fuel that's keep me going.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We're on the same page, Mrs. Paminta. 😁 Our emotional whys are our main motivation to keep us going.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When everything looks tiring and nothing seems too good on the path we are walking through, passion is what motivates us to keep going in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. It serves as our main motivation to keep moving even if it is the hardest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoyed the ride even its bumpier than the typical one. That's the passion of taking the challenges no matter how difficult it is towards my family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup. The passion is enjoyable when you persist and become resilient to every challenge. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you sis... ❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will keep it in mind hehehehe. Kapag daw Kasi passion mo never Kang mapapagod.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

And I firmly believe na your passion is to give your family a comfortable life. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like passion in my activities. Effort has its rewards.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perfect combination. You will surely achieve it ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I put passion into what I do these days. I like my ultrasound images and I am passionate about planting, transplanting and harvesting. It's what I believe keeps me alive. Otherwise I would be tired of doing the same thing for so long.

$ 0.00
2 years ago