Highlights of My Teaching Career (III)

15 43
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

This article was supposed to be published right after the second part of it but I was more driven to write articles about the writing prompts for "Similarities" and "Darkness". Now, I finally got the chance to continue sharing with you my fun journey in my teaching career.


One of the most fun activities students would look forward to is the school's Intramurals.

Intramurals is a perfect event for students who want to show their talents in sports, music, and arts. It also measures a test of character and leadership to someone who is in charge of the activities. It is also a great moment to develop friendships and flirtations (you know what I mean).

Other couples dating while watching their classmates play for the team, some would prefer to stay in the classroom and share earphones while talking. This is why they love Intramurals so much because they get their chances to do what they like and not think about academics in the meantime.

Meanwhile, as the Supreme Student Council adviser, I'm overall in charge of the 4-day event. Imagine how stressful it was for a kid-like instructor to organize the event. Good thing was that, I was with my ever-supportive colleague to help me run through the activities.


Pre-Intramurals

Before the sports event, the school found its balance to incorporate music and arts in the activities too. This happens 2 months before the Intramurals proper. It's kind of weird but we just followed the calendar of activities.

The school is divided into 4 teams: Avira, Kaspersky, McAfee, and Avast. Each team consists of the courses and strands offered by the school.

Since I was the event coordinator, I didn't belong to any of the teams. However, my heart goes to team McAfee because of my students who were close to me.

In this event, the students showcased their talents in singing, dancing, and spoken poetry. Some students came out from their shells and wowed the audience. You would never really thought that a student can have this powerful talent in this field. Then again, talent shows no face, it's in the heart within.

Mr. & Ms. ACLC 2016 and 2017

During my first year of teaching in the school, the venue for this special event is traditionally at NCCC Mall of Davao. However, after two years in my service, which happened after I resigned, they changed venue and settled in Matina Town Square. Maybe the budget was already tight at that time.

The candidates, as shown in the picture were wearing their festival costumes. They took extensive efforts to come up with a great costume but it paid off anyway as all of them looked so gorgeous and handsome wearing it.

It was the most stressful day in my entire life. I couldn't even eat properly because my mind was so busy thinking about the things that needed to be done. From the tabulation of the scores, distribution of awards, intermission numbers, and arrangement of the program.

How can you not be pressured when you are hosting an event in front of many people inside the mall. It would catch their attention and might comment bad things about it.

I have heard negative feedback after the event and I got hurt but I took it as a challenge and inspiration to do better. There will always be negative feedback. You can't please everyone. People will always have something to say regardless if it's flawless or not.

Intramurals 2016 and 2017

This is the first day of Intramurals where sports are the main course. We started the events with the lighting of the torch, where it symbolizes sportsmanship, peace, and unity. After passing the torch from the team advisers' they passed it to me to light the urn recognizing that the intramurals have finally started.

Look at that urn and torch. They both looked like they're heavier than me. I was quite panicking at that time because the urn was not lighting up and the torch was slowly getting burned almost half of the handle. The gas could have leaked through the wood but thank God it didn't happen and I managed to light it up eventually.

Cheer Dance Competition

The games have finally started. We started with banner raising. It was so thrilling to watch. Each team was represented by two members, 1 guy, and 1 girl.

Then we proceeded to cheer dance competition. All of us had fun when our co-teacher joined the show and entertained everyone.

These students were from team McAfee. They were my favorites. I apologize for being such biased. They were my closest so that explains why.

I remember those times when they were working so hard to finalize the stunts but one got injured so they have to replace her. However, nobody wants to volunteer. Remy volunteered but her lifter was struggling the whole time because of her weight. Nevertheless, the presentation went well.

Tug of War

I believe this was the most exciting, thrilling, exhilarating activity ever. The event was divided into 3 categories. Boys vs boys, girls vs girls, and instructors vs instructors (via team assignments).

You could see the determination through this photo. They were really aiming hard for the place but the other team was stronger than them. They lost the duel but they certainly had fun. We all had.


Acquaintance 2017

I'll just add this highlight here because I almost forgot it and now the sequence of events is ruined. Anyway, in August 2017 when we had our Denim & Bohemian theme acquaintance party.

The venue was in Grand Menseng Hotel. We have catered around 300 to 400 guests at that time. The party was a success. We managed to end it with grace and power.

Here's a photo of me with my colleagues. I'm with Ma'am Shiela and Ma'am Cest.

While this is a group photo with my colleagues and my students.


So I guess I'm gonna end it here. I have released too many photos already. I'm afraid these will be used for some malicious activities online. I hope not.

Overall, I'm deeply satisfied with my experiences in the Academe. It was humbling to be part of it even in a short period. I have matured and developed friendships within my circle.


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone. ❤

13
$ 22.13
$ 21.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 5
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

Helloooo 😁 I'm back. Hahaha. Ganda ng teams pero familiar lang ako with McAfee and Kaspersky.

Anyhow, nung grade school and high school lang ako nakaexperience intramurals. Tapos sports fest naman tawag nung grade school kami. Nung high school active na ako kahit nahihiya ako. Pero pilit yun kasi I was more on the heavy side so my classmates pushed me to be a member of tug of war. Napaenglish! Hahaha. So from 1st to 4th year, member ako. Sa pagkakaalala ko hindi kami nagchampion ever. Hahaha. Ibig sabihin hindi pa kami ganun ka mabibigat. Pero ang saya kapag intrams week talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. At least naka experience ka madam. Sobrang saya din ng experience sa intrams, walang assignments na atupagin for the mean time. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This makes me reminisce my high school and college days! I am the happiest every Intrams coz this is one way for me to really enjoy and less assignments haha! But this is really one of those times when students get to show what they got other than the academe. Thank you for sharing such experience. Way before I was advised to be a teacher but I did not follow because I do not think it is for me, temper wise hahah.

And oh hello to you! I am just a newbie roaming around :">

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. It will really measure your patience. You need an extra mile of it.

So what is your profession now? Hello, welcome here. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is also a great moment to develop friendships and flirtations ----dito ko natawa. hehe kasi di ko makarelate dun sa flirtation ta lagi naming ginagawa sa intrams andun sa bukid ang nagpipicnic. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Perfect opportunity yan nila mag flirt-flirt madam. Maraming love stories na nag start sa intrams. 🤦‍♀️😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

may nabubuntis pa madam.haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun lang. Hahaha. Hay nako 🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

During intrams, may mga gusto ring buntisin ko sila. Kaya lang I keep on refusing them. Mabait kasi ako. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Char. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakaka miss yung ganyan hayyys.. yung isang linggong intrums hahaha. sana mabalik pa ang mga panahon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana nga. Yung sobrang saya lng ng lahat then competitive masyado. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am an education student. Your article really give me amazing glimpse of what is waiting for me , if I don't give up. Thanks for this 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, you wouldn't give up. You have a tough personality and spirit. You'll get through it. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Your words are so uplifting ma'am 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago