Hear My Song, But Let’s Break Down The Process First

30 53
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

I’ve been a computer teacher, I’ve been a call center agent, I’ve been through a lot of emceeing gigs. But let me tell you my friends that nothing could be as equally exciting as these recent activities I’ve been dealing with: home music recording.

I hope you’ve followed this article series I’ve been babbling here lately, so it will be easier for you to jump right into the discussion that will follow.

So how do we exactly do our thing? How did we get through the process to complete our upcoming digital album? Here’s the process folks.

Rewriting Gifter’s old songs

We originally planned to do cover songs first months ago, so we can have some side-income along the way. But knowing that the COVID scare prevented many bars from opening, we decided to skip it and go straight to practicing Gifter’s original compositions.

Ever since during his college days, Gifter has been writing songs already. Years later as he became a teacher, he still wrote a few hymns. We re-tailored those songs so it would fit our “alternative-acoustic setup.”

It was one of the earliest challenges we have to go through since most of Gifter’s songs were crafted to fit in a “fully-noisy band” with a male lead and backup singers. Apparently, he never thought that his fate would lead him to a direction in which he’d be teaming up with a newbie female keyboardist from Bukidnon.

So for many weeks, Gifter re-wrote huge parts of some of his old songs which he sang for years, so I would sing some of them, and so the back up vocals would suit a female singer.

Writing new songs

From my perspective, all of Gifter’s fully written songs sound good enough already. But being so obsessed with our possible “road to greatness,” he decided he should write 2 more songs that would be perfect for our tandem.

He then wrote a “scientific love song” in which there would be no guitar parts – because he wants to project his “emotero side” which he believes would only happen if we would have a piano-themed love song with him on the vocals and me on accompaniment.

To balance it out, he also wrote another acoustic song in which there would be no piano parts – it would then be my chance to project the “singerist in me” hehe.

Practicing our ten-song repertoire

This is were our bond as friends and as music partners was truly strengthened. For nearly 3 months, we spent 5 days a week, with 4 hours of practice each time. It was truly grueling since aside from dealing with the hardships of perfecting tunes, harmonies, and voice blends, I would also have to deal with Gifter’s arrogance and annoying behavior.

Thankfully though, I got the hang of it to the point that I didn’t notice I’m also becoming as arrogant as him, kind of… slightly, hehe. When we finally polished the tenth song, I can remember I felt so elated like – I graduated from a very hard educational course. It felt very satisfying.

We have ten songs that we wrote, arranged, and polished ourselves… what an elation it really is to feel like a professional music artist!

Recording the instrumentals

Using Gifter’s old laptop, my phone, my keyboard and his acoustic guitar, we recorded the instrumentation parts of our songs right inside Gifter’s bedroom. To make our parts as close to being perfect as possible, Gifter decided we should record our parts per section.

For instance, he would record the verse, chorus, and refrain of his guitar parts, and copy and paste them whenever possible. This way, it would be easier for us to manage the mistakes we make. Once I arrive at his place, we would then record the piano parts, and merge them into his guitar parts.

After I go home, Gifter would then work his magic with some computer software and countless hours of research. This is where I feel so bad for my buddy… he works so hard and rarely rests. “Oh, if only I could do more to compensate for all his efforts.”

Dealing with Gifter’s frustration

After nearly a month of recording and re-recording some parts, we came to a point when we need to accept the limitations of our equipment and resources. I can see how frustrated Gifter’s face was when he realized that his knowledge and skill as a musician was hindered due to our lack of professional equipment.

The least I could do was tell him, “As long as we can get the message of our songs clearly to our listeners, it should be enough.” I told him that there are songs out there that were recorded in a raw and semi-unprofessional way, but still got famous.

We just have to be satisfied with what we have, for now,” I added. I further convinced him that once we have a bigger budget soon, we will just improve our output.

Recording the vocal parts

I can say this is where the real fun begins. While listening to our initial outputs, Gifter commended me for singing better than him – something that I have a hard time believing. I don’t know if he’s just being too nice but he said my voice sounds better than his.

He thought maybe it’s because my mouth was closer to the mic when I sang. But he then conceded that his husky voice is just not as nice to my feminine, clearer voice.

To grasp what I truly mean by this, you may listen to the first song we recorded. It’s a tagalog song Gifter wrote with the title, “Ngiti At Pighati (Smile and Grief).”

Here’s the Google Drive link to our first original song:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1y0LSwgLOv6cxy_xnQarfzKFMcWyED1sP/view?usp=sharing

Please bear in mind that it’s only a rough edit. We will still improve this once our mixing skills get better. If you can give constructive criticisms on our first song, that would be such a great help for us.


Thanks for reading!

Keep safe everyone.

9
$ 2.05
$ 1.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
+ 5
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Sobrang ganda ng boses at ng message ng kanta ate Jea huhu. Sobraaaaaaa. huhuh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Waahhhh! I won't let this pass ate Jea without hearing it. I am so happy for the both of you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sarap pakinggan ate! hehehe. And then yung lyrics sobrang ganda!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, Lynn ❤️ kumakanta ka rin ba? Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi po ate hehehe, medyo sabog pag kumakanta ako hehe. Si Cherry po magaling kumanta.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wooo, ganon ba? 😍 pa sample naman Cherry!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love your voice bhie❤ sarap sa ears. Pati si Prince napa strum sa gitara nya e😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you madam. Hehe. Musically inclined pala si Prince ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really love listening to music, i think I would take time to listen to this particular one. That's good of you friend.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, Fairguy. Much appreciate it ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ate ang ganda pala talaga ng boses mo grabe. Feeling ko nakikinig ako sa isang Radyo tas suitable yung boses mo sa teaching eh. Yung mga teaching sa Youtube for kids. 10/10.

Ang buhay ay laro Minsan panalo, minsan bigo

So truee. Wala eh, fate talaga natin ang minsan nasa taas at minsan nasa baba naman. Ganda ng mesaage ate.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Yieeee, thanks Marc ❤️ kinilig naman ako sa sinabi mo. Haha

Pero true, that's life. That's what makes life worth living eh. Yung challenges na pagdadaanan natin that will make us stronger.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually, downloaded na yung song sakin kagabi. Can't believe na ganon pala talaga boses mo ate. Sarap sa ears.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hala, di pa naman yon final, Marc. Haha. May ie-edit pa non. But thank you sa compliment mo. Hihi, I'm flattered 🙈 ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I learn in your previous article that you are the leading singer of the song you are recording and finally I am glad that you did it. I will listen song and let you know my views. I hope this will be good song. Keep the good work up sis!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, Fairytales. I'd be more than happy to know your thoughts about this. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pag nasa spotify na kayo ... Pa timbre din!! :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Will release it soon sa Spotify madam. Need pa i polish. Ano yung pa timbre? Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

uhmm "timbre" parang sabihan mo kami.. give heads up? ahhh "notify" better na term hehehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah okay. Syempre naman madam. Buong read.cash and noise community i announce. Haha. Thanks madam ha ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang husayyyy!!!! Heart and sweat!! Kudos sa partnership niyo!!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks madam! ❤️ hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wao sister your first song collection is so magical and beautiful. At last you did what you promised. More best of luck to your efforts.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, BlueFlipper. We've got more songs to showcase. The song you have just listened to is a Filipino song. We have English songs too that we'll release soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

while typing my comment, i am listening to the song ngiti at pighati.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, Dennis. Saang banda need i improve or bagohin?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dami pa pagsubok na dadaanan madam. But in the end, magiging successful din kyo

Just done listening and I just cried 😭.
Currently frustrated because of my situation.. Kakaiyak ko plng kanina sa banyo, iyak ulit😭😭. Tagus sa puso yung kanta. Thanks sa message na dala ng kanta madam 😭

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aweee madam 🥺 pero I think mainam na rin na umiyak ka para hindi mag bottle up emotions mo. Laban lang tayo madam ha. Dasig lang. Remember, we might get tired but we have goals 💪

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Galing naman madam,ikaw ba un hehe...go go madam

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes madam 😅 hehe. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago