First Day in My Teaching Career

45 72
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

This experience happened almost 6 years ago. Still, thank you for your warm regards and congratulations to me.

I thought about writing this because it's the same month when I applied for a clerical job in Davao but didn't make it. God must have arranged me to something. Something worthwhile and unforgettable. I guess this was it.


When the School Director informed me that I will start on Monday right away, all I can feel was full of excitement. Although I said to myself before that I'll never become a teacher but as I said, things happen when you least expect it. If you are destined to become one, you are going to be one.

When everything is all set, school supplies, class schedules, and syllabus, I got out of school before noontime. I searched for an eatery and took my lunch. I'm still in my adrenaline state but the worries behind it were the least of my concerns.

When I finally found a place to rent, I went home right away and told my parents about the job. However, I don't have a suitcase for my clothes to put into so I have to travel to my grandma's house to get the same suitcase I used when I traveled to Cebu for a call center job experience.

I traveled the next day and on Sunday, it's time to get ready and travel to Davao. I could not think of anything negative at the moment. I was overwhelmed with excitement and joy.


Monday came so this is it. I don't have corporate attire to wear and the best I can think of was to wear my On The Job training uniform back in college. Yup, I maintained my physical appearance. I didn't gain weight instead I lost weight because of the stress Cebu has given me.

Since it is Monday, all teachers and administrators are expected to attend the flag ceremony.

Teacher's Day 2016. Where am I? Haha

When I got there, I was overwhelmed by how crowded it was in the area. It was not that spacious so the students are intact and it's pretty hard to pass through them. The faculty room is upstairs and I have already had my initial encounter with some of my co-teachers.

I believed there were 4 of us who were newly hired. One P.E instructor, one IT instructor, one Architecture instructor, and one Accounting Management instructor. When I arrived at the faculty room, I greeted them and they greeted me likewise. They were very welcoming and friendly to us, newly hired teachers.

Our education coordinator went upstairs and told us to just relax and loosen up. She must have seen how my face went all along during the flag ceremony. When we were done, we were given tasks to designate the students to their classrooms according to their strands.

I was assigned to gather all grade 11 ABM (Accounting and Business Management) students. When I went there, the students were already waiting for someone to sort them out. The scheduling was still not organized so the students were confused about where to go.


When I entered the room, they went silent. I was kind of expecting that reaction but I was more nervous than ever.

I read the master list to check the attendance but some students were not included on the list so I asked them to submit their names so I can list them in.

After everything was settled, I took the time and chance to finally introduce myself. I never thought in my entire life to face almost 50 people with different personalities every hour.

I was 21 when I got my first experience in teaching. I was very young looking like a 15-year-old girl so a lot of the students were in disbelief when they learned everything about me. I told them everything they would like to know.

Since the scheduling of the classes was not yet final, the first week was meant to finalize the master list. However, the students were expecting that the routine will be "introduce yourself" which most of the students hate. As their instructors, this was what we did to kill the time.

Here's one unforgettable situation I had during my first day of school.

Morning classes were meant for senior high school students while afternoon and evening classes were meant for college students.

As my co-instructors define our students, you can tell what type of personalities you'll face according to their courses. On my first day, I entered a room where the class was mostly dominated by men. No doubt because their course was Networking and Telecommunications Technology.

When I entered the room, I was deeply challenged by their behaviors. It seemed like they didn't see me entered the room and stood in front of them. I greeted them "Good afternoon everyone!" But only a few of them responded. Good thing they have their class president who took responsibility for her classmates' behaviors and caught their attentions.

That alone made me think twice if I should continue or just back out. However, every day is a different story to tell. Some days were very exhausting but some days will flatter you to the bones.

Overall, I was grateful for this experience because it taught me a lot and I found a treasure.


I will list down the highlights of my teaching career in ACLC Davao for two years. Two years doesn't really count that long but I had a blast.


Thanks for reading!

Keep safe everyone ❤


By the way, I have uploaded a piano cover on my youtube channel. Check it here:

17
$ 26.98
$ 26.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
+ 6
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

If a CV writing service knows what to include and what to leave out of your application, they can help you get the job of your dreams - https://top-resume-reviews.com/services/velvetjobs . As a result, we can all look forward to having more free time in the near future. The firm may be able to respond more quickly as a result of this. A professional resume writing service may be able to help you in your job hunt in specific instances. Are you being advised to take this course of action in this situation? Possessing more faith in your own talents can improve your chances of landing the job you want. It is more likely that you will get hired if you have a network of contacts in your field. Make an effort to avoid starting from the beginning while producing a résumé. Use a resume writing service like ProCreati instead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mka relate jud ko sa imong article ayy hahah! 1st job nko kay teaching pud 21 pud ko ato murag taas2x jud ni nga comment kung tinod-un bah haha! Anways, i might write my experience one of these days. 😉 Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go na ma'am Lyca. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is your school government based of privet based ? Anyway , i think the feeling of you when you were infront of student in the class is like standing front of thousand of people who is unknown too you .. Did you feel sweat? 😆

Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, that's exactly what I felt. The school is private based 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

owhhh , try to find out then govt based on for lifetime enjoy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bakit mas mukhang student yung teacherrr??

Teaching isn't an easy job so salute to you for your 2 years teaching experience. I can imagine kung gaano kagulo yung class tapos papatigilin nung president. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Class president ka nga pala noh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po. Ganon talaga students ngayon. Pero sa pres nakikinig hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko Makita Kung nasan Yung teacher. Bakit puto yata student lahat ✌️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Hahaha. Finding me my yen 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't teach to a classroom set up after I graduated college. hehe. amazing yung experiences mo ne. tapos hinanap kita sa picture, nahilo ko ng very light. haha. Di ko rin ginusto na magturo but here I am teaching though as ESL teacher. ayoko kasi talaga sana magturo pero ngtry din ako mag apply sa mga private schools before pero di pinalad. hehe

BTW, I think you are better now at playing the piano than before. Naks. sana all. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maselan ba sila sa requirements? NativeCamp yan? 51Talk? Hehe

Thank you 😅❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di man. May physical school malapit dito sa amin then dun ako ngstart as an esl teacher kaso dahil pandemic napilitan ang school namin naa magsara pphysically then kumukuha sila students online then binibigay sa amin. 😅 nagtry ka ba sa nativecamp at 51talk?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala ako laptop or pc na pasok sa specs requirements eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di naman maarte ang native camp sis sa specs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganon ba. Na try mo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis pero di ko pumasa. Hihi. Di ko finallow yung flow ng klase kasi ibang iba sa school namin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Teacher ka pala. Haha wow!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eme eme lng. Di legit. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paano kaya malalaman kung ang isang teacher ay eme-eme lang?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala ate sa ABM ka pala? Hmmmmm sana naman ikaw na lang naging teacher ko... ABM din ako nung senior high

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Nako SJ, puchu pucho lng yon. I'm more in TVL - ICT 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anong pucho-pucho ate? Pero bat dun ka na place?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Char char lng ba. Haha. Yung araw na yon lng. Ngka shuffle shuffle kase tapos ako ang bakante nong time na yon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhhh kaya pala 😂 hahahha, gets na si pucho-pucho...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yoooown. 🤟😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello Teacher.. It makes me remember my first years in teaching. a mixture of excitement and kaba. I was 20 back then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Hello po madam teacher. Ikaw ang mas legit oy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehehe. naa diay less legit? gusto pa nimo magteach balik?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dili na siguro oy. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was thrilled coz I was expecting you'd start telling about "blip-blip" already. I'll be watching out for this story series.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not sure if I'll share it 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Para ka nmn kasi talaga bata, teacher ka pala ma'am 🤦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Char char ra 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should, your fans will love it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ikaw ba un inaakbayan sis? First course na kinuha ko noong college sis is education. Di ko tinuloy kasi si nanay lang meron gusto un kunin ko. First year lang ko nag education. Lumipat ako ng ibang school sa sencond year saka nag commerce. Hehe Kahit hindi ako nag teacher. Saludo ako sa mga teacher! Saludo ako sa inyo. Meron ako tatlong kapatid teacher ang kinuha. Ang isa meron na item sa public school ang dalawa wala pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats sa sisters mo. Hehe. Private school yang pinasokan ko pero it's still an amazing experience. 😅 di ako inakbayan. Ako yung mag dalang balloon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Namiss ko tuloy ACLC school namin 😁 Para kang high school student jan madam 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes madam, mag classmates daw kami 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ikaw pinaka bunso 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Over over na yan madam. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, there is always different story in everyday life. And every student also has a different story so I am proud that you have accepted the challenge to be an educator. I am an educator to, well what makes a difference because I have studied it 4 years of my life but I tell you eventhough I studied it, still it was a very challenging yet enjoying job I have been. And when you enjoy every moment and love it you will not know that you have spending long time doing it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uuuy ma'am. Hehe. Aha ka ga teach ron po?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag tuitor raman ko run nag parank palang sa deped 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago