Are You a Nice Person or a People Pleaser?

38 47
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

I am subscribed to a YouTube channel that mainly talks about Psychology. It specifically helps you to determine what kind of person are you given the situations for example. Upon checking my notification, the title says "8 Signs You Are Not 'Nice' But A People Pleaser".

By the way, how will you define a nice person? What are the qualities that make someone as nice? One would define them as humble, generous, empathetic, kind, and forgiving. But what if these qualities compromise your happiness?

Others would take advantage of your kindness because they know your qualities as a person and they'll think that it's normal for them to do it because they used to see you like that. By doing so, isn't your happiness already compromised?

When I opened the video and it enumerated the signs, I was struck by how closely the signs somehow define me.

Here are the first 4 signs enumerated: (will share the other 4 in my next article)

You tend to over apologize.

Apologizing is an admirable trait. It makes a person humble as it shows how a person recognizes their mistakes and weaknesses. However when you confuse yourself between humility and extreme guilt, that no longer makes you a nice person but a people pleaser.

When a situation happens and you see no reason to apologize, you don't have to feel sorry. If you are not responsible or a part of why it happened, it is not your business to own up and take the responsibility.

You struggle to say "No".

We are taught by our parents to be generous and kind to others. But when you tend to overdo it to the point that it already compromises your boundaries as an individual then that no longer makes you a nice person but a people pleaser.

It is important to establish healthy boundaries for yourself so others would not take advantage of your kindness. Learn to prioritize your needs.

This has been a long issue for my dad and his peers. When his peers invite him to hang out and drink, he always finds it hard to say no and that he'll think of what his peers might feel if he says so. His decision is not based on his own but on others. That alone already compromises his time, his boundaries, and his freedom of choice.

Then I realize that yes, it's not being nice but actually a people pleaser.

You agree with everyone.

Do you speak your mind to everyone or do you just keep your thoughts to yourself even if you disagree with what the other people are saying because as much as possible you want to avoid arguments?

It is okay to criticize someone's work especially if you intend to help them enhance their craft. However, if you intend to humiliate, body shame, and bully the person then that shouldn't be the case here.

Personally, I don't really speak my mind that much. I take a lot of courage and balance in my mind. Most likely, I always agree with everyone but when I feel the need to share my thoughts about it, I speak too.

It also depends on the person you are talking with too. If the other person's personality is too overwhelming for me, I find it hard to speak up because I'm not comfortable.

You change for others.

Do you hide certain parts of your life when you are with people? Back in our teenage years, it's where our sense of belongingness is mostly lacking and so we feel the pressure of conforming ourselves to the society we would like to fit in.

It is when we are still trying to figure out who we are as a person in general. Somehow, the intention is to impress other people about your group and that makes you feel good. Then again, as you grow older and mature, you should realize that changing yourself to please others is not good.

Yes, it gives you that sense of belongingness and happiness but in the long run, you have to acknowledge that are enough to be yourself and you don't need someone's approval to let you realize you are worth it.


I will share the last 4 signs in my next article.

As for me, reading these signs validates me as a people pleaser. I struggle to say no, but when I do, I feel bad about how others would feel. I apologize for something even if it's not my fault just to rescue myself from that confrontation.

So, given the first 4 signs of being a people pleaser? Are you with me too? Share your thoughts in my comment section below.


Lead image source


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

17
$ 6.57
$ 6.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Hmmff not guilty of some especially in changing for others co'z I'm not that kind of woman. I don't need to pleased anyone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's the spirit! Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly @Jeaneth Permanente gyud ko magpaka nice sa uban tao kay tungod dili ko ganahan ug naay kaaway

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe. Para walay samok ba.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yo me considero buena personas, pero no complaciente, creo que cuando complacemos a las personas y por casualidad despues usted no pueda, alli empiezas hacer mala gente, pero si ayudo de ayudar al que necesite, creo que doy demasiado, pero no complazco.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i sense that i can be a people pleaser while my husband is not at all.. he can always say no if he doesn't like it but he can never say no to me..hehehe char lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Syempre oy. Naa gyuy bias basta asawa na. Hahaha. Strong diay personality sa imo husband madam.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pwd both madam? Im nice but pleaser sometimes 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako rin madam. A mixture of them. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm with you ate haha. I know I'm a pleaser kasi that's how I grew up, with people telling me to do this and that, afraid magkamali but I do voice out my opinion as well pero I respect theirs too. No need naman for an argument if magkaiba. I guess that's how I handle it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga C no? Mas nag ma-matter din satin kung ano magiging reaction nila kaya tayo may doubts. 😬

Uuuy, thanks sa sponsorship ha. Hehe. Kilig ako 🙈

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang ganun din ako madam lalo at dayo ako sa lugar na ito, kaya I am trying my best na makisama, kya madalas oo lng ako

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bagohin nadaw natin yan madam. Kung hindi natin feel, mag NO daw tayo. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Medyo mahirap din sa kalagyan ko,alam mo na madam hirsp fin ng wala kng matatakbihan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, parang ikaw rin mawawalan ng opportunity no. 💔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ing-ana man ko madam. Naa jud tanan nako. I'm a pleaser person diay. Kanang dili kabalibad ba, mao jud nay dili nako kaganahan sa akong self.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bag-oha nadaw na madam. Unaha imong sarili. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha, lisud man kaayu madam.😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe, balanse lang siguro sa tanan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ga tan aw sab ko ana nga channel sa youtube ate jea baaa. Nice kaayu na. Anyways these made me realize na people pleaser jud diay kaayu ko back then ate oiii. AN dvery toxic sya for myself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Magtira din tayo sating sarili Neil to keep our mental health intact.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

so ganto pala ako kasi nakikita ko ung personality ko na ganito eh.. well depende pa din siguro sa tao? kapag alam ko kasi na medyo tine take advantage ung pagiging kind ko eh medyo distansya na lang din ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're doing it right dee. You're establishing boundaries.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yesss ate kasama din kasi sa role ko sa career path itong pag eestablish ng boundary sa ibang tao. Dapat di sa lahat ng oras mabait ka.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm the total opposite of what you have written here, so can I say I'm nice person? 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ironically speaking, yes? Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha murag duha duha man tubag 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm not sure whether it's a coincidence sis Jeaneth, but we have a similar article this time, not that similar, but related to each other. Haha. We don't have to always please everyone simply because we want them to stay or be friends with us. We must establish boundaries with them so that you are conscious of your limits and are not abused.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah right. I think we just have to figure out how to balance everything so we won't appear too selfish and too much of a people pleaser.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know which is which but all I know is that I'm trying to be good towards people as much as I can 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People pleasing daw na Ry. Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aw murag okay paman siguro na hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I, therefore, conclude .. i am not a nice person.. and I am not a people pleaser either 🤔. Kidding... Wait.. half-kidding.

I guess I can say I have the tendency on being either one depending on my state of self-awareness.

I remember being over-apologetic. It takes a lot of self-talk and building ones boundary up to regain self-respect. I remember struggling to say no to some extent but this part is not really a struggle to me. I tend to give way for a time then express my boundaries once I think it is time to stop. Changing for others is EVER SO TIRING. But you only learn about that after the fact.

Interesting Delineation, though, between a nice person and a people pleaser.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was in a deep evaluation of myself too when I watched the video. I had to pause each sign and reflect on it because I can see myself exhibiting those signs. Though not fully. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah i think i doubt one would fully fit a category

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree. There may be one but people would find them as bold and strong-willed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Back then, I was struggling to say no to people because I thought if I say no, then the will leave me hang alone. But I realize that saying no is to save yourself in trouble too. Such a good article ate for realization.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right. Sometimes we should think of ourselves too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago