A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush

14 58
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

What comes in your mind when you read about the title?

This is one of the oldest idiomatic expressions used in the 15th century that warns us to avoid taking unnecessary risks.

It is about letting go of something sure for the potential of something bigger but is not certain.

But, did you also try to let go of something because you seek more but end up losing both?

I believe it is human nature to keep wanting more and more to satisfy himself.

We always have these thoughts in mind like what if I have this? What if I have that?

I mean, who doesn't want to have more value of everything right? However, I would say that it is better to have something that is certain than take a risk to get more, where you might lose everything.

The idiom explains a scenario where a hunter has a bird on his hand but then he saw a bush with birds on it so he has to let go of the bird to aim for the birds diligently but is uncertain to hit the birds. As a result, he lost both.

In real-life situations, we encounter dilemmas that need time to contemplate and think over many times.

I had an experience where this idiom hit me so hard. I bet some of you guys can relate to what I did too.

I had $20 on my account. I saw a post on Facebook about a doubler site. Out of desperation and greed, I invested all of my money which is $20, and waited for nothing. Consequently, I earned nothing but frustration and regret. Not to mention, that money was intended for paying the internet bill. I was lucky enough when my boyfriend held a hand to cover up my stupidity.

For the record, that was my first time doing it and so it taught me to never do it again or at least, invest what I can afford to lose but it is still better to not do it again really. You see, there's always a first time and usually, it is where you realize about everything you did. Although there are still some who learn about the situation but doesn't put that learning into action.

We should take benefit of what we have in hand rather than taking a risk and running after those things that are imaginary and you are not sure of.

On the other hand, we can also take this idiom in a positive way.

Let's say you are an incoming college student. So you take exams in all universities nearby, in case you get a negative result on your desired school, you still have options to consider.

Life is also about maximizing opportunities. As the saying goes, opportunity only knocks once.

We are taught to take risks, BUT we need to examine first and make sure that we have something to rely on in case of a fallback. Avoid taking pointless risks, think it over, and make decisions wisely.

23
$ 0.20
$ 0.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @bheng620
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Comments

Wow nice article! Good job!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hits me hard, face palm.. its good you only got to loose $20 when I lost 12k+ due to greed.. at first it was only 2k then added more in hopes of greater income. then poof, off it went like a charcoal of a burnt paper. that was also a ponzi scheme I saw on fb..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh my. That's terrible 💔 that's how they work. They will pay you on your first try at least, makes you to invest more and then disappear 🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We must learn and think carefully if we want to risk for something we really want it too. Great article 👍😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly. It's okay to take the risk but make sure you'll take a sure benefit of it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Golden Word's

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I learned to think twice and wait until I get the sure thing. I'm always afraid to take risks because many times I have failed and lost both options..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's what I'm trying to imply to. We should make careful decisions and have other options in case you fail on the first try.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think its a part of human nature. People aiming for a lot more to the point that they sacrifice what they have and taking risk. But then, taking risk is part of life amd make the life more thrilling hehe. Just bear in mind that if you invest something , you must afford to loose it.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yeah. Taking risks is okay but it should be done with careful preparations not just go in a battle without a gun.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes it is better to hold onto what you have than chasing futility all around. That being said, It's also paramount to look for opportunities and utilize them like you have rightly said, but it's more important to analyze and examine such opportunities so as not to lose twice. As I read in the book' The Richest Man in Babylon' . One of the key points noted in the book by the author is not to invest in business you have no knowledge of. Thanks for this post, hope it educates someone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your valuable comment. I appreciate for agreeing with what I have written.

Wow. That must be an interesting book full of knowledge to attain and cherish. I hope I can find one here online.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, just go to Google Play store and download the book "The Richest Man in Babylon". Read it, it's interesting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. Thanks for showing me the way. I'll surely read this. Hmm, is it hard to comprehend? I only understand simple vocabulary. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago