Suggestion on editing community details

9 36

After the update in the community, many non-featured communities were abandoned. I even tried to abandon one of my community, thinking I can undo it. I tried joining my community again only to realize I can't be the moderator again and no one will. One factor why moderators abandon their community is that because they can't edit their community name. They will never get the chance to be featured with a community name that says "anything goes".

With this being said, can we ask readcash to give us chance to edit our community name, if that is even possible? Or at least can we delete the community if we can't edit the name. Anyways, deleting the community does not mean the articles posted in that community will be deleted. The reason is we don't want to abandon our community and make the "all" community list be crowded.If moderators can get more control of the community they created, maybe they can better fix it to make their community be featured. Feature to delete our created community or feature to edit our community name is what I humbly request to readcash.

Readers, authors and moderators, I would be happy to hear your thoughts too. If you think this is a bad idea (maybe there's something I'm missing out with why this features are not allowed), give me a comment and tell me what you think.

Thanks for taking time and good luck!

5
$ 0.06
$ 0.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Jdine
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I think they will not accept that you can edit the community's name. But I not sure about read cash's want for their users. Just try to ask them hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't see any reasons why they can't allow it unless there is some other factors to consider that I have no idea with. hehe... I'm not a programmer so I wouldn't know...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for creating an article about this. I have been in a dialogue with read.cash about this matter, my community " Read.cash tutorial for newbie" was abandoned because of its name. I tried to dialogue with read.cash for possible means of changing the name, but there was no response to that effect. It really pained me for abandoning that community

$ 0.00
3 years ago

awww. I hope readcash will hear us about this. I also want to rename and/or delete one of my community and stop it from crowding the list. Hopefully it will be possible.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So, I'll join the community "Nature lovers" and then admin renames it to "Child molesters" and then I suddenly discover that I'm subscribed to child molesters community somehow.

Create a new community if you want a new name. If you have a typo or a minor edit to the name - email hello@read.cash - we'll fix it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

well then then we have the chance to delete it though? or at least can you delete it for us if we request?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If the admin leaves the community it is marked as abandoned. Deleting a community is really not right, because people wrote articles for the community and now somebody decides to delete their work.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

but it's not their work that will be deleted literally, it will be the community. they will still have their articles in their profile. and i'm talking about non-featured communities or communitites that doesnt have any participants other than the creator. If the creator leaves the community, will it still be accessed in the list? what happens to articles submitted in that community where there is no moderator?

and if this is your concern: "So, I'll join the community "Nature lovers" and then admin renames it to "Child molesters" and then I suddenly discover that I'm subscribed to child molesters community somehow.",will it be considered then if the creator is the only participant and he wants the community renamed and emailed you about it, will it be possible for you to change it? given the fact that he is the only participant? With all due respect, we don't only take care for moderators in featured community, we also want for non-featured community to have a chance, aren't we?. for example, a community named "you can post anything" will never be featured because it has no specific topic, that's a fact (correct me if i'm wrong), so one of the solution is fix the community. make it a single topic community, remove any unrelated topics, etc. but how can one know the topic of the community if the name of that community is "write anything you like"... how can he have a chance for his community to be featured? and what else can he do besides abandoning his community?

This request is not against the readcash management or team. I just think that everyone, even non-featured community moderators, deserves to have the best experience here at readcash not unless needed to be banned for some reasons. I just think that every community has the chance to make it to featured community as long as they obey the qualifications and a community that was created before the update with "anything" in it's title does not have that privilage to fix their community and be featured. I just thought, mabe it's possible for readcash team to make up with something for them (for us) to have a chance.

I named my community "Pinay everyday journey" because that time (or so i thought), it was okay to have a community that let s you post anything about our life as long as it's long enough and has sense. So I would like to change it to something that has a specific topic. and just let the participants know that it has been changed and let them decide whether they still want to be in the community or not.

Again. this suggestion is with all due respect to readcash management and team. This is just a humble request from a non-featured community to be given a chance to be featured by editing it;s community name. And I want to apologize in advance if I offended one (or more) of readcash team. It was not the intention of the post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago