Learning to be a Good Reader

7 24
Avatar for Janz
Written by
2 years ago

This article were being inspired by the latest published article of @Eunoia which is about reading. After, I read his article I found of a topic to write which also reflects of who I am and I also remembered some of my experiences in reading. So, I wanted to share it in this article.

Source: Google

When I was in my elementary days I’m not really fond of reading. I’m just going to read if needed. Even when I enter high school, I’m not really into reading. Where in fact I’m so amazed to those classmates of mine that loves reading books. They even carried always a book and read it in their spare time. They even go to the library to read books. But, me I don’t think so. All I remember is that, I only read books if necessary like if there will be an upcoming exams and if it required us to read.

Then, when I’m in my college years I was only into reading during the time that we had the subject research because we need to seek some related literatures that will support our research study. That is why, I was into reading that time. Of course, because if I don’t read I will not know if what articles will support our research.

Also, when I had my review as preparation for LET (Licensure Examination for Teachers) I was also into reading that time. But, what’s funny is that I only reads my reviewers when it was already a month before the exam and within that one month I only focused reviewing and reading for only 2-3weeks I guess because when I started to read I just felt tired and go to sleep instead. I remembered that my boyfriend is the one who always reminds me to read my reviewers that time because my exam is nearly approaching. I just even nod at him and say yes but the truth is I’m not reading it at all. I just sleep instead. I don’t know why? Maybe that time I always felt sleepy when I attempted to read because that time I was also pregnant. Maybe that was the reason. So, in other words I took my exam unprepared. Unprepared, the fact that I didn’t read all my reviewers that time. But still, I was thankful also because I able to passed the LET.

To be honest, during my exam I really felt nervous the fact that I knew in myself that I’m totally not prepared for it. I even regretted during my exams because I found out that most of the questions that appeared especially in my major subject where mostly found in my reviewers and in my notes. But, what can I do I wasn’t reading it. So, what I did is only to answer those questions that I somehow remembered solving and the other questions that I hardly remembered I just did guessing. It’s like “pintot-pintot” strategy or the power of C. By this time, I able to realized that reading is really important.

Learning to be a good reader.

Well, READING alone without any comprehensions, realizations and reflections of what you read is not an assurance of becoming a good reader. A good reader, reads not only by the mind but by heart as well. There is always a need to deeply interpret better what you read for you to be able understands the thoughts or the message of the writers. Also, a good reader makes you become a good writer as well. This is what @Eunoia pointed out in his article which is really true and I 100% agreed to that. That is why I’ve been reflecting that one and able to write this article.

When I joined in this platform read.cash and be part of this community. I started learning how to be a good reader since I am not really a good reader in the first place. Well, I can read though but be a good reader I don’t think so. I can attest that because I knew I’m not that good at writing, I even don’t know what topic to write. I always had this so called “writer’s block”. In other words, it’s hard for me to write it really needs time for me to be able to composed an article. Then, my grammars also is not good as well.

Therefore, for us to be a good writer it always starts in reading. Read and read and not just reading it alone but also read it by heart and that way we can able to comprehend and understand the thoughts of the writers. Another thing that I also learned here in read.cash is that, reading other’s articles really helped a lot. It helps from the fact that by reading other writer’s articles we can also able to create our own idea in what article or topic should we write here. Just like what I did now. After, I read the article of @Eunoia I also able to write this article because his article gives me ideas on what to write.

With that, being part of this community read.cash helps me a lot to become a good reader and I knew that eventually I will become a good writer as well. So, it’s always a matter of reading by the heart and everything in writing will just follows accordingly.

This is my opinion for it. Now, tell me what’s yours?

Happy reading!!!

@Janz

Sponsors of Janz
empty
empty
empty

To all upvoters of my previous article entitled “When I wasted your Love”. You know who you are so, Thank you Thank you so much from the deepest of my heart. Your really had a good heart. Thank you all.

For those who wanted to be my sponsors if there is, I’m still open for it :)

Lead image source: taken from google

7
$ 1.45
$ 0.75 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.50 from @Macronald
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 3
Sponsors of Janz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Janz
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

If you're not a good reader. You won't learn... 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super true sis kaya nga pag nag basa tas first basa dko na gets yung mensahe inulit ko pa siya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

madame kana pla ma'am hahaha. ako noong board exam namin 3 days hahaha, talgang nakakapagod basahin ang board exam lalo na sa reviewing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo nga lalo na’t nung review time preggy ako lalong nakaka antok pag nagbabasa ng reviewer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

d ko gets yung madame kana pala maam hehehhee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha Madame is for professional already got thier PRC ID

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha nakaka first lady naman yang madame hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago